WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: How to create a simple dialogue window  (Read 3806 times)

Offline saravanan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
How to create a simple dialogue window
« on: January 27, 2010, 07:55:00 AM »
Hi all,
       How to create a simple dialogue window with options for prompting user input in TC?
What is the window type that is default in TC ?

Please help

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10957
Re: How to create a simple dialogue window
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2010, 08:19:27 AM »
Xdialog is easy to use.

However if you wish to stay with things in the base, it would be C/C++ and FLTK.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: How to create a simple dialogue window
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2010, 08:20:33 AM »
Why not look at some of the programs on your system, and see how it was done?

Offline saravanan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: How to create a simple dialogue window
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2010, 08:34:47 AM »
thanks, but i have come across something like dialog and stuff, that will provide minimal gui interactions for a scripting backend.

What is the appropriate light weight type for TC?

Offline saravanan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: How to create a simple dialogue window
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2010, 12:23:16 AM »
Hi all,
when i try to run Xdialog, it throws the following error. i installed Xdialog from AppBrowser of TC.
Quote
Xdialog: error while loading shared libraries: libgtk-1.2.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory


please help

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14516
Re: How to create a simple dialogue window
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2010, 12:59:52 AM »
If you look at http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/tinycorelinux/2.x/tcz/Xdialog.tcz.dep, you'll find it lists:
Code: [Select]
glib1.tcz
gtk1.tcz

If you use the appbrowswer to download extensions such as Xdialogue, it will take care of downloading dependent extensions - in this case, you require the glib1 and gtk1 extensions for Xdialogue to work.

Offline saravanan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: How to create a simple dialogue window
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2010, 01:07:47 AM »
Thats is NOT working, throwing the above error even after installing with AppBrowser!

Please test it yourself!

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14516
Re: How to create a simple dialogue window
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2010, 01:12:14 AM »
Are you using the latest version of microcore/tinycore - i.e. 2.8?

Offline saravanan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: How to create a simple dialogue window
« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2010, 01:17:39 AM »
Hi,
I am using Tiny Core v2.7

Now also installed TC v.2.8
here it throws segmentation error :(
« Last Edit: January 31, 2010, 01:21:21 AM by saravanan »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14516
Re: How to create a simple dialogue window
« Reply #9 on: January 31, 2010, 02:06:48 AM »
Could you cut & paste the error?

If you didn't do so already, it would be worth reading the tc-2.8 release notes as there have been a lot of changes since tc-2.7

Offline Pats

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 322
Re: How to create a simple dialogue window
« Reply #10 on: January 31, 2010, 02:50:49 AM »
My XDialog front-end is working perfectly OK with TCL2.6. I use it to display calendar and other GUI apps.
Try TCL2.6 !
~ Pats

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10957
Re: How to create a simple dialogue window
« Reply #11 on: January 31, 2010, 03:23:31 AM »
Error loading gtk1 - gtk1.tcz was not loaded properly at the time, perhaps network issues?

Segfault in 2.8 - confirmed.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline Pats

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 322
Re: How to create a simple dialogue window
« Reply #12 on: January 31, 2010, 05:39:23 AM »
Quote from the man-pages:

Xdialog is designed to be a drop in replacement for the dialog and cdialog programs (BTW Xdialog may also be used in place of gdialog). It converts any terminal based program into a program with an X-windows interface. The dialogs are easier to see and use and the new widgets adds even more functionnalities.

 To achieve this, Xdialog uses the Gimp ToolKit (also known as GTK+).

 Put follow in a file for eq: mydialog.sh and use it :

 <code>
 #!/bin/sh
DIALOG=Xdialog

$DIALOG --title "INPUT BOX" \
        --inputbox "Hi, this is an input dialog box. You can use
this to ask questions that require the user
to input a string as the answer. You can
input strings of length longer than the
width of the input box, in that case, the
input field will be automatically scrolled.
You can use BACKSPACE to correct errors.\n
Try inputing your name below:" 20 45 2> /tmp/inputbox.tmp.$$

retval=$?

input=`cat /tmp/inputbox.tmp.$$`
rm -f /tmp/inputbox.tmp.$$

case $retval in
  0)
    echo "Input string is '$input'";;
  1)
    echo "Cancel pressed.";;
  255)
    echo "Box closed.";;
esac

</code>

Hope this helps !

~ Pats


Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: How to create a simple dialogue window
« Reply #13 on: January 31, 2010, 06:35:36 AM »
Seems that Xdialog requires a special font. That font is now posted in the repository.

schumacher-clean-fonts.tcz
schumacher-clean-fonts.tcz.md5.txt

I also updated Xdialog's .dep file to include this font.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline saravanan

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 59
Re: How to create a simple dialogue window
« Reply #14 on: January 31, 2010, 10:16:26 AM »
Thank you all, it works with pats script.