WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: WBAR and JWM create extra shell processes  (Read 2428 times)

Offline florian

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
    • Home Page
WBAR and JWM create extra shell processes
« on: January 20, 2009, 02:18:40 PM »
I noticed that when I launch an app from WBAR, a shell process is created and remains alive.
This is wasting RAM!

I'm having the same problem with JWM. I added a button in my jwm tray to launch a shell
Code: [Select]
<TrayButton label="$">exec:aterm +tr</TrayButton>Works fine, but when I push this buttton, it creates the aterm and TWO shell processes.

Looking for solutions to minimize amount of processes!

Offline ^thehatsrule^

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1726
Re: WBAR and JWM create extra shell processes
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2009, 02:37:04 PM »
You can either prepend "exec" (takes over the process) or append "&" (backgrounding).  I guess using exec would be sufficient.

Good find.

Offline florian

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
    • Home Page
Re: WBAR and JWM create extra shell processes
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2009, 02:58:26 PM »
Appended an exec to my own entries in jwm and sure it fixed the issue!

In addition of the jwm tray, and wbar, this also concerns all entries in the jwm menus.
It would be great for the next TC RC to fix all of those.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: WBAR and JWM create extra shell processes
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2009, 07:33:23 AM »
Done. It will be in 1.1rc2.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.