WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: [SOLVED] How to change timezone?  (Read 10658 times)

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: [SOLVED] How to change timezone?
« Reply #15 on: January 10, 2009, 06:41:57 AM »
Whether you add those lines to /opt/.filetool.lst or to say a separate list, mystuff.lst is the same effort.
You don't have to move or copy any files or directories to make your custom .tce

Then simply using the tar command

 tar -C / -T mystuff.lst -czvf mystuff.tce

seems pretty easy to me. Hardly worth creating a gui for a single command.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline tobiaus

  • Suspended
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
Re: [SOLVED] How to change timezone?
« Reply #16 on: January 10, 2009, 07:04:49 AM »
simply using the tar command

tar -C / -T mystuff.lst -czvf mystuff.tce

no you're right.

that is pretty incredibly simple. :) i assumed too much, from reading about how to create proper .dsl files recently. (actually i just finished reading the chapters you wrote, i'm reading christopher negus's chapters now.) some of the simplifications in tc are really nice.

Offline kagashe

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 129
    • My Tryst with Linux
Re: [SOLVED] How to change timezone?
« Reply #17 on: January 10, 2009, 08:31:19 AM »
Just a comment. I notice that many posts contain instructions of adding system files to /opt/.filetool.lst.

While there is nothing wrong with it, it is not preferable.

The concept behind TC is modularity and the separation of static from dynamic data.

The preferred method would be to make a kolata.tce which contains the static system files and add it to your tce directory.

By doing this you keep the backup times shorter.
Thanks. I have made Kolkata.tce and deleted the entries in /opt/.filetool.lst

I have tested and it is working. I am attaching it to this post so that anyone from India can use it.

kagashe
« Last Edit: January 10, 2009, 08:33:25 AM by kagashe »

Offline ^thehatsrule^

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1726
Re: [SOLVED] How to change timezone?
« Reply #18 on: January 10, 2009, 10:39:03 AM »
that is pretty incredibly simple. :) i assumed too much, from reading about how to create proper .dsl files recently. [...] some of the simplifications in tc are really nice.
It's actually pretty much the same

Offline tobiaus

  • Suspended
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
Re: [SOLVED] How to change timezone?
« Reply #19 on: January 10, 2009, 08:09:01 PM »
It's actually pretty much the same

well then it seems to be getting better, but without abandoning tradition. that's good too.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: [SOLVED] How to change timezone?
« Reply #20 on: January 12, 2009, 08:38:25 AM »
After seeing the effort that Kagashe had to do just to add another city to get timezone support. I have decided to drop the zoneinfo database and simplify matters by using only offsets via the TZ variable. Look for this starting in the 1.1 version.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.