WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Remove context menu  (Read 3213 times)

Offline antjimmav

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Remove context menu
« on: November 19, 2009, 01:41:21 AM »
Hello, everybody. I'm new here. I'm sorry if this topic exists, but I haven't found it.
What I want is to remove the context menu that appears when we do right or left mouse click. I mean, you do mouse click over the desktop and nothing must happen. Of course, I don't want to change the mouse behaviour when clicking on a icon of the wbar, but outside of wbar (on the desktop).
I don't want if I have to modify any file or modify the source code and recompile.
I'd be very greatful if I get some help. Thanks a lot.

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2134
Re: Remove context menu
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2009, 05:42:33 AM »
maybe u can try another desktop manager
dCore user

Offline Lee

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 645
    • My Core wiki user page
Re: Remove context menu
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2009, 06:39:04 AM »
I don't think that's user-configurable with the flwm window manager (someone please correct me if I'm wrong there), though I think it can be done with jwm.

I personally would favor having the menu appear on right-click but not left-click.  There are some folks who use TC on Macbooks - do they have only one button?  If so, is it a righty or a lefty?  :)
32 bit core4.7.7, Xprogs, Xorg-7.6, wbar, jwm  |  - Testing -
PPR, data persistence through filetool.sh          |  32 bit core 8.0 alpha 1
USB Flash drive, one partition, ext2, grub4dos  | Otherwise similar

Offline antjimmav

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Remove context menu
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2009, 11:25:59 PM »
Thanks for your answers. What I really need is to limit at maximum the use of the computer. Only one desktop with only one icon (firefox). Nothing else. No menu, no toolbar, no shell...
Any suggestion, please?

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7035
    • My Community Forum
Re: Remove context menu
« Reply #4 on: November 22, 2009, 11:34:52 PM »
Thanks for your answers. What I really need is to limit at maximum the use of the computer. Only one desktop with only one icon (firefox). Nothing else. No menu, no toolbar, no shell...
Any suggestion, please?

It sounds like you are building a so called kiosk with a locked browser-only access. You can do that in several ways, for example using OPERA in kiosk mode, it is what I used in the past with other LINUX distro.

Xfce4 has also a kiosk mode but I have never tried. I had a bad experience with Firefox in kiosk two years ago, situation may be different now.

There were some related discussions already in the forum here a while ago.
« Last Edit: November 22, 2009, 11:36:25 PM by bmarkus »
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline antjimmav

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Remove context menu
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2009, 12:36:01 AM »
Thank you so much, bmarkus. I'll study your suggestion. Another solution based on tinycore?
« Last Edit: November 24, 2009, 03:52:08 AM by antjimmav »

Offline jur

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 863
    • cycling photo essays
Re: Remove context menu
« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2009, 02:01:29 PM »
Install the jwm desktop manager. You can configure it easily by editing the relevant files in the home directory.

Details on jwm configuration can be found on the jwm website.

Eg to disable the desktop menu, one would remove the onroot:123 setting in .jwmrc. Alternatively, editing the menu content is possible.

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7035
    • My Community Forum
Re: Remove context menu
« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2009, 03:57:44 PM »
Considere that user can go to text consol  with Ctrl/Alt/F1, than do anything. You have to deal with this also.
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9680
Re: Remove context menu
« Reply #8 on: November 24, 2009, 04:58:08 PM »
The control key can be disabled with this command, which removes the ability for ctrl-alt-backspace, ctrl-alt-del, and ctrl-alt-F1:

xmodmap -e 'remove control = Control_L' -e 'remove control = Control_R'


Offline antjimmav

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Remove context menu
« Reply #9 on: November 25, 2009, 01:09:33 AM »
Thanks so much. I'm about to get my goal. I'll post with news soon...

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10207
Re: Remove context menu
« Reply #10 on: November 28, 2009, 06:36:40 AM »
There are some folks who use TC on Macbooks - do they have only one button?  If so, is it a righty or a lefty?  :)
It's a lefty, but I have bound F11 to middle click and F12 to right click.

Of course with Xorg & synaptics driver one can have the touch gestures for different buttons and actions.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.