WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: How to emelfm2 to run in su mode?  (Read 3853 times)

Offline bigpcman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 719
How to emelfm2 to run in su mode?
« on: January 05, 2009, 01:37:14 PM »
How do you get emelfm to run in su mode from the icon in the menu bar?
big pc man

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: How to emelfm2 to run in su mode?
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2009, 01:50:24 PM »
I can add a menu option for that.  It will be put on my to do list.

Offline bigpcman

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 719
Re: How to emelfm2 to run in su mode?
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2009, 01:57:04 PM »
Thanks so much! :)
big pc man

Offline tobiaus

  • Suspended
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
Re: How to emelfm2 to run in su mode?
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2009, 05:25:56 PM »
I can add a menu option for that.  It will be put on my to do list.

if you're making changes to emelfm, i was unable to get the "open folder in term" working. it's very useful and depends on xterm, instead of tc's aterm. not knowing the options for both xterm and aterm well enough, i was able to tell emelfm to use aterm but it does not give the user access, it just displays the directory name. you may have more luck, if you don't, you don't. an xterm extension (as an option rather than a dep) may be a better idea, and one that doesn't need to coincide with your own efforts.

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10693
Re: How to emelfm2 to run in su mode?
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2009, 01:38:19 AM »
Does it work if you just symlink xterm to aterm?
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9730
Re: How to emelfm2 to run in su mode?
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2009, 07:19:28 AM »
Added sudo menu option to emelfm2. 

I thought of going in and changing the default terminal to aterm in emelfm2 but it is much easier to create the symlink, and there are other apps that call on xterm and no need to have to dig in and change it for each app.  Both emelfm2 and rox check for existing xterm on extension loading now and create a symlink /usr/local/bin/xterm that points to aterm if xterm is not already available. 

Offline tobiaus

  • Suspended
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 599
Re: How to emelfm2 to run in su mode?
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2009, 11:02:12 AM »
i'll try it, but before i tried that, i simply changed "xterm" to aterm in the config.

since that didn't help, i doubt a symlink will. incompatible options? so now the solution remaining is for someone to make an xterm extension. but i'll try your symlink.

edit: okay, i tried the new emelfm2 extension, it's not as bad as i thought.

what happens is, it will allow you to type commands into the term. when you try to use "exit," it won't. but alt+f4 still works.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2009, 11:20:03 AM by tobiaus »

Offline JohnJS

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 62
Re: How to emelfm2 to run in su mode?
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2009, 01:00:46 PM »
Hi,
With rc8 I just use the 'run command" ie,
su emelfm or su beaver.
 Edit: Can't remember if I used sudo or just su.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2009, 01:04:44 PM by JohnJS »