WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: tinycore_2.4rc4  (Read 11791 times)

Offline perthie

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 118
Re: tinycore_2.4rc4
« Reply #15 on: October 04, 2009, 06:40:12 PM »
Testing 2.4rc4 from scratch, I was unable to install Flash into Opera. The problem was that the getflash10 installer expects to see the empty folder /usr/local/lib/opera/plugins. This folder was missing from the Opera setup but after I created it manually, Flash would install. I wonder if the new extension loading mechanism does not create empty folders.

« Last Edit: October 04, 2009, 06:49:38 PM by perthie »

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: tinycore_2.4rc4
« Reply #16 on: October 04, 2009, 07:10:15 PM »
It is not new. This matter is discussed in the .info file.of getFlash.tcz
Quote
Downloads from Adobe.
                Extracts linux libflashplayer.so
                Setup libflashplayer for either Minefield, Firefox, Opera,
      Seamonkey or all four. Also includes compiled libflashsupport.so
      for OSS sound. libflashsupport is licensed under Creative
      Commons Attribution 3.0.
                Finally packages a flash10.tce to add to your tce collection.
.
                NOTE: You must have already downloaded the browser and OSS.
                You must have started the browser at least once!
                You must have OSS started with the sound on menu option.
                Then select getFlash9 from the Apps menu.
.
                If you already have your tce directory setup, then a flash10.tcz
                will be installed there, otherwise it is in /tmp/tce/.  flash10.tcz
      will be loaded upon completion of the getflash script.
.
                CAUTION: Flash10 requires gtk2 which is quite large.
It is always important to read the .info, that is why appbrowser and appbrowser-cli always displays the info file. It contains instructions and/or required environment for the particular extension.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline JoXo009

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 152
jwm backup behaviour
« Reply #17 on: October 05, 2009, 02:38:51 AM »
-
I experienced a changed backup behaviour of jwm after installing TC 24rc4. See below.

It seems /home/tc/.jwmrc-tray either isn't backuped or its backup is overwritten with old content.

It's solvable via an .xsession overwrite-entry -  don't know if this is expected behaviour of jwm.







Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: tinycore_2.4rc4
« Reply #18 on: October 05, 2009, 02:48:42 AM »
appsaudit bug:
I mark for deletion alsa-oss but also alsa is automarked for deletion, why?

[^thehatsrule^: removed spam]
« Last Edit: October 10, 2009, 02:20:52 PM by ^thehatsrule^ »
dCore user

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: jwm backup behaviour
« Reply #19 on: October 05, 2009, 06:06:38 AM »
-
I experienced a changed backup behaviour of jwm after installing TC 24rc4. See below.

It seems /home/tc/.jwmrc-tray either isn't backuped or its backup is overwritten with old content.

It's solvable via an .xsession overwrite-entry -  don't know if this is expected behaviour of jwm.







This was already discussed and you should be using the jwm.tcz in the release candidate area.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/tinycorelinux/2.x/release_candidates/microcore/jwm.tcz
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline sci_fi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: tinycore_2.4rc4
« Reply #20 on: October 05, 2009, 06:07:34 AM »
Good morning:

Duplicate entry in main pulldown menu:

Perhaps reported already.

Right clicking on the background yields a pulldown menu with various applications, etc. In 2.4rc4 I see two entries for "Refresh Menu", as follows:

Refresh Menu
Refresh_Menu

I re-checked vs rc3. Did not happen in rc3.

Best regards,

sci_fi

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: tinycore_2.4rc4
« Reply #21 on: October 05, 2009, 06:16:16 AM »
Not a duplicate. Delete the one with the space. It is not needed and it is not in /etc/skel.
It, the one with the space, persisted as a result of your backup/restore.

I typically don't backup my .wmx directory.
« Last Edit: October 05, 2009, 06:28:35 AM by roberts »
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: tinycore_2.4rc4
« Reply #22 on: October 05, 2009, 06:45:02 AM »
if there are no open windows alt+tab doesn't work and if I ctrl+alt+f1 I see:got an escape press in main

[^thehatsrule^: removed spam]
« Last Edit: October 10, 2009, 02:20:58 PM by ^thehatsrule^ »
dCore user

Offline sci_fi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: tinycore_2.4rc4
« Reply #23 on: October 05, 2009, 06:47:58 AM »
Hi Roberts,

Thanks for the prompt reply. My apologies if I am missing something.

I do not backup /etc/skel/.wmx .  Double checked my .filetool.lst file to be sure. See listing below:

opt/bootlocal.sh
opt/backgrounds
opt/.tcrc
opt/.filetool.lst
opt/.xfiletool.lst
home/tc
##
######## MY STUFF FOLLOWS   #########
##
#### Firmware for wireless
/lib/firmware
##
#### WPA stuff for APT network
etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
##
#### Emelfm2 configuration for root (for tc already saved)
root/.config/emelfm2
##
##### Save and restorebig cursor
usr/lib/X11/fonts/misc/cursor.pcf.gz
##
#### Save and restore alsa settings
/etc/asound.state



I am booting tc4rc3 and then rebooting tc4rc4 with exactly the same mydata.tgz file.  I am not doing a backup between the boots. The only thing that changed is the rc version.  The rc3 boot shows one entry as described above. The rc4 boot shows two.  Is there another file I am saving that contains the extra entry?

Sorry if I am missing something basic.

Best regards,

sci_fi






Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: tinycore_2.4rc4
« Reply #24 on: October 05, 2009, 06:52:15 AM »
.wmx is also in /home/tc
dCore user

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: tinycore_2.4rc4
« Reply #25 on: October 05, 2009, 07:02:09 AM »
Because everything under home/tc is in the backup.

I have in /opt/.xfiletool.lst

home/tc/.wmx
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline sci_fi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: tinycore_2.4rc4
« Reply #26 on: October 05, 2009, 07:05:10 AM »
Thank you, roberts and jls. Sorry for the confusion. I did not know there is a .wmx directory in /home/tc. I appreciate your help.

Best regards,

sci_fi

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: tinycore_2.4rc4
« Reply #27 on: October 05, 2009, 07:12:22 AM »
when I open a menu for example in shiretoko or xfe the I click in the window title the window gets resized or moved

[^thehatsrule^: removed spam]
« Last Edit: October 10, 2009, 02:21:05 PM by ^thehatsrule^ »
dCore user

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: tinycore_2.4rc4
« Reply #28 on: October 05, 2009, 07:15:43 AM »
Thank you, roberts and jls. Sorry for the confusion. I did not know there is a .wmx directory in /home/tc. I appreciate your help.

Best regards,

sci_fi
Your feedback helps. I need to mention this in the release notes.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: tinycore_2.4rc4
« Reply #29 on: October 05, 2009, 07:17:11 AM »
when I open a menu for example in shiretoko or xfe the I click in the window title the window gets resized or moved


abolish prisons
Does it happen when using an alternate window manager?
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.