WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: wbar autohide/show?  (Read 3723 times)

Offline fladd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
wbar autohide/show?
« on: September 08, 2009, 08:21:49 AM »
Hi there,

is there any way to make wbar visible again when a window uses all space on the screen?
Wbar is hidden then and cannot be restored, except moving to another desktop.

Regards,
fladd

Offline combo3

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
Re: wbar autohide/show?
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2009, 10:29:55 AM »

Not sure if jwm supports a show desktop command, but pressing:

Alt+1 switches to desktop 1
Alt+2 switches to desktop 2
<etc.>

Or you can add/change the keybindings in ~/.jwmrc-keys to suit your needs.

Here are the defaults in TC 2.2:

   <!-- Key bindings -->
   <Key key="Up">up</Key>
   <Key key="Down">down</Key>
   <Key key="Right">right</Key>
   <Key key="Left">left</Key>
   <Key key="h">left</Key>
   <Key key="j">down</Key>
   <Key key="k">up</Key>
   <Key key="l">right</Key>
   <Key key="Return">select</Key>
   <Key key="Escape">escape</Key>

   <Key mask="A" key="Tab">next</Key>
   <Key mask="A" key="F4">close</Key>
   <Key mask="A" key="Delete">close</Key>
   <Key mask="A" key="#">desktop#</Key>
   <Key mask="A" key="F1">root:1</Key>
   <Key mask="A" key="F2">window</Key>
   <Key mask="A" key="End">exec:exittc</Key>

   <Key mask="SC" key="s">shade</Key>
   <Key mask="SC" key="x">close</Key>
   <Key mask="SC" key="m">maximize</Key>
   <Key mask="SC" key="v">minimize</Key>
   <Key mask="SC" key="d">desktop</Key>
   <Key mask="SC" key="b">resize</Key>
   <Key mask="SC" key="z">root:1</Key>
   <Key mask="SC" key="n">move</Key>

   <Key mask="CA" key="r">restart</Key>
   <Key mask="CA" key="Return">exec:aterm</Key>
   <Key mask="CA" key="v">exec:aterm -T "vim" -e vi</Key>


So pressing Ctrl+Alt+Return opens a terminal

To assign the F3 key to Opera, add the following:

<Key key="F3">exec:opera -nomail -nolirc</Key>

Then resart jwm with Ctrl+Alt+r to reload the key bindings.

Now pressing F3 will open a browser (unless it conflicts with another open program).

For a complete description go here: http://joewing.net/programs/jwm/config.shtml#keys

Offline fladd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: wbar autohide/show?
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2009, 12:36:22 PM »
Thanks, but I am talking about TC2.3 and flwm :-)

fladd

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: wbar autohide/show?
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2009, 01:27:46 PM »
Ctrl+F2 switches to desktop 2
dCore user

Offline fladd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: wbar autohide/show?
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2009, 02:39:11 PM »
Uhm, yeah, I know, but how is that related to my question? :-)

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2133
Re: wbar autohide/show?
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2009, 02:43:11 PM »
sorry, my fault
dCore user

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10050
Re: wbar autohide/show?
« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2009, 11:40:59 AM »
- minimize the window covering it, or
- enable the always-on-top mode of wbar (see wbar --help, edit wbar.sh)
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.