WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: wpa_supplicant error  (Read 6426 times)

Offline fladd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
wpa_supplicant error
« on: September 06, 2009, 12:26:04 PM »
Hi there,

the tutorial in the wiki is not working here.
The error when starting wpa_supplicant is always that it cannot set interface wlan0 up.
There is also the error SIOCSIWSCAN: no such file or directory.

What is going on here?

Regards,
fladd

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: wpa_supplicant error
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2009, 09:55:18 AM »
What does iwconfig display? Did you run the command as root?
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline fladd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: wpa_supplicant error
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2009, 01:01:00 PM »
iwconfig says that the card is there.
I did everything exactly like in the tutorial in the wiki!

fladd

Offline jls

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2135
Re: wpa_supplicant error
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2009, 01:58:46 PM »
Code: [Select]
sudo su

echo "network={" > /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
echo "ssid=\"home\"" >> /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
echo "scan_ssid=1" >> /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
echo "" >> /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
echo "key_mgmt=WPA-PSK" >> /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
echo "" >> /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
echo "psk=\"key\"" >> /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
echo "" >> /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf
echo "}" >> /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf

wpa_supplicant -Bdd -D wext -i ra0 -c /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf       
dCore user

Offline fladd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: wpa_supplicant error
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2009, 04:25:59 PM »
With this the output is different (more text), but "could not set interface 'wlan0' UP" is still in there.

Any more ideas?

When trying to scan for networks, I also get the error: wlan0 Interface doesn't support scanning: Network down
lsmod gives me rt2500usb, rt73usb, rt2x00usb, rt2x00lib

fladd

Offline fladd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: wpa_supplicant error
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2009, 04:36:45 PM »
I just saw that dmesg is telling me something about requesting firmwareand that this request failed and that it is looking for rt73.bin.

What is this? Where do I get firmware from? And why do I need it, I do not need it for any other distro.
Can somebody put some light on this maybe?

Thanks,
fladd

Offline combo3

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
Re: wpa_supplicant error
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2009, 06:22:29 PM »
1. Download firmware drivers from http://sourceforge.net/projects/rt2400 to /tmp

2. Open a terminal

3. Go to /tmp and unpack the tarball

Code: [Select]
cd /tmp
tar -xzf  rt73-cvs-daily.tar.gz

4. Change directories

Code: [Select]
cd  rt73-cvs-2009041204
5. Follow instructions in README file:

* Firmware file (rt73.bin)

    The rt73 chipset uses a firmware file which is loaded in device
    memory using the kernel firmware_class facility. 'make install'
    copy the firmware file to the standard firmwares location:
    /lib/firmware.

 

Code: [Select]
sudo mkdir -p /lib/firmware
sudo cp Module/rt73.bin  /lib/firmware

6. Bring up the interface

Code: [Select]
sudo ifconfig wlan0 up
7. Check that it's working

Code: [Select]
ifconfig wlan0
You should see something similar to this:

wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:11:F3:06:18:5E  
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

8. Add /lib/firmware to /opt/.filetool.list

Code: [Select]
echo lib/firmware >> /opt/.filetool.list
9. Do a backup

Control Panel > Backup/Restore
« Last Edit: September 07, 2009, 06:49:26 PM by combo3 »

Offline fladd

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 65
Re: wpa_supplicant error
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2009, 07:58:14 AM »
Great, seems to work now.
I embedded the firmware in the iso.

Thanks,
fladd

Offline jmg

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: wpa_supplicant error
« Reply #8 on: October 29, 2009, 03:29:55 PM »
Hello, I'm new to Linux and I'm trying to get things to work starting with wifi.

I tried every thing in this post but it isn't working.

I can unpack the tarbal but i can't compile it with make, i get "/bin/sh: make: not found"
skipping that part isn't working of course, with rox i can see the rt73.bin but in the terminal get  "cp: cannot stat 'Mobule/rt73.bin': No such file or directory

I'm stuck, do you people have any clue?
Remember i'm new to linux and i want to try tiny core because it's light quick and the way of mounting extensions is realy great. I also have issue's with kubuntu 9.04 with sound, google earth that i can't resolve.

And the only way i could compile my hp printer was with alot of coping and pasting from hp's website.

So al in al, i'm a big noob who want's to learn linux and say goodbey to Window$$$.

Hope you can help me with this wifi stuff.

Offline bmarkus

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7183
    • My Community Forum
Re: wpa_supplicant error
« Reply #9 on: October 29, 2009, 03:45:50 PM »
I also have issue's with kubuntu 9.04 with sound, google earth that i can't resolve.

Do you have an Intel Graphics chip in your PC?
Béla
Ham Radio callsign: HA5DI

"Amateur Radio: The First Technology-Based Social Network."

Offline combo3

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
Re: wpa_supplicant error
« Reply #10 on: November 02, 2009, 07:35:33 AM »
I can unpack the tarbal but i can't compile it with make, i get "/bin/sh: make: not found"
skipping that part isn't working of course, with rox i can see the rt73.bin but in the terminal get  "cp: cannot stat 'Mobule/rt73.bin': No such file or directory

Looks like a simple typo in your copy command (Mobule instead of Module)
From the /tmp/rt73-cvs-2009041204 directory, it should be:

sudo cp Module/rt73.bin  /lib/firmware

Also, there is no need to compile the drivers. They are already included in:

wireless-2.6.29.1-tinycore.tczm

Offline SpartanTexan99

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: wpa_supplicant error
« Reply #11 on: February 09, 2010, 11:42:11 AM »
I have tried to get my Linksys WUSB54GC ver 3 adapter to work, but I can't get wlan0 interface to show up.  Have tried rt73 in lib/firmware, have used modprobe rt73usb, which shows up, but never get a wlan0, anybody have experience with this adapter/version?????

Offline combo3

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
Re: wpa_supplicant error
« Reply #12 on: February 11, 2010, 09:17:35 AM »
Unfortunately, the Linksys WUSB54GC ver 3 adapter uses chipset RT2587 which is currently unsupported.

Try using the Windows drivers with ndiswrapper.tcz and see if that works.