WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: microcore_2.3RC3  (Read 17191 times)

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
microcore_2.3RC3
« on: August 28, 2009, 11:26:41 AM »
The Third Release Candidate of v2.3 (microcore_2.3RC3.iso), is now posted and ready for testing.
http://distro.ibiblio.org/pub/linux/distributions/tinycorelinux/2.x/release_candidates/microcore/

Change log for v2.3 Release Candidate 3

* New noautologin boot code. Be sure to have passwords setup, working, and saved.
* Updated tce-load now only calls flwget when appbrowser is running.
* Updated tce-load and tc-config now handles meta-extensions.
* Dropped default autoscan of tclocal for improved boot speed.
* Dropped nolocal boot code as now not needed.
* Cleanup of unused or unlinked busybox applets.

Note: Grab new Xprogs.core.tczl for latest changes in X prgorams (appbrowser)
See Change log for tinycore v2.3RC3 for details.
 
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13853
Re: microcore_2.3RC3
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2009, 02:40:55 AM »
'Noticed a couple of things:

The usb stick, from which I boot, is no longer mounted automatically
"startx" appears to be missing from the latest Xprogs.core.tczl

Edit: I wasn't thinking straight there - as the usb stick is not mounted on boot, then nothing in /mnt/sda1/tce is loaded, hence no Xprogs.core.tczl, hence no "startx"

Note my boot codes are: quiet vga=773 noswap tce=sda1 waitusb=5 noscan text

« Last Edit: August 29, 2009, 03:20:00 AM by Juanito »

Offline meo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 565
Re: microcore_2.3RC3
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2009, 05:32:53 AM »
Hi!

For me everything seems to work allright. I boot MC frugal from the harddisk. Thanks a lot for all improvements!

Have fun,
meo
"All that is very well," answered Candide, "but let us cultivate our garden." - Francois-Marie Arouet Voltaire

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: microcore_2.3RC3
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2009, 06:35:03 AM »
'Noticed a couple of things:

The usb stick, from which I boot, is no longer mounted automatically
"startx" appears to be missing from the latest Xprogs.core.tczl

Edit: I wasn't thinking straight there - as the usb stick is not mounted on boot, then nothing in /mnt/sda1/tce is loaded, hence no Xprogs.core.tczl, hence no "startx"

Note my boot codes are: quiet vga=773 noswap tce=sda1 waitusb=5 noscan text
Nothing has changed that would account for this.
I would recommend to use UUID or LABEL instead of sda1
« Last Edit: August 29, 2009, 06:37:41 AM by roberts »
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13853
Re: microcore_2.3RC3
« Reply #4 on: August 29, 2009, 07:01:45 AM »
Hmm - using tce=UUID=yada-yada doesn't work either, but if I go back to RC2, but keep the latest Xprogs.core.tczl, then things work as expected again  ???

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: microcore_2.3RC3
« Reply #5 on: August 29, 2009, 07:16:07 AM »
Does using "pause" show anything?
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13853
Re: microcore_2.3RC3
« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2009, 07:29:26 AM »
No, I tried that, but all it shows is the absence of the line showing which extensions are being loaded.

I also re-downloaded RC3 and the RC3 md5sum (which checked out OK) and changed waitusb=5 -> 10 - all, unfortunately without result  :(

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: microcore_2.3RC3
« Reply #7 on: August 29, 2009, 07:51:26 AM »

Note my boot codes are: quiet vga=773 noswap tce=sda1 waitusb=5 noscan text


What is noscan?
I don't see that in tc-config.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13853
Re: microcore_2.3RC3
« Reply #8 on: August 29, 2009, 07:55:11 AM »
I mention it here, but in fact it has happened from time to time with all versions of microcore and flwm - occasionally, when I click on the "X" button in Appbrowser it will not exit.

The shading to show the "X" button has been clicked-on appears, but the window stays open. If I click on the Appbrowser icon in wbar, another instance of Approwser starts, but exits normally when I click on the "X" button.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13853
Re: microcore_2.3RC3
« Reply #9 on: August 29, 2009, 07:57:34 AM »
What is noscan?
I don't see that in tc-config.

'Could be a now "depreciated" boot code...

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: microcore_2.3RC3
« Reply #10 on: August 29, 2009, 08:12:43 AM »
I am setting up an external USB hard drive to test.
Back later.

Edit:
OK. Just tested on a newly setup external USB hard drive.
with mircocore.gz, Xlibs.core.tczl, Xprogs.core.tczl, Xvesa.tcz, flwm.tcz, wbar.tcz, and an empty mydata.tgz all in a tce/ folder.

Test 1 boot options: waitusb=5 tce=sda1
Results: Booted normally into flwm X desktop with everything working.

Test 2: Same boot codes except added "text" option
Booted normally to $ prompt
At prompt entering startx
flwm X desktop started normally.
Everything appears to be operating as excepted.

With my production system working, a newly setup base system working, and meo's report of success, I don't see a problem.

Can you manuallt mount all .core. elements and minimal exteions, i.e, window manager, & wbar?
« Last Edit: August 29, 2009, 08:29:25 AM by roberts »
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13853
Re: microcore_2.3RC3
« Reply #11 on: August 29, 2009, 08:36:37 AM »
I tried manually mounting the minimal extensions - "startx" runs, but I get a black screen, a cursor like a big, fat "X" and no wbar.

Maybe usb drive does not equal usb stick (and Meo installed to hd?)?

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: microcore_2.3RC3
« Reply #12 on: August 29, 2009, 08:44:26 AM »
That sounds like .profile and .xsession needs to be updated from /etc/skel
Please check.
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13853
Re: microcore_2.3RC3
« Reply #13 on: August 29, 2009, 11:19:18 AM »
I ran out of time to try today, I'll try tomorrow - sort of unlikely though as I do not have a backup and even if I did, it would not be loaded if the usb stick is not mounted?

Offline roberts

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7361
  • Founder Emeritus
Re: microcore_2.3RC3
« Reply #14 on: August 29, 2009, 11:31:02 AM »
startx is not in microcore, so, something mounted to give up a black screen with large X cursor.
What is mounted when booted to system prompt?
10+ Years Contributing to Linux Open Source Projects.