WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: piCore14.0 Beta  (Read 17264 times)

aus9

  • Guest
Re: piCore14.0 Beta
« Reply #60 on: June 01, 2023, 01:31:22 AM »
My net is down in country town. Using phone with fat fingers.However I am already happy with my current setuo subject to looking at Rich reply
To my nozswap post later.
Startx works. I do not believe we gain anything from changing desktop.

I may be the only person who loads something with a recursive dep of graphics-KERNEL and by me having a backup of etc/inttab to have 2 gettys is already good enough.

I need to move on to other things please. I accept I am not the best tester.
I accept that I lack wifi and openssh and scp skills. I am happy with beta1 in its current form

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11178
Re: piCore14.0 Beta
« Reply #61 on: June 01, 2023, 05:30:40 AM »
Hi aus9
... still fail waitforX
If you look at my reply #46, you'll see I dealt with that issue on my laptop by
adding a  sleep  command to the  .xsession  file in my  home  directory.

aus9

  • Guest
Re: piCore14.0 Beta
« Reply #62 on: June 01, 2023, 08:16:21 PM »
Hi Rich and hi Paul_123

sorry for waffle but I have only just setup wifi as ethernet fails as exchange in my town has broken equipement. Luckily I had a wifi dongle for my TC64 and was able to download some missing TCEs, via sim data hotspot. I may do a separate post on that. I ran
Code: [Select]
sudo wifi.sh and full reboot without loading wifi and I have the net.
Very happy with that.

Paul I have removed that vc-sm-cma.gz initrd from my config.txt and done a full reboot.

Hi Rich
3 seconds too quick for RPi model 4 and I know your laptop will be much better spec than that. But 6 sec seems ok

for my .xsession
Quote
sleep 6
Xorg -nolisten tcp &
SNIP

I was tempted to say that next image for /etc/skel/.xsession could have that line. But I am NOT tempted because I have already agreed that most users will not be loading bloated software that needs Xorg-3.d.

Due to power switch issue already discussed....I have also removed home=mmcblk0p1 and opt=mmcblk0p1 from my cmd.txt
and am back to being almost normal TC user  ;D

Hi Paul_123
I think we can now state this video crash is resolved by Rich sleep suggestion. But I still ask that you please consider next image of /etc/inittab to remove comment from getty2 please.

For any user of a RPi wanting Xorg-3d...I claim the solution is as follows:

1) Add line at top of your ~/.xsession so top 2 lines now reads as
Quote
sleep 6
Xorg -nolisten tcp &

2) edit your boot list maybe onboot.lst so somewhere above your preferred desktop you have Xorg-3d.tcz

eg my onboot top section reads
openssh.tcz
libXcursor.tcz
mc.tcz
nano.tcz
Xorg-3d.tcz
jwm.tcz........................change this to your preferred desktop
other TCEs not shown

Good luck
« Last Edit: June 01, 2023, 08:24:11 PM by aus9 »

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11178
Re: piCore14.0 Beta
« Reply #63 on: June 01, 2023, 09:58:08 PM »
Hi aus9
I took a look at  /var/log/Xorg.0.log  after a  failed in waitforX  and
saw it reported  /dev/dri/card0  did not exist. So I replaced the
sleep command with this:
Code: [Select]
Timeout=40
while [ $Timeout -gt 0 ]
do
[ -e /dev/dri/card0 ] && break
Timeout=$(($Timeout - 1))
sleep 0.25
done
This will wait for  /dev/dri/card0  to show up for a maximum of
10 seconds before continuing.

    [EDIT]: Changed  -x  to  -e  in test for  /dev/dri/card0.  Rich
« Last Edit: June 02, 2023, 11:04:35 AM by Rich »

aus9

  • Guest
Re: piCore14.0 Beta
« Reply #64 on: June 01, 2023, 10:44:09 PM »
Hi Rich I will test that shortly.

I want to post that I am idiot. I pulled the cable from the RPi and tried to get the net and failed. My last post over reboot.....I must have got ethernet back.
Yes my modem lights are now good.  Sorry if above misleads anyone. If you have time  can you correct this
and full reboot without loading wifi and I have the net.
to
and full reboot with loading firmware-rpi-wifi and wifi and I have the net.
please....if not thats ok this post should suffice.

aus9

  • Guest
Re: piCore14.0 Beta
« Reply #65 on: June 01, 2023, 10:51:40 PM »
Hi Rich full reboot.

In the past I have never timed how long my screen is blank (with Xorg-3d in boot list )after saying it is loading extensions etc.
This time I did a rough count.
from when screen goes blank about 16 seconds later, for a second what appears, not sure what you call it,
the ascii text image of tinycore with tux

from when screen goes blank to full desktop appears takes 22 seconds on a RPi model B 4G ram.
« Last Edit: June 01, 2023, 11:04:34 PM by aus9 »

aus9

  • Guest
Re: piCore14.0 Beta
« Reply #66 on: June 01, 2023, 10:58:11 PM »
Hi Rich
retested time to desktop with sleep and its faster 17 seconds, for those reading this I have got Xorg-3d in boot list.

Curiously around 16 seconds there is like a small glitch where I think the ascci tux wanted to appear but a second later my desktop appears.
So I think if the desktop took maybe 18 seconds or more, I would have seen the tux for a second.

I think I will keep it simple and stay with sleep....my impatience is shining thru  ;D
« Last Edit: June 01, 2023, 11:05:18 PM by aus9 »

aus9

  • Guest
Re: piCore14.0 Beta
« Reply #67 on: June 01, 2023, 11:03:09 PM »
Hi Rich
this time I remove Xorg-3d from boot list. the accii tux and tinycore stays on the screen for lot longer.
from screen blank to desktop now 10 seconds. Not a huge saving considering we spend time playing with software  etc.

I think I will stay with sleep 6

Offline patrikg

  • Wiki Author
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 662
Re: piCore14.0 Beta
« Reply #68 on: June 01, 2023, 11:46:44 PM »
I think it's not so simple just remove the # from inittab file in the initrd.
Just because there some differences between the rpi's.
When talking about the serial (uart) interface, the device have lots of different name.
Code: (bash) [Select]
ttyAMA0::respawn:/sbin/getty -L 115200 /dev/ttyAMA0 vt100
And some one have ttyS0 or also Serial0, and i think the device tree change the name, and the bluetooth device shares some.
There are lots of good documenting stuff on the rpi forum.
Here are some links to that.

https://www.raspberrypi.com/documentation/computers/configuration.html#configuring-uarts
https://www.raspberrypi.com/documentation/computers/configuration.html#part5.6

And like neerds like me likes to get all juice logs and things on the serial, you have to do like this to get some more text from the bios(bootcode.bin)
https://www.raspberrypi.com/documentation/computers/raspberry-pi.html#bootcode-bin-uart-enable

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14516
Re: piCore14.0 Beta
« Reply #69 on: June 02, 2023, 03:34:21 AM »
Paul I have removed that vc-sm-cma.gz initrd from my config.txt and done a full reboot.

Hi Rich
3 seconds too quick for RPi model 4 and I know your laptop will be much better spec than that. But 6 sec seems ok

Does setting something like "cma=384M" in cmdline.txt and/or "dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d-pi4,cma-384" cause vc-sm-cma to be loaded first without needing sleep?
« Last Edit: June 02, 2023, 09:37:00 AM by Juanito »

aus9

  • Guest
Re: piCore14.0 Beta
« Reply #70 on: June 02, 2023, 08:16:02 AM »
Hi Juanito
https://github.com/raspberrypi/firmware/blob/master/boot/overlays/README

Quote
Name:   vc4-fkms-v3d-pi4
Info:   Enable Eric Anholt's DRM VC4 V3D driver on top of the dispmanx
        display stack.
Load:   dtoverlay=vc4-fkms-v3d-pi4,<param>
Params: cma-512                 CMA is 512MB (needs 1GB)
        cma-448                 CMA is 448MB (needs 1GB)
        cma-384                 CMA is 384MB (needs 1GB)
        cma-320                 CMA is 320MB (needs 1GB)
        cma-256                 CMA is 256MB (needs 1GB)
        cma-192                 CMA is 192MB (needs 1GB)
        cma-128                 CMA is 128MB
        cma-96                  CMA is 96MB
        cma-64                  CMA is 64MB
        cma-size                CMA size in bytes, 4MB aligned
        cma-default             Use upstream's default value

I finally wore my goggles and spotted the hypen vs your =  ;D

2) I decided to time from my inline power switch to various outcomes as below, with Xorg-3d.tcz in onboot as prev discussed

xsession no sleep 37 seconds to failed in waitfor X
"                 "           config.txt dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d-pi4,cma-384   36 seconds to failed in waitforX

xsession sleep 6 config.txt dtoverlay=vc4-kms-v3d-pi4    Desktop appears 37 seconds

I did not test cmdline.txt for a cma config on the grounds I am happy with sleep.
Rich is still the winner  :D

3) Because I am weirdo
###################
xsession no sleep and commented out the dtoverlay from pi4 -> desktop appears in 29 seconds.
Its late here so I will digest this tomorrow.

thanks for reading
« Last Edit: June 02, 2023, 08:23:24 AM by aus9 »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14516
Re: piCore14.0 Beta
« Reply #71 on: June 02, 2023, 09:36:12 AM »
I finally wore my goggles and spotted the hypen vs your =

Indeed - sorry, corrected above

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11178
Re: piCore14.0 Beta
« Reply #72 on: June 02, 2023, 11:09:09 AM »
Hi aus9
There was a small typo in my reply #63 that has been corrected.

Offline mortegai

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: piCore14.0 Beta
« Reply #73 on: June 02, 2023, 11:47:28 AM »
I think that by doing modprobe of the snd-soc-hdmi-codec module in tc-config, just before the instructions for udev, no sleep or special order in the loading of extensions (graphics, alsa-modules) would be necessary, since would be loaded, as the vc4 module needs.

To generalize these situations, a bootcode similar to blacklist could be enabled where modules were put to load previously to udev (for whatever reason).

Offline Paul_123

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1063
Re: piCore14.0 Beta
« Reply #74 on: June 02, 2023, 03:57:35 PM »
I think that by doing modprobe of the snd-soc-hdmi-codec module in tc-config, just before the instructions for udev, no sleep or special order in the loading of extensions (graphics, alsa-modules) would be necessary, since would be loaded, as the vc4 module needs.
The audio kernel modules will not be even mounted by then.  Onboot.lst is processed near the end of tc-config.   The better place to do what you want is /opt/bootsync.sh.  But I'm guessing the driver is long loaded by the time it gets to bootsync.

Quote
But I still ask that you please consider next image of /etc/inittab to remove comment from getty2 please.

Aus9,
If you want to play with inittab.  Edit your inittab file  at /etc/inittab
Code: [Select]
mount /mnt/mmcblk0p1
cd /
sudo find /etc | grep inittab | sudo cpio -o -H newc | gzip -9 > /mnt/mmcblk0p1/inittab.gz

Then add inittab.gz to your initramfs line in your config.  (Like I had you load the cma driver before).