WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: arora  (Read 16788 times)

Offline maro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
Re: arora
« Reply #15 on: March 02, 2010, 01:06:37 PM »
yoshi314: I've just re-tested 'arora.tcz' on a "plain" TC 2.9rc5 system. All seem to work as expected (incl. HTTPS). The 'arora.tcz.dep' file has been updated on the repository.

I'd suggest you check carefully all your related extension files. I guess the safest way is to re-download the lot.

Offline OldAdamUser2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
Re: arora
« Reply #16 on: March 02, 2010, 05:36:55 PM »
Arora works fine for me with TC2.3. It seems to be a very capable browser, but I just have to ask--what makes it better than opera.tcz? Opera 9.64 runs like a charm and seems to be a (possibly) smaller download if one doesn't have any other use for all the qt dependencies.

Offline OldAdamUser2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
Re: arora
« Reply #17 on: March 02, 2010, 05:43:24 PM »
To possibly answer my own question, Arora comes with flash already enabled. So that is one less step. But how does it compare with Opera 9.64 in total installation size and in speed?

Offline yoshi314

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 133
Re: arora
« Reply #18 on: March 03, 2010, 05:21:16 AM »
it has a better javascript engine and probably a better UI, despite less features.

and a decent adblock.

edit: ok i've updated on 2.9 and it works now. package update somehow didn't work on 2.8.1 (perhaps it was broken altogether at the time).
« Last Edit: March 03, 2010, 08:50:49 AM by yoshi314 »

Offline thane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 669
Re: arora
« Reply #19 on: March 03, 2010, 10:03:38 AM »
"Arora comes with flash already enabled."

Not sure what you mean by this. Don't you still need getflash10 and extensions (i.e. gtk2)?

Offline OldAdamUser2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
Re: arora
« Reply #20 on: May 02, 2010, 11:44:48 PM »
I decided to give arora another try. After installing it I get the following error:

Quote
tc@box:~$ arora
arora: error while loading shared libraries: libQtGui.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

What gives? The required qt dependencies seem to be available.

Offline maro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
Re: arora
« Reply #21 on: May 03, 2010, 12:23:05 AM »
I've just successfully installed and tested 'arora.tcz' on a "plain" TC 2.11 system (in "cloud" mode). No problems here.

If you would like to "compare notes" here are the MD5 values of the extensions that were installed for that test:
Code: [Select]
tc@box:/tmp/tce/optional$ md5sum *.tcz
fbb1bd48a16e0336e8166768b0265d7b  arora.tcz
9bf779a60d8d8cd9b73122f54a40c5b6  expat2.tcz
823d79c37f85bef555a1659356cd9787  fontconfig.tcz
0f9cd4440ccdacb5da2144699c58e602  glib2.tcz
b47ae85568374f61818c1c69b673bbb8  openssl-0.9.8.tcz
92fde97eb5ed5c47e4d9b3707fc68de2  qt-4.5-base.tcz
237488e6b0c2602ec02ddd115ee6a80e  qt-4.5-script.tcz
035a58c77fdabaf3966d244771ab9d49  qt-4.5-sql.tcz
3b0ee2c482b7f678d361e2b9afc50384  qt-4.5-webkit.tcz
dd6ac9a536a21300af73f453301c3b3f  qt-4.5-xml.tcz

Offline OldAdamUser2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
Re: arora
« Reply #22 on: May 03, 2010, 04:17:32 AM »
Thanks, Maro. that gave me the answer. Arora requires qt-4.5-base.tcz, which is not currently part of its dependency list. I downloaded it, and the browser works.

Offline Arslan S.

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 825
Re: arora
« Reply #23 on: May 03, 2010, 05:11:19 AM »
qt-4.5-base is the common dependency of other qt-4.5-* extensions

Offline OldAdamUser2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
Re: arora
« Reply #24 on: May 03, 2010, 05:18:26 PM »
All I can tell you is that it did not sutomatically download for me when I installed arora, and it is not listed in the dependency file for arora.

Offline maro

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1228
Re: arora
« Reply #25 on: May 03, 2010, 05:39:44 PM »
@OldAdamUser2: What all this indicates is that you are not operating a more recent TC version (e.g. 2.10 or 2.11). Those are handling the recursive dependencies quite well.

From my experience it is highly advisable to stay always current in terms of core (i.e. kernel & initrd) as well as extensions.

Offline OldAdamUser2

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 199
Re: arora
« Reply #26 on: May 04, 2010, 05:47:15 PM »
That's true. I'm stuck on 2.8. I tried 2.10 or 2.11, but I had some problems connecting to the internet with wifi, and I haven't  yet tried to sort them out.

I turns out that Namoroka is the answer to the (very modest) lacks I was finding in Opera 9.64. I also like programs to be efficient, small, and light.

Generally speaking, I'm in the "if it ain't broke, don't fix it camp" so I may stick with TC 2.8 for quite a while.
« Last Edit: May 04, 2010, 05:49:23 PM by OldAdamUser2 »

Offline gerald_clark

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4254
Re: arora
« Reply #27 on: May 04, 2010, 06:17:52 PM »
That's just dandy as long as you never want to add any new programs.

Offline thane

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 669
Re: arora
« Reply #28 on: May 04, 2010, 09:55:28 PM »
Downloaded arora and had a problem with Google gmail. When I tried to do a mass delete from the trash (that is, Empty All without checking the emails) I got kicked out of the browser session back to the desktop. However when I went back to gmail I was signed right back in as though the session was still active. Now back on Opera.

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10668
Re: arora
« Reply #29 on: May 05, 2010, 03:24:48 AM »
If you wish to try a frankenstein build, you could see if copying just tce-load from 2.11 to your install lets you install recursive extensions. Unsupported, but so is 2.8 now.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.