WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Core v14.0beta1  (Read 10305 times)

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14633
Core v14.0beta1
« on: March 06, 2023, 06:09:49 AM »
Team Tiny Core is pleased to announce that Tiny Core 14.0 Beta1 is available for public testing:

http://repo.tinycorelinux.net/14.x/x86/release_candidates/distribution_files
http://repo.tinycorelinux.net/14.x/x86_64/release_candidates/distribution_files

This is an beta level cut. If you decide to help test, then please test carefully. We don't want anyone to lose data.

We appreciate testing and feedback.

Changelog for 14.0 Beta1:
* kernel updated to 6.1.2
* glibc updated to 2.36
* gcc updated to 12.2.0
* binutils updated to 2.39
* e2fsprogs base libs/apps updated to 1.46.5
* util-linux base libs/apps updated to 2.38.1
* busybox updated to 1.36.0
* tce: allow script to exit normally without stdout from bdantas
* autologin: Remove unneeded lines from nick65go
* filetool.sh: having colors from alphons
* rebuildfstab: remove relatime, it has been the default since 2.6.30
* rebuildfstab: small speed optimization
* rebuildfstab: reorder for findutils find warning
* tce-load: add to install if extension is downloaded from aswjh
* provides.sh: backup path patch from CNK
* depends-on.sh: various from rarost, bdantas

Note:

* la files have been removed from *-dev extensions (thanks to @Rich)
* intel hd4400 graphics fails with the modesetting driver in x86

Offline nick65go

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 805
Re: Core v14.0beta1
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2023, 09:30:47 AM »
Thanks, maybe also the /usr/bin/select patch (attached) could be approved. It is just a tiny change for tce-ab to list 20 rows/screen instead of 15.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14633
Re: Core v14.0beta1
« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2023, 09:35:57 AM »
Could you submit it to tc git please?

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10992
Re: Core v14.0beta1
« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2023, 10:20:32 AM »
Added that patch, thanks.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline nick65go

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 805
Re: Core v14.0beta1
« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2023, 11:40:04 AM »
Added that patch, thanks.
Thank you too; because I just made today an account on github, but I do not know to use git to submit patches, or if  they are named pull-request.

Offline nick65go

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 805
Re: Core v14.0beta1
« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2023, 11:43:03 AM »
in /etc/init.d/tc-config, line 657: /sbin/loadcpufreq 2>/dev/null &

in https://github.com/tinycorelinux/tc-misc/blob/master/loadcpufreq.c
it tries to load specific CPU drivers, like: speedstep-ich, powernow-k6, powernow-k7, powernow-k8, longhaul, longrun

in /lib/modules/6.1.2-tinycore64/kernel/drivers/cpufreq is only powernow-k8.ko.gz

So in year 2023, for TC14 final, unfortunately the kernel 6.1.2 does not have anymore the old CPU drivers; only powernow-k8.ko.gz
also, maybe is missing the case for amd_freq_sensitivity.ko.gz (!?).

Maybe we could just force all like:
Code: [Select]
/sbin/modprobe acpi-cpufreq powernow-k8 amd_freq_sensitivityand the kernel is smart enough to load only what is needs.
« Last Edit: March 06, 2023, 12:00:45 PM by nick65go »

Offline CNK

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 249
Re: Core v14.0beta1
« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2023, 05:34:04 PM »
Thanks, maybe also the /usr/bin/select patch (attached) could be approved. It is just a tiny change for tce-ab to list 20 rows/screen instead of 15.

This is too long for the default aterm terminal window size of 80x24 characters. Testing in TC 13, although all the entries are visible, it scrolls down below the blank line at the top, and this causes the starting position of the text to change when there are fewer entries on the list (eg. when you get to the last page of results). More annoyingly, on slow computers (or slow Telnet/SSH/serial connections) it causes extra flickering as the window scrolls down one line each time the list is redrawn.

aus9

  • Guest
Re: Core v14.0beta1
« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2023, 09:24:58 PM »
Hi

Apps GUI claimed I needed updates for eiwd and some more but got "failed"  error so then I did
Code: [Select]
tc@box:/mnt/sda3/tce/optional$ rm -rf eiwd* iwd* wifi-manager*
tc@box:/mnt/sda3/tce/optional$ tce-load -w wifi-manager
wifi-manager.tcz.dep OK
eiwd.tcz.dep OK
Downloading: eiwd.tcz
Connecting to repo.tinycorelinux.net (128.127.66.77:80)
saving to 'eiwd.tcz'
eiwd.tcz             100% |******************************************************************************|  600k  0:00:00 ETA
'eiwd.tcz' saved
eiwd.tcz: FAILED
md5sum: WARNING: 1 of 1 computed checksums did NOT match
Error on eiwd.tcz

I am not using a mirror in case its a server midnight run issue, sorry if I am too impatient

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11303
Re: Core v14.0beta1
« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2023, 09:44:20 PM »
Hi aus9
md5.txt  file corrected. Try again.

aus9

  • Guest
Re: Core v14.0beta1
« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2023, 10:05:49 PM »
Rich
all good now thanks

Offline nick65go

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 805
Re: Core v14.0beta1
« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2023, 11:47:15 PM »
[This is too long for the default aterm terminal window size of 80x24 characters. Testing in TC 13, although all the entries are visible, it scrolls down below the blank line at the top, and this causes the starting position of the text to change when there are fewer entries on the list (eg. when you get to the last page of results). More annoyingly, on slow computers (or slow Telnet/SSH/serial connections) it causes extra flickering as the window scrolls down one line each time the list is redrawn.
The idea is to see "as many as possible" tcz/screen. I did not know that exist (and are used today) terminals of 24 rows.
Anyway, there are still two empty lines in the list, one at top, one at bottom, generated by "echo" commands in the script, which could be also removed.
I obey the majority /democracy. If I am minority, then so be it. Maybe you want to "enhance" the script to check for tty rows.

EDIT: I aterm (so under X server) I can change the resolution and have a lot more of rows. In console / terminal I have 25 rows normally. If radeon console driver is loaded I have also a lot of rows. IMMV.
« Last Edit: March 07, 2023, 12:01:39 AM by nick65go »

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10992
Re: Core v14.0beta1
« Reply #11 on: March 07, 2023, 12:05:09 AM »
Maybe we could just force all like:
Code: [Select]
/sbin/modprobe acpi-cpufreq powernow-k8 amd_freq_sensitivityand the kernel is smart enough to load only what is needs.
Most of those modules are for 32-bit cpus, so they aren't present on 64-bit. Loading everything would work, but it may take some extra time and print a message in dmesg that there is no such hardware.

nick65go, do you want to post a new patch that uses the maximum that fits into default aterm, or do I revert?
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline nick65go

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 805
Re: Core v14.0beta1
« Reply #12 on: March 07, 2023, 12:49:07 AM »
nick65go, do you want to post a new patch that uses the maximum that fits into default aterm, or do I revert?
please revert it.

Offline nick65go

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 805
Re: Core v14.0beta1
« Reply #13 on: March 07, 2023, 03:13:27 AM »
I eliminated the 3 empty rows (two in top, one in bottom), and n=next and p=previous are OK; tested on rows=60 in Xorg.
Code: [Select]
--- ./select.orig
+++ /usr/bin/select
@@ -13 +13 @@
-awk -v title="$1" -v offset="$OFFSET" -v answer="/tmp/select.ans" '
+awk -v title="$1" -v offset="$OFFSET" -v answer="/tmp/select.ans" -v r="$(expr `stty size | cut -d" " -f1` - 2)" '
@@ -33,2 +33,2 @@
-        printf "\n%s\n\n", title
-        for (l=1; l<=15; l++) {
+        printf "%s\n", title
+        for (l=1; l<=r ; l++) {
@@ -38,2 +38,2 @@
-        printf "\nEnter selection ( 1 - %s ) or (q)uit", NR
-        if ( NR > 15 ) printf ", (n)ext, (p)revious: "
+        printf "Enter selection ( 1 - %s ) or (q)uit", NR
+        if ( NR > r ) printf ", (n)ext, (p)revious: "
@@ -44,2 +44,2 @@
-            if ( j > 15 )
-                j = j - 30
+            if ( j > r )
+                j = j - r * 2
@@ -52 +52 @@
-                j = j - 15
+                j = j - r
@@ -56 +56 @@
-        if (selection+0 < 1 || selection+0 > NR ) j = j - 15
+        if (selection+0 < 1 || selection+0 > NR ) j = j - r
« Last Edit: March 07, 2023, 03:28:16 AM by nick65go »

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10992
Re: Core v14.0beta1
« Reply #14 on: March 07, 2023, 07:40:47 AM »
Applied. Please use -U (not -U0) in the future, it helps if it's not an exact match (someone else also worked on it, etc).
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.