WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Tiny Core 14.0 Alpha 1 Testing  (Read 1753 times)

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10741
Re: Tiny Core 14.0 Alpha 1 Testing
« Reply #30 on: January 24, 2023, 09:32:51 AM »
md5 files are not checked on boot, only on download. This has always been so, specifically because it would make boot very slow on old cpus.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline CNK

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
Re: Tiny Core 14.0 Alpha 1 Testing
« Reply #31 on: January 24, 2023, 02:02:01 PM »
PS: I wonder how many programs (as % from total) still run under Xvesa /Xfbdev in today tc14. Because most of them ask for gtk3, which in turn ask for Xlibs -> Xorg. Any proper (modern) browser  asks for Xorg.

I think you're mixing up the X server and Xlib. Xvesa/Xfbdev were always supposed to work with Xorg's Xlib, they're separate things (Xlib allows programs to talk to the X server).

You might be interested to look at Nano Linux, as it's a Tiny Core based distro that uses a "nano" version of both the X server and Xlib.
« Last Edit: January 24, 2023, 02:05:53 PM by CNK »

Offline nick65go

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 635
Re: Tiny Core 14.0 Alpha 1 Testing
« Reply #32 on: January 24, 2023, 03:26:01 PM »
I love 32 bits software. But unfortunately (for me) my UEFI-64bits booting in 32 bits will show only 2GB RAM, out of 8 GB RAM. So no go for Xvesa and 32 bits kernel, only for chroot. Neither mixture kernel 64 bits and Xfbdev, because insane radeon luminosity without xf86-video-radeon. [I hate Dell /HP firmware for (L)users]

So, to summarize:
1. OK, md5 route for onboot.lst was already implemented in TC, sorry that I overlook it (-1). But the merge for 100 tczs into one Xorg-full.tcz for fast speed was not yet challenged (+1).

2. Sorting/indexing files inside squashfs-ed tcz for speed was not challenged (+1). Neither "parallel" processing /piping (even with naive "interval halving method" like sub-call in sub-call) (+1)

3. from distrowatch -> Nano Linux has status discounted from 2015-12-26 (-1). My mistake to say (talk about) Xlib.(-1). Not interested.

4. All online-banking ask for "modern"/bloated browser WITH java-script. So dillo / links / netsurf etc are dead for this task. The main point was about GTK3! and no up-to-date (security concerns) browser runs without gtk3 and Xorg.(+1).

5. May I repeat the question again to (long experience) users: How many programs (as % from total) still run under Xvesa /Xfbdev in today tc14?
« Last Edit: January 24, 2023, 03:41:24 PM by nick65go »

Offline nick65go

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 635
Tiny Core 14.0 Alpha 1 Testing - bug in filetool
« Reply #33 on: January 25, 2023, 10:28:32 AM »
Testing TC14 alpha 64 bits, I found a small bug in filetool for backup/restore (png attached). The ESC-characters (maybe for colors?) are not interpreted, instead they are shown ad-literal, like " ^ [ [ ".

Offline GNUser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 959
Re: Tiny Core 14.0 Alpha 1 Testing
« Reply #34 on: January 25, 2023, 12:08:25 PM »
Hi, nick65go. That's a screenshot of /usr/local/bin/filetool (GUI frontend to filetool.sh) (included in Xprogs.tcz). It seems that it does not support colors.

filetool.sh was colorized recently. I'm actually finding the colors a bit jarring since it's the only command I use over SSH that does colors. I could get used to it, but if the colors are creating problems for the GUI frontend then maybe the colors should be scrapped?
« Last Edit: January 25, 2023, 12:10:04 PM by GNUser »

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10741
Re: Tiny Core 14.0 Alpha 1 Testing
« Reply #35 on: January 25, 2023, 11:02:23 PM »
Oh, if it causes trouble for the GUI, indeed should be reverted. Will revert.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10432
Re: Tiny Core 14.0 Alpha 1 Testing
« Reply #36 on: January 28, 2023, 09:09:55 PM »
Hi nick65go
fltk-1.3 has been patched to recognized ANSI color escape sequences.

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10741
Re: Tiny Core 14.0 Alpha 1 Testing
« Reply #37 on: January 28, 2023, 11:25:42 PM »
Un-reverting the script change.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline nick65go

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 635
Re: Tiny Core 14.0 Alpha 1 Testing
« Reply #38 on: January 29, 2023, 05:50:12 AM »
Hi Tinycore Team! Thank you very much, I confirm that in TC14 alpha1 64 bits:

- the FLWM windows-manager now has the corner arrows (thanks Rich)
- the filetool.sh runs with colors, same as is its GUI filetool. (thanks curaga)
- Xfe file-manager was updated to version 1.45 (thanks GNUnuser)

-Xorg-server (1.21.1.6), kernel (6.1.2), busybox (1.36) are up-to-date as in other Linux-distributions.
Maybe there are other good news (not discovered yet by me versus tc13).
PS: I am not picky, just say that filetools, shell versus gui, has different output text colors (see attach).

Offline nick65go

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 635
Re: Tiny Core 14.0 Alpha 1 Testing
« Reply #39 on: January 29, 2023, 10:21:58 AM »
I have a problem with Xorg-3D. My laptop has an APU (=CPU+GPU). The kernel sees an AMDGPU (so core GCN 2.x?), but UEFI console and Xorg want RADEON.

I exit from Xorg and I instaled from condole the graphics-6.1.2-tinycore64.tcz, without instaling xf86-video-ati.tcz, neither xf86-video-amdgpu.tcz.
Then /var/log/Xorg.0.log is:
Code: [Select]
[   660.876] (II) Platform probe for /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/drm/card0
[   660.961] (WW) Warning, couldn't open module ati
[   660.961] (EE) Failed to load module "ati" (module does not exist, 0)[   661.171] (II) modeset(0): glamor X acceleration enabled on KABINI (, LLVM 13.0.0, DRM 2.50, 6.1.2-tinycore64)
[   661.289] (II) modeset(0): [DRI2] Setup complete
[   661.289] (II) modeset(0): [DRI2]   DRI driver: radeonsi
[   661.289] (II) modeset(0): [DRI2]   VDPAU driver: radeonsi
[   664.064] (II) modeset(0): Modeline "1600x900"x0.0  128.78  1600 1648 1680 2298  900 902 907 934 -hsync -vsync (56.0 kHz eP)
[   664.162] (EE)
[   664.162] (EE) Backtrace:
[   664.162] (EE) 0: /usr/local/lib/xorg/Xorg (xorg_backtrace+0x56) [0x5609e30bfd3f]
...
[   664.162] (EE) 2: /lib/libc.so.6 (0x7f6a3f66a000+0x36870) [0x7f6a3f6a0870][   660.876] (II) Platform probe for /sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.0/drm/card0
[   660.961] (WW) Warning, couldn't open module ati
[   660.961] (EE) Failed to load module "ati" (module does not exist, 0)[   661.171] (II) modeset(0): glamor X acceleration enabled on KABINI (, LLVM 13.0.0, DRM 2.50, 6.1.2-tinycore64)
[   661.289] (II) modeset(0): [DRI2] Setup complete
[   661.289] (II) modeset(0): [DRI2]   DRI driver: radeonsi
[   661.289] (II) modeset(0): [DRI2]   VDPAU driver: radeonsi
[   664.064] (II) modeset(0): Modeline "1600x900"x0.0  128.78  1600 1648 1680 2298  900 902 907 934 -hsync -vsync (56.0 kHz eP)
[   664.162] (EE)
[   664.162] (EE) Backtrace:
[   664.162] (EE) 0: /usr/local/lib/xorg/Xorg (xorg_backtrace+0x56) [0x5609e30bfd3f]
...
[   664.162] (EE) 2: /lib/libc.so.6 (0x7f6a3f66a000+0x36870) [0x7f6a3f6a0870]
...
[   664.164] (EE) 10: /usr/local/lib/libLLVM-13.so (LLVMBuildInBoundsGEP2+0x51) [0x7f6a3a6cbc7d]
[   664.164] (EE) 11: /usr/local/lib/dri/radeonsi_dri.so (0x7f6a3d971000+0x924823) [0x7f6a3e295823]
[   664.165] (EE)
Fatal server error:
[   664.165] (EE) Caught signal 6 (Aborted). Server aborting
...
[   664.164] (EE) 10: /usr/local/lib/libLLVM-13.so (LLVMBuildInBoundsGEP2+0x51) [0x7f6a3a6cbc7d]
[   664.164] (EE) 11: /usr/local/lib/dri/radeonsi_dri.so (0x7f6a3d971000+0x924823) [0x7f6a3e295823]
[   664.165] (EE)
Fatal server error:
[   664.165] (EE) Caught signal 6 (Aborted). Server aborting

So the Xorg is focused on radeon driver, even if in dmesg I have

Code: [Select]
cat 1.txt | grep -i amd
smpboot: CPU0: AMD A6-6310 APU with AMD Radeon R4 Graphics (family: 0x16, model: 0x30, stepping: 0x1)
Performance Events: AMD PMU driver.
perf: AMD IBS detected (0x000000ff)
amd_uncore: 4  amd_nb counters detected
amd_uncore: 4  amd_l2 counters detected
AMD-Vi: AMD IOMMUv2 functionality not available on this system - This is not a bug.
ehci-pci 0000:00:12.0: applying AMD SB700/SB800/Hudson-2/3 EHCI dummy qh workaround
ehci-pci 0000:00:13.0: applying AMD SB700/SB800/Hudson-2/3 EHCI dummy qh workaround
[drm] amdgpu kernel modesetting enabled.
amdgpu: Virtual CRAT table created for CPU
amdgpu: Topology: Add CPU node
amdgpu 0000:00:01.0: vgaarb: deactivate vga console
amdgpu 0000:00:01.0: amdgpu: get invalid ip discovery binary signature from vram
amdgpu 0000:00:01.0: amdgpu: amdgpu_discovery is not set properly
amdgpu 0000:00:01.0: amdgpu: failed to read ip discovery binary from file
[drm:0xffffffffa0295938] *ERROR* amdgpu_discovery_init failed
amdgpu 0000:00:01.0: amdgpu: Fatal error during GPU init
amdgpu 0000:00:01.0: amdgpu: amdgpu: finishing device.
amdgpu: probe of 0000:00:01.0 failed with error -22
ATOM BIOS: AMD

Code: [Select]
cat 1.txt | grep -i radeon
smpboot: CPU0: AMD A6-6310 APU with AMD Radeon R4 Graphics (family: 0x16, model: 0x30, stepping: 0x1)
[drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.
radeon 0000:00:01.0: vgaarb: deactivate vga console
radeon 0000:00:01.0: VRAM: 1024M 0x0000000000000000 - 0x000000003FFFFFFF (1024M used)
radeon 0000:00:01.0: GTT: 2048M 0x0000000040000000 - 0x00000000BFFFFFFF
[drm] radeon: 1024M of VRAM memory ready
[drm] radeon: 2048M of GTT memory ready.
[drm] radeon: dpm initialized
radeon 0000:00:01.0: WB enabled
radeon 0000:00:01.0: fence driver on ring 0 use gpu addr 0x0000000040000c00
radeon 0000:00:01.0: fence driver on ring 7 use gpu addr 0x0000000040000c1c
radeon 0000:00:01.0: radeon: using MSI.
[drm] radeon: irq initialized.
[drm] radeon atom DIG backlight initialized
[drm] Radeon Display Connectors
fbcon: radeondrmfb (fb0) is primary device
radeon 0000:00:01.0: [drm] fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
[drm] Initialized radeon 2.50.0 20080528 for 0000:00:01.0 on minor 0

PS: To avoid any old firmaware bug, I tried both with firmware-radeon and firmware-amdgpu from TC original then from Alpine.
But I have the same problem, for Xorg-3D.
EDIT: I does not help the fact that in http://tinycorelinux.net/14.x/x86_64/release/src/kernel/config-6.1.2-tinycore64 we have
Code: [Select]
CONFIG_DRM_AMDGPU=m
# CONFIG_DRM_AMDGPU_SI is not set
# CONFIG_DRM_AMDGPU_CIK is not set
« Last Edit: January 29, 2023, 10:26:28 AM by nick65go »

Offline nick65go

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 635
Re: Tiny Core 14.0 Alpha 1 Testing
« Reply #40 on: January 29, 2023, 11:02:26 AM »
To avoid any doubts about mixing firmware + drivers etc, in a console I did:
Code: [Select]
ls /tmp/tcloop/ | grep xf86-video
xf86-video-ati/
xf86-video-fbdev/
xf86-video-vesa/
and
Code: [Select]
lsmod | grep amdoutput nothing, only kernel-radeon drv is loaded
and
Code: [Select]
cat onboot.lst
kmaps.tcz
regdb.tcz
HP-radeon.tcz
graphics-6.1.2-tinycore64.tcz
Xorg-7.7-3d.tcz
flwm.tcz
aterm.tcz
wbar.tcz
wifi.tcz
acpid.tcz
So, at least for RADEON case: I suspect /usr/local/lib/dri/radeonsi_dri.so has a linking problem.

Online Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14096
Re: Tiny Core 14.0 Alpha 1 Testing
« Reply #41 on: January 29, 2023, 09:53:07 PM »
If you don't load xf86-video-amdgpu or xf86-video-ati, but do load graphics-KERNEL, does the modesetting driver work?

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10741
Re: Tiny Core 14.0 Alpha 1 Testing
« Reply #42 on: January 29, 2023, 10:44:05 PM »
There is no problem with ati/radeon vs amdgpu. Your card is supported by ati/radeon, and the optional/experimental amdgpu support for it is correctly disabled. X failed to start because llvm called abort(), meaning you are hitting a llvm or mesa bug. You can disable 3d in your xorg.conf or try older versions.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline nick65go

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 635
Re: Tiny Core 14.0 Alpha 1 Testing
« Reply #43 on: January 30, 2023, 02:01:28 AM »
There is no problem with ati/radeon vs amdgpu. Your card is supported by ati/radeon, and the optional/experimental amdgpu support for it is correctly disabled. X failed to start because llvm called abort(), meaning you are hitting a llvm or mesa bug. You can disable 3d in your xorg.conf or try older versions.
Right I hit a bug in LLVM  or mesa.
So for clarity, lets forget ALL future discussion about amdgpu, and concentrate only on radeon.

Xorg-3D without graphics-KERNEL works OK, using xorg-FBDEV (so is not accelerated).
If you don't load xf86-video-amdgpu or xf86-video-ati, but do load graphics-KERNEL, does the modesetting driver work?
1. After exit xorg and loading (in console) the graphics-KERNEL, then the console/prompter is frozen and I must do cold reset the laptop.

2.Fresh boot.After exit xorg and loading (in console) FIRST the firmware-radeon.tcz and THEN the graphics-KERNEL, now I stay console/prompter. When I start Xorg now, it shows briefly (1 second) the Xorg-window + mouse cursor, then it quickly quits back in console.
The less /var/log/Xorg.0.log shows that Xorg successfully loaded modeset-drv +llinput etc and then Xorg spits (EE) about libLLVM-13.so + radeonsi_dri.so.

3. Fresh boot.After exit xorg and loading (in console), first firmare-radeon, then Xf86-video-ati then graphics-kernel. And now I have the same briefly Xorg shown and then it quickly quits back in console. The less /var/log/Xorg.0.log shows that Xorg successfully loaded RADEON-drv +llinput etc, and then it spits (EE) about libLLVM-13.so + radeonsi_dri.so, right afler "RADEON (0): Modeline "1600x900" etc.


« Last Edit: January 30, 2023, 02:09:18 AM by nick65go »

Offline nick65go

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 635
Re: Tiny Core 14.0 Alpha 1 Testing
« Reply #44 on: January 30, 2023, 02:24:48 AM »
For the case loading firmware-radeon + xf86-video-ati + graphics-kernel, all there tcz loaded from console before starting xorg, here is attached the full /var/log/Xorg.0.log. You can see the (EE) from libLLVM-13.so + radeonsi_dri.so.
FYI: I know is in alpha1 stage so work in progress. but to use Xorg-3D without acceleration is a NOT-go for anyone with a laptop [so I think].
« Last Edit: January 30, 2023, 02:29:11 AM by nick65go »