WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Help building/installing/compiling? Ralink firmware/driver.  (Read 646 times)

Offline omataclas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Help building/installing/compiling? Ralink firmware/driver.
« on: September 23, 2022, 06:04:33 AM »
Hi, I’m very new to all this but I have been searching around for answers before posting here.
lspci says I have:
 00:0d.0 Network controller: Ralink corp. RT2561/RT61 rev B 802.11g
And I have already used the app to get firmware-rapino.tcz wifi.tcz, but I don’t know how to proceed.
I have noticed that one of firmware-ralink’s files are my device name “rt2561.bin” but i have no idea on what to do with it. Any help would be appreciated  ;D

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13997
Re: Help building/installing/compiling? Ralink firmware/driver.
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2022, 06:28:35 AM »
You need to load wifi firmware before any other wifi extensions:
Code: [Select]
tce-load -i firmware-ralinkwifi
tce-load -i wifi

..then follow the instructions in the wifi info file

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10363
Re: Help building/installing/compiling? Ralink firmware/driver.
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2022, 06:29:03 AM »
Hi omataclas
Welcome to the forum.

You should load  firmware-rapino.tcz  and  wifi.tcz  onboot in that order. after  firmware-rapino.tcz
loads the required firmware should load automatically.

The  wifi.tcz.info  file has instructions on its use.

Offline omataclas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Help building/installing/compiling? Ralink firmware/driver.
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2022, 07:11:48 AM »
Hi omataclas
Welcome to the forum.

You should load  firmware-rapino.tcz  and  wifi.tcz  onboot in that order. after  firmware-rapino.tcz
loads the required firmware should load automatically.

The  wifi.tcz.info  file has instructions on its use.

Thank you for such a rapid reply, sorry if this is a dumb question, but how can I read these info files?

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13997

Offline omataclas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Help building/installing/compiling? Ralink firmware/driver.
« Reply #5 on: September 23, 2022, 07:50:04 AM »
I have done some more searching and it seems that firmware-ralink and wifi.tcz are working but
“rfkill list” says wireless LAN is hard blocked.

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10363
Re: Help building/installing/compiling? Ralink firmware/driver.
« Reply #6 on: September 23, 2022, 08:23:31 AM »
Hi omataclas
According to the help screen for rfkill:
Code: [Select]
tc@E310:~$ rfkill --help

Usage:
 rfkill [options] command [identifier ...]

Tool for enabling and disabling wireless devices.

Options:
 -J, --json             use JSON output format
 -n, --noheadings       don't print headings
 -o, --output <list>    define which output columns to use
 -r, --raw              use the raw output format

 -h, --help             display this help
 -V, --version          display version

Available output columns:
 DEVICE      kernel device name
 ID          device identifier value
 TYPE        device type name that can be used as identifier
 TYPE-DESC   device type description
 SOFT        status of software block
 HARD        status of hardware block

Commands:
 help
 event
 list   [identifier]
 block   identifier
 unblock identifier

For more details see rfkill(8).
tc@E310:~$

Have you tried using the unblock function:
Code: [Select]
sudo rfkill unblock identifierwhere identifier is what was returned by  rfkill list.

If you can't unblock it that way, then you may have to do it through your machines BIOS or
a setup screen for the machine.

Offline omataclas

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Help building/installing/compiling? Ralink firmware/driver.
« Reply #7 on: September 23, 2022, 11:05:20 AM »

If you can't unblock it that way, then you may have to do it through your machines BIOS or
a setup screen for the machine.

Thank you all for the support, finally got it working, the hardware block was a sneaky wifi button that I did not notice before.