WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: no GUI on CorePlus (SOLVED)  (Read 577 times)

Offline fredmyra

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
no GUI on CorePlus (SOLVED)
« on: January 16, 2022, 11:53:08 AM »
Hi!
I have dd-ed the CorePlus-12.0.iso to a pendrive, booted and installed it onto another
pendrive and was able to boot it successfully.

Then I booted it again and installed it to an empty already ext4 formatted  partition on a Toshiba external disk, where I have a few Linux distros installed.  I was able to boot from this installation, but I havenĀ“t been able to get into the GUI. I have tried for 2 days and have read very much but I am new to TinyCore and I am getting more confused.

Booting stops after recognition of e1000 driver and warning on "disabling TOS",  with a blimping "_".  If I press enter I get a tc-box prompt,

startx does not work;  tce-status -i , tce-status -u show no extensions.

I am able to tce-load -w several extensions. And they then appear on status.
After loading several extensions in different attempts I was able to launch startx a few times,
but  got a black screen and in some cases a freeze.

I tried booting the installation pendrive in text mode and experiment with tc-install. 
tce-status -i lists  tc+install

but when I try to run it I get :         "-sh: tc-install not found"
If i Try to load it (again) I get :  "tc+install is already downloaded

I can find many extensions at /tce/optional in the partition  of the external disk, and  onboot.lst does show a number of extensions.
I just cannot figure it out by myself.

I tried with CorePure64 and it is pretty much the same story.  Shall I post there too?

Info on hardware attached.
« Last Edit: January 17, 2022, 08:34:14 AM by curaga »

Offline NewUser

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
Re: no GUI on CorePlus
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2022, 08:56:12 PM »
When you installed Core plus on the external drive, did you choose to install all apps?

Offline polikuo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 665
Re: no GUI on CorePlus
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2022, 09:07:23 PM »
I tried booting the installation pendrive in text mode and experiment with tc-install. 
tce-status -i lists  tc+install

but when I try to run it I get :         "-sh: tc-install not found"
If i Try to load it (again) I get :  "tc+install is already downloaded

You have only downloaded the extension, but didn't install it.
Download: (wget)
Code: [Select]
tce-load -w tc-installInstall:
Code: [Select]
tce-load -i tc-install

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10148
Re: no GUI on CorePlus
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2022, 09:13:57 PM »
Hi fredmyra
... tce-status -i lists  tc+install

but when I try to run it I get :         "-sh: tc-install not found" ...
The executable in that package is called  tc-install.sh.

Quote
... Then I booted it again and installed it to an empty already ext4 formatted  partition on a Toshiba external disk, ...
Is this a USB drive? Maybe you need to add a  waitusb=5  boot code?

Offline fredmyra

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: no GUI on CorePlus
« Reply #4 on: January 17, 2022, 05:16:25 AM »
Thanks you all for your help!

I have managed to get the GUI started this morning, after some good rest.

What seems to have fixed was changing the boot parameter tce=/tce (which I copied from another   computer where I installed a few years ago) to tce=sdb2  (which corresponds to right partition) .

I also added waitusb=20 , this high value because I had tried this parameter with lower values before without success. I can not draw any conclusions from this though as there might have been other inadequate parameter values along that.

I am pretty sure I did run tc-install, from the GUI on the installation  usb.

Thanks polikuo for pointing out the difference between

tce-load -w tc-install
and
tce-load -i tc-install

I had totally misinterpreted these 2 commands

This forum was invaluable help in that once I posted I was able to stop trying and get some rest.
Thanks once again !

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10659
Re: no GUI on CorePlus
« Reply #5 on: January 17, 2022, 08:33:45 AM »
You can ask for a mod to edit the title, for adding the SOLVED. The report button is more for spam.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.