WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: rotdash for multiple instance  (Read 2554 times)

Offline Roberto A. Foglietta

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 212
    • personal home page
rotdash for multiple instance
« on: August 24, 2021, 07:22:05 AM »
Hi all,

 this is the code for rotdash which wait for a pid, a single pid.

 https://raw.githubusercontent.com/tinycorelinux/tc-misc/master/rotdash.c

 However, some software have many instances (multi-threading) using rotdash with pgrep does not work.
 
 The code has been modified to wait for multiple pids. In attachment.

 https://github.com/robang74/tinycore-editor/tree/main/tinycore/rotdash

 You will find compiled stripped/sstriped binaries here

 https://github.com/robang74/tinycore-editor/tree/main/tinycore/tccustom/32/usr/bin
 https://github.com/robang74/tinycore-editor/tree/main/tinycore/tccustom/64/usr/bin
« Last Edit: August 24, 2021, 07:52:13 AM by Roberto A. Foglietta »

Offline nick65go

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 799
Re: rotdash for multiple instance
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2021, 08:34:01 AM »
IMHO: Does it need to be dynamically linked, not statically? and maybe linked against uclib or musl?
I understand today schema of fast and dirty approach of development, build one for test, get feed-back, improve it, throw away the first one etc.

At least you created something potentially useful for somebody, so .. congratulations.

Offline Roberto A. Foglietta

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 212
    • personal home page
Re: rotdash for multiple instance
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2021, 09:32:00 AM »
At least you created something potentially useful for somebody, so .. congratulations.

There are at least 42 active users of TinyCore Editor (Suite).
Possibly, they will grown in number.

Offline nick65go

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 799
Re: rotdash for multiple instance
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2021, 09:38:31 AM »
the idea to have rotdash statically linked is because a 32 bits version is portable to a 64 bits version (call directly to kernel only), and even portable to older TC versions (with older libc).

PS: I copy/paste an Archlinux ELF 64 bits (xarchiver, I think) in TC12_x86_64 and I hit some undefined symbols etc. So yes, underlining lib versions could be an obstacle sometimes.
« Last Edit: August 24, 2021, 09:46:33 AM by nick65go »