WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Pi 4 dual Monitor  (Read 11024 times)

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10363
Re: Pi 4 dual Monitor
« Reply #30 on: August 12, 2021, 08:05:06 AM »
Hi Rabie
... but freerdp still asking for "libnettle.so.7"
sudo ldconfig  will not effect which libraries  freerdp  will look for.

... so i downloaded the old one from V11.x/armv7 ...
You also need to load the extension.
If you overwrite your existing nettle extension with the the old version, you need to reboot to load it.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13997
Re: Pi 4 dual Monitor
« Reply #31 on: August 12, 2021, 09:20:42 AM »
... but freerdp still asking for "libnettle.so.7"
sudo ldconfig  will not effect which libraries  freerdp  will look for.

I thought the old nettle extension had been mounted somewhere and the libs copied into the root filesystem.

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10363
Re: Pi 4 dual Monitor
« Reply #32 on: August 12, 2021, 09:29:13 AM »
Hi Juanito
tce-load runs  ldconfig  in the  update_system()  function which gets called by the  install()  function.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13997
Re: Pi 4 dual Monitor
« Reply #33 on: August 12, 2021, 09:33:13 AM »
Yes, but when you manually mount an extension in, say, /tmp and copy the files to / ldconfig is needed 🙂

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10363
Re: Pi 4 dual Monitor
« Reply #34 on: August 12, 2021, 09:41:36 AM »
Hi Juanito
You are correct sir. I missed this part when I read your reply:
... and the libs copied into the root filesystem.

I really should pay closer attention. :-[

Offline Rabie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
Re: Pi 4 dual Monitor
« Reply #35 on: August 12, 2021, 11:00:45 AM »
Hi Rich,
Quote
You also need to load the extension.
If you overwrite your existing nettle extension with the the old version, you need to reboot to load it.

i already did all of that and the freerdp is working fine with one Monitor but the Problem what i am facing is like i mentioned before:
Quote
after all the freerdp didn't work with the "/Multimon:force" option

Code: [Select]
xfreerdp /sec:rdp /drive:USB-Stick,/mnt/ /multimon:force +multitransport +auto-reconnect -themes -wallpaper /cert-ignore /bpp:15 /kbd:0x00000407 /d:domain /v:server:port /f

Code: [Select]
[10:31:04:365] [5420:5421] [INFO][com.freerdp.core] - freerdp_connect:freerdp_set_last_error_ex resetting error state
[10:31:04:365] [5420:5421] [INFO][com.freerdp.client.common.cmdline] - loading channelEx rdpdr
[10:31:04:365] [5420:5421] [INFO][com.freerdp.client.common.cmdline] - loading channelEx rdpsnd
[10:31:04:365] [5420:5421] [INFO][com.freerdp.client.common.cmdline] - loading channelEx cliprdr
[10:31:04:787] [5420:5421] [INFO][com.freerdp.primitives] - primitives autodetect, using optimized
[10:31:04:795] [5420:5421] [INFO][com.freerdp.core] - freerdp_tcp_is_hostname_resolvable:freerdp_set_last_error_ex resetting error state
[10:31:04:796] [5420:5421] [INFO][com.freerdp.core] - freerdp_tcp_connect:freerdp_set_last_error_ex resetting error state
[10:31:04:807] [5420:5421] [ERROR][com.freerdp.core.gcc] - WARNING: true multi monitor support was not advertised by server!
[10:31:04:807] [5420:5421] [ERROR][com.freerdp.core.gcc] - Sending multi monitor information anyway (may break connectivity!)
[10:31:05:912] [5420:5421] [INFO][com.freerdp.gdi] - Local framebuffer format  PIXEL_FORMAT_BGRX32
[10:31:05:912] [5420:5421] [INFO][com.freerdp.gdi] - Remote framebuffer format PIXEL_FORMAT_RGB16
[10:31:05:048] [5420:5421] [INFO][com.winpr.clipboard] - initialized POSIX local file subsystem
[10:31:05:146] [5420:5442] [INFO][com.freerdp.channels.rdpdr.client] - Loading device service drive [USB-Stick] (static)
[10:31:05:147] [5420:5421] [INFO][com.freerdp.channels.rdpsnd.client] - [static] Loaded fake backend for rdpsnd

it says that the multi monitor support was not advertised by server, but it actually works with TinyCore with the same freerdp version.

that is why i thought that the old nettle extension is the Problem.

And maybe its because the piCore take the two Monitors as one Large Screen ? (See Attachment)

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13997
Re: Pi 4 dual Monitor
« Reply #36 on: August 14, 2021, 03:05:51 AM »
The problem with the unmet dep on libnettle.so.7 seems to have been caused by the gnutls dep file.

The gnutls extension is the same in piCore-12.x and piCore-13.x, but the dep file in piCore-13.x was missing p11-kit and nettle.

The update to nettle in piCore-13.x (libnettle.so.7 -> libnettle.so.8 ) then broke gnutls and perhaps other extensions.

I created a nettle7 extension for backwards compatibility and adjusted the gnutls dep file accordingly - you will need to update your local copy.
« Last Edit: August 14, 2021, 03:12:25 AM by Juanito »

Offline Rabie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
Re: Pi 4 dual Monitor
« Reply #37 on: August 15, 2021, 02:52:27 AM »
Hi Juanito,

i just installed the new nettle7 extension and this got the freerdp to work with both Monitors!

the next problem what i have is:

the rdp image structure is loading Lines / blockwise screen layout (Realy slow)
even when i use the the "/gdi:hw" Option.

So i tried to reload the fbturbo driver again to see if it's better and indeed it is! (See this topic: https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=249628)

do you have any ideas how do i get a faster redering oder get the two Monitors to work with the fbturbo ?

Thx



« Last Edit: August 15, 2021, 03:41:56 AM by Juanito »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13997
Re: Pi 4 dual Monitor
« Reply #38 on: August 15, 2021, 03:15:02 AM »
In the link you posted they give an Xorg conf snippet to get two monitors with fbturbo - did you try it?

Offline Rabie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
Re: Pi 4 dual Monitor
« Reply #39 on: August 15, 2021, 04:44:56 AM »
In the link you posted they give an Xorg conf snippet to get two monitors with fbturbo - did you try it?

yes i tried it but before the new nettle7 extension without success

now i tried it again after and i am getting 2 Monitors Buffering but they buffer the same like a Mirror!

Hier ist my xorg.conf:
Code: [Select]
Section "Device"
        Identifier      "HDMI-1"
        Driver          "fbturbo"
        Option          "fbdev" "/dev/fb0"
        Option          "SwapbuffersWait" "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier      "HDMI-2"
        Driver          "fbturbo"
        Option          "fbdev" "/dev/fb1"
        Option          "SwapbuffersWait" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "HDMI-1"
    Option      "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
    Option      "Primary" "true"
    Option      "DPMS" "false"
#    Option      "Position" "0 0"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "HDMI-2"
    Option      "PreferredMode" "1280x1024"
    Option      "DPMS" "false"
    Option      "LeftOf" "HDMI1"
#    Option      "Position" "1280 1024"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier      "screen0"
        Device          "HDMI-1"
        Monitor         "HDMI-1"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier      "screen1"
        Device          "HDMI-2"
        Monitor         "HDMI-2"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier      "default"
        Option          "Xinerama" "off"
#        Option          "Clone" "off"      ===> this option is not to find in Xorg.conf website  ( https://www.x.org/releases/current/doc/man/man5/xorg.conf.5.xhtml#heading16 )
        Screen 0        "screen0"
        Screen 1        "screen1" RightOf "screen0"
EndSection

i can't find the option that makes the socond Monitor not as clone to the first one but as an extension Monitor
« Last Edit: August 15, 2021, 05:09:26 AM by Rabie »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13997
Re: Pi 4 dual Monitor
« Reply #40 on: August 15, 2021, 05:05:41 AM »
You say hdmi 2 is left of hdmi 1, but you also say screen 1 is right of screen 0?

Offline Rabie

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
Re: Pi 4 dual Monitor
« Reply #41 on: August 15, 2021, 05:09:10 AM »
You say hdmi 2 is left of hdmi 1, but you also say screen 1 is right of screen 0?

yes is't that the same ? even tho i tried to delete one of them, i am still getting a the same on both Screens

usually i would do that with xrandr but it's not working when fbturbo is loaded, is there someway to get xrandr work ?

Code: [Select]

Section "Device"
        Identifier      "HDMI-1"
        Driver          "fbturbo"
        Option          "fbdev" "/dev/fb0"
        Option          "SwapbuffersWait" "true"
EndSection

Section "Device"
        Identifier      "HDMI-2"
        Driver          "fbturbo"
        Option          "fbdev" "/dev/fb1"
        Option          "SwapbuffersWait" "true"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "HDMI-1"
    Option      "PreferredMode" "1920x1080"
    Option      "Primary" "true"
    Option      "Enable" "true"
    Option      "DPMS" "false"
#    Option      "Position" "0 0"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "HDMI-2"
    Option      "PreferredMode" "1280x1024"
    Option      "DPMS" "false"
    Option      "Enable" "true"
#    Option      "LeftOf" "HDMI1"
#    Option      "Position" "1280 1024"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier      "screen0"
        Device          "HDMI-1"
        Monitor         "HDMI-1"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier      "screen1"
        Device          "HDMI-2"
        Monitor         "HDMI-2"
EndSection

Section "ServerLayout"
        Identifier      "default"
        Screen          "screen0"
        Screen          "screen1" RightOf "screen0"
EndSection
« Last Edit: August 15, 2021, 05:11:18 AM by Rabie »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13997
Re: Pi 4 dual Monitor
« Reply #42 on: August 15, 2021, 05:20:01 AM »
I think the problem is that fbturbo is old and not maintained..

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13997
Re: Pi 4 dual Monitor
« Reply #43 on: August 15, 2021, 06:10:58 AM »
It's perhaps a long shot, but maybe wayland/weston might work better than x11?

A few hints here: http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,23269.msg150229.html

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10363
Re: Pi 4 dual Monitor
« Reply #44 on: August 15, 2021, 06:34:31 AM »
Hi Rabie
... Hier ist my xorg.conf:
Code: [Select]
----- Snip -----
Section "Monitor"
    Identifier  "HDMI-2"
    Option      "PreferredMode" "1280x1024"
    Option      "DPMS" "false"
    Option      "LeftOf" "HDMI1"
#    Option      "Position" "1280 1024"
EndSection
 ----- Snip -----

I think  HDMI1  is missing a dash,  HDMI-1.