WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: CORE64 won't run custom TCZ TC did for years  (Read 1494 times)

Offline grandma

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • Never forget Grandma Loves You & made that candy4U
    • Back when a 10MB HD was $500 bucks
CORE64 won't run custom TCZ TC did for years
« on: July 05, 2021, 08:59:21 PM »
CORE64 won't run custom TCZ TC did for years.

Not sure why. It's a C program - compiled with 32 bit (TC) then
in 64 bit (Core64) - squashed and appears in tce.installed but
does not run...it simply writes (creates) a 1 line script (SH)
into .X.d - nope - then I tried /tmp - nope
~ Luv Grandma
"When children of all nations
play in the sandbox together
all morning-all day-all week, and
one fine sunny day; all year long ...
... then war will become an ancient memory
and Grandma can knit that sweater
you'll hold near to your heart
until long after you're my age.

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10661
Re: CORE64 won't run custom TCZ TC did for years
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2021, 10:39:51 PM »
CorePure64 only supports 64-bit programs when dynamically linked. Compile your program natively so it will be 64-bit, or compile it statically on your 32-bit setup, as static binaries will run.

It's not clear what you mean by Core64 though, we use that for 32-bit userspace + 64-bit kernel, which would run your old tcz, so presumably you meant CorePure64.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline grandma

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • Never forget Grandma Loves You & made that candy4U
    • Back when a 10MB HD was $500 bucks
Re: CORE64 won't run custom TCZ TC did for years
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2021, 07:59:24 PM »
Thank you for the reply.

The original a TCC compiled 32 bit version:

a) was squashfs'd landing in /tmp/tcloop/dflboot/usr/local/tce.installed/dflboot

b) included are 2 SH scripts - the first one waits for /home/tc/.X.d to exist then copies the second one to /home/tc/.X.d which runs automatically and calls a startup.sh script - ran well for years. A 3 step dance that probably could be refined but if it works don't fix it.

When booting PureCore64 I tried compiling that same C program with TCC from the 32 bit environment - no luck - then I downloaded TCC tce-load -wi while running the 64 bit PureCore64 - and compiled it and tried that - no luck.

I am using the squashfs-4.x.tcz from old TC3x to pack it up. Perhaps that's an issue?

I also figured since I am playing with this...hey...why wait for .X.d - just wait for the readlink to produce a valid TCE folder and then run the script with the compiled C exe - but that code produced a NEVER BOOT result, so apparently if an onboot.lst extension has not exited TC says "I'll wait...& wait...& wait." which is mighty well-mannered, but I don't think the readlink /etc/sysconfig/tcedir ever returns.

So...I am currently hoping Rich can solve an issue - all Core64  versions are bombing - in wait for X - on this circa 2016 64 bit laptop - and when that is solved I'll go back to tinkering with the dflboot.c and related boot scripts....probably going back to the old method of using sh files instead of relying on the C program to do the legwork.





~ Luv Grandma
"When children of all nations
play in the sandbox together
all morning-all day-all week, and
one fine sunny day; all year long ...
... then war will become an ancient memory
and Grandma can knit that sweater
you'll hold near to your heart
until long after you're my age.

Offline grandma

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • Never forget Grandma Loves You & made that candy4U
    • Back when a 10MB HD was $500 bucks
Re: CORE64 won't run custom TCZ TC did for years
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2021, 09:55:02 PM »
I assume there is still no answer for this.

I explained the EXE was compiled while booted under Core64 using TCC obtained under Core64.

Perhaps I missed something.
~ Luv Grandma
"When children of all nations
play in the sandbox together
all morning-all day-all week, and
one fine sunny day; all year long ...
... then war will become an ancient memory
and Grandma can knit that sweater
you'll hold near to your heart
until long after you're my age.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13807
Re: CORE64 won't run custom TCZ TC did for years
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2021, 12:15:30 AM »
What does “ldd your_exe” give?

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10149
Re: CORE64 won't run custom TCZ TC did for years
« Reply #5 on: July 14, 2021, 07:42:06 AM »
Hi grandma
... b) included are 2 SH scripts - the first one waits for /home/tc/.X.d to exist then copies the second one to /home/tc/.X.d which runs automatically and calls a startup.sh script - ran well for years. A 3 step dance that probably could be refined but if it works don't fix it. ...
The reason you perform unnecessary steps like this is because you insist on circumventing the methods built into Tinycore.

A default install includes provisions to backup your  /home  and  /opt  directories when you shut down. It then restores
them when you restart your computer. There are 2 files to control what gets backed up:
/opt/.filetool.lst     This contains  Path  and  Path/Filename  of things you want backed up. Note, there is no leading  /  used.
/opt/.xfiletool.lst    This contains terms to to omit from the backup, like caches.

Because you include the  norestore  boot code in all of your boot loader entries, you have disabled this method.

The other method is to use a persistent  /home  directory.

Either method will preserve the  ~/.X.d  directory.


Quote
... So...I am currently hoping Rich can solve an issue - all Core64  versions are bombing - in wait for X ...
I addressed that:
... # However even 11X64 bombs to terminal - .xsession says "no screens" with both FLWM and JWM tested in onboot.lst (near the top).
That means X is not running. You need either  Xorg-7.7  or  Xfbdev.

Quote
# Linux version 4.19.10-tinycore64 (tc@box) (gcc version 8.2.0 (GCC)) #1999 SMP Tue Dec 18 15:18:54 UTC 2018
# Command line: tce=UUID="6B5E-E833"/tce10x64 quiet waitusb=10 norestore xvesa=1024x768x32 ...
There is no 64 bit xvesa. Xvesa can only run in a 32 bit environment.

Offline grandma

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
  • Never forget Grandma Loves You & made that candy4U
    • Back when a 10MB HD was $500 bucks
Re: CORE64 won't run custom TCZ TC did for years
« Reply #6 on: July 23, 2021, 10:17:54 AM »
Thank you gentlemen - will try both suggestions.

Not sure why...but couldn't find my posts here using SEARCH...but scanned and did.

9x is now semi-stable here - boots consistent - most media plays in Firefox and VLC - a pleasure after a decade in 3x.
~ Luv Grandma
"When children of all nations
play in the sandbox together
all morning-all day-all week, and
one fine sunny day; all year long ...
... then war will become an ancient memory
and Grandma can knit that sweater
you'll hold near to your heart
until long after you're my age.