WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Touchpad not working  (Read 4121 times)

Offline amuctued

Touchpad not working
« on: May 13, 2021, 11:27:28 AM »
Touchpad won't work with dcore out of the box. I also have other flavor linux where it works, so it shows it's a cypress something touchpad. Upon looking into further it seems like a driver named cyapatp is the key.

So I searched https://packages.debian.org for cyapatp and it finds it as cyapatp.ko which tells me it's a kernel module and it's missing in dcore. I'm a noob, do I have to recompile kernel or what are my options?
« Last Edit: May 13, 2021, 11:31:26 AM by amuctued »

Offline Jason W

• Administrator
Re: Touchpad not working
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2021, 03:24:37 PM »
Hi amuctued.  Does your touchpad work with Tinycore?  The dCore kernel is basically the Tinycore kernel with devtmpfs support added, all else is the same. 
« Last Edit: May 14, 2021, 03:31:11 PM by Jason W »

Offline amuctued

« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2021, 06:03:59 PM »
Jason W, I don't use tinycore but burned a tinycoreplus cd and was going to try it. However the pure tinycoreplus iso is mbr boot only, while the touchpad machine is efi only (it's a seabios'ed chromebook). I did try both stretch64 and buster64 plus images and both wouldn't see the touchpad. But because I want this to work and because you asked I'm going to put tinycore on the usb with efi and check. But I don't think it will be different

Offline amuctued

« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2021, 07:55:30 PM »
Uncovering some weird stuff. My usb has syslinux installed from dcore-stretch64.

Loading dcore-stretch64 doesn't like uuid in double parenthesis. If I have them then dcore-stretch64 does the waitusb thing. Removing parenthesis finds the drive and loads the system fast.

Core does not want to load from this syslinux period. Mbr hangs, efi reboots.

Corepure64 loads fine and likes parenthesis around the uuid value