WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: PiCore-12 64-bit kiosk mode Firefox  (Read 7899 times)

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11150
Re: PiCore-12 64-bit kiosk mode Firefox
« Reply #15 on: January 23, 2021, 07:33:50 AM »
Hi audiophilelistener
... At first I downloaded the files HideMouse.tcz, HideMouse.tcz.dep, and HideMouse.tcz.md5.txt from the v11.x repo, to see if they worked out of the box.
But they didn't. ...
Just like a program compiled for a 64 bit processor will not run on a 32 bit processor, a program compiled to run on an
X86 architecture will not run on an ARM architecture. :o

Quote
... Tar didn't make a HideMouse directory. But I could work around that, by making it myself and copying everything in there. ...
Thank you for reporting that. :) That wasn't an issue with tar. I forgot to include the path when I repacked the file. The
server has been updated with a corrected copy.

Offline audiophilelistener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: PiCore-12 64-bit kiosk mode Firefox
« Reply #16 on: January 23, 2021, 08:46:20 AM »
Hi Rich,
I'm learning.....  😎

Hi audiophilelistener
... Upon loading "HideMouse &", I got an error (see below)
After executing "startx" I still have a mousepointer visible.

Am I doing something wrong, or what? ...
Yes. You can't hide the cursor because it doesn't exist. You need to run  startx  first.

Create a file in ~/.X.d called  Hide  with the following contents:
Code: [Select]
HideMouse &
sleep 1
echo h > /tmp/HideMouse
Then run  startx  and see if the cursor is still visible.

YESSSS it works 😍

I've also come across this:
Code: (html5) [Select]
http://www.noah.org/wiki/cursor_disable_in_X11Have not tried it though

I saw something during installation of firefox....
It installed also one or more "wayland" things, which I found out, could be an alternative for Xorg
There are also wayland packages in the repo

According to this post
Code: (html5) [Select]
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1507832 I started firefox this way:

Code: [Select]
GDK_BACKEND=wayland firefox
It tries to start but comes with a Gtk-WARNING: "cannot open display"

Does it ring a bell?

I see this conversation:

Code: (html5) [Select]
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php?topic=24429.0
« Last Edit: January 23, 2021, 09:10:45 AM by audiophilelistener »

Offline audiophilelistener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: PiCore-12 64-bit kiosk mode Firefox
« Reply #17 on: January 23, 2021, 08:50:34 AM »
Using Xorg, is there a way to change the X-screen with the Tiny-Core logo?

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11150
Re: PiCore-12 64-bit kiosk mode Firefox
« Reply #18 on: January 23, 2021, 09:16:06 AM »
Hi audiophilelistener
... YESSSS it works ...
Good. Now you can submit it to the repository. One of the files created by the script should be  HideMouse-aarch64.tar.gz.bfe.
Attach it to a brief email that says:
Quote
Attached is the aarch64 version of HideMouse for TC12.
HideMouse-aarch64.tar.gz.bfe contains the extension and the source tarball.

The instructions for emailing the extension are here:
http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/doku.php?id=wiki:creating_extensions#submitting
Use the  tcesubmit  email address, not the  picoresubmit  address.

Quote
It tries to start but comes with a Gtk-WARNING: "cannot open display"

Does it ring a bell?
I'm afraid I know nothing about wayland. Sorry.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2022, 07:39:24 PM by Rich »

Offline audiophilelistener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: PiCore-12 64-bit kiosk mode Firefox
« Reply #19 on: January 23, 2021, 09:24:33 AM »
Hi audiophilelistener
... YESSSS it works ...
Good. Now you can submit it to the repository. One of the files created by the script should be  HideMouse-aarch64.tar.gz.bfe.
Attach it to a brief email that says:
Quote
Attached is the aarch64 version of HideMouse for TC12.
HideMouse-aarch64.tar.gz.bfe contains the extension and the source tarball.

The instructions for emailing the extension are here:
http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/doku.php?id=wiki:creating_extensions#submitting
Use the  tcesubmit  email address, not the  picoresubmit  address.

Quote
It tries to start but comes with a Gtk-WARNING: "cannot open display"

Does it ring a bell?
I'm afraid I know nothing about wayland. Sorry.

I will do that.
Is the hide-cursor-option a way to go?
And can I change the blue X desktop screen?
« Last Edit: October 27, 2022, 07:36:37 PM by Rich »

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11150
Re: PiCore-12 64-bit kiosk mode Firefox
« Reply #20 on: January 23, 2021, 09:31:17 AM »
Hi audiophilelistener
Using Xorg, is there a way to change the X-screen with the Tiny-Core logo?

... And can I change the blue X desktop screen?

Are you talking about replacing the black background or making it black?

Offline audiophilelistener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: PiCore-12 64-bit kiosk mode Firefox
« Reply #21 on: January 23, 2021, 09:46:48 AM »
Hi audiophilelistener
Using Xorg, is there a way to change the X-screen with the Tiny-Core logo?

... And can I change the blue X desktop screen?

Are you talking about replacing the black background or making it black?
the starting-screen is blue with a TC-logo. Making it black could be nice.

I also noticed the screen going to sleep after a while.
Can I prevent that?
« Last Edit: January 23, 2021, 09:48:59 AM by audiophilelistener »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14498
Re: PiCore-12 64-bit kiosk mode Firefox
« Reply #22 on: January 23, 2021, 09:49:34 AM »
I saw something during installation of firefox....
It installed also one or more "wayland" things, which I found out, could be an alternative for Xorg
There are also wayland packages in the repo

According to this post
Code: (html5) [Select]
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1507832 I started firefox this way:

Code: [Select]
GDK_BACKEND=wayland firefox
It tries to start but comes with a Gtk-WARNING: "cannot open display"

If you use firefox with x there is no need to set $GDK_BACKEND

If you use firefox with a wayland compositor (for example weston) then you need to set $GDK_BACKEND - basically it is passing instructions to gtk3 as to what kind of display to use - most other gtk3 apps are smart enough to figure this out for themselves..
« Last Edit: January 23, 2021, 09:51:12 AM by Juanito »

Offline audiophilelistener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: PiCore-12 64-bit kiosk mode Firefox
« Reply #23 on: January 23, 2021, 09:56:10 AM »
Hi Juanito,

I saw something during installation of firefox....
It installed also one or more "wayland" things, which I found out, could be an alternative for Xorg
There are also wayland packages in the repo

According to this post
Code: (html5) [Select]
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1507832 I started firefox this way:

Code: [Select]
GDK_BACKEND=wayland firefox
It tries to start but comes with a Gtk-WARNING: "cannot open display"

If you use firefox with x there is no need to set $GDK_BACKEND

If you use firefox with a wayland compositor (for example weston) then you need to set $GDK_BACKEND - basically it is passing instructions to gtk3 as to what kind of display to use - most other gtk3 apps are smart enough to figure this out for themselves..

Thx for your reply
Should I load weston.tcz? Would that be all?
Is that a better option (quicker) than Xorg?


Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11150
Re: PiCore-12 64-bit kiosk mode Firefox
« Reply #24 on: January 23, 2021, 10:07:50 AM »
Hi audiophilelistener
The logo is provided by  Xprogs.tcz  which you can't remove because  Xorg.tcz  depends on it.

Edit the  ~/.setbackground  file and change this:
Code: [Select]
hsetroot  -add "#0E5CA8" -add "#87C6C9" -gradient 0 -center /usr/local/share/pixmaps/logo.png
to this:
Code: [Select]
hsetroot  -solid "#000000"
Then run a backup and startx.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14498
Re: PiCore-12 64-bit kiosk mode Firefox
« Reply #25 on: January 23, 2021, 10:14:00 AM »
It would probably be easier to use x, but you could try weston - be sure to read the info file.

Offline audiophilelistener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: PiCore-12 64-bit kiosk mode Firefox
« Reply #26 on: January 23, 2021, 10:19:23 AM »
Hi Rich,

Hi audiophilelistener
The logo is provided by  Xprogs.tcz  which you can't remove because  Xorg.tcz  depends on it.

Edit the  ~/.setbackground  file and change this:
Code: [Select]
hsetroot  -add "#0E5CA8" -add "#87C6C9" -gradient 0 -center /usr/local/share/pixmaps/logo.png
to this:
Code: [Select]
hsetroot  -solid "#000000"
Then run a backup and startx.

I’ll try that tomorrow.
Thx, you’re a great help 🙏

Offline audiophilelistener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: PiCore-12 64-bit kiosk mode Firefox
« Reply #27 on: January 23, 2021, 10:22:02 AM »
It would probably be easier to use x, but you could try weston - be sure to read the info file.

Ok, thx 🙏

Offline audiophilelistener

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: PiCore-12 64-bit kiosk mode Firefox
« Reply #28 on: January 24, 2021, 06:24:47 AM »
Hi Rich,

Hi Rich,

Hi audiophilelistener
The logo is provided by  Xprogs.tcz  which you can't remove because  Xorg.tcz  depends on it.

Edit the  ~/.setbackground  file and change this:
Code: [Select]
hsetroot  -add "#0E5CA8" -add "#87C6C9" -gradient 0 -center /usr/local/share/pixmaps/logo.png
to this:
Code: [Select]
hsetroot  -solid "#000000"
Then run a backup and startx.

I’ll try that tomorrow.
Thx, you’re a great help 🙏

Quote
Now you can submit it to the repository. One of the files created by the script should be  HideMouse-aarch64.tar.gz.bfe.
Done that.

It worked!
I also found the command to keep the console screen on:
Code: [Select]
echo -e '\033[9;0]'Now I should put it in a script.
Can I add it in the HideMouse script?
« Last Edit: January 24, 2021, 06:44:22 AM by audiophilelistener »

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11150
Re: PiCore-12 64-bit kiosk mode Firefox
« Reply #29 on: January 24, 2021, 07:12:15 AM »
Hi audiophilelistener
... Can I add it in the HideMouse script?
Yes.

I just want to clarify something. The files in  ~/.X.d  are not scripts. They contain commands that get executed line by
line by  ~/.xsession.  A command can not be executed until the previous command returns control to  ~/.xsession.

Commands like  HideMouse  and  firefox  block and will not return control to  ~/.xsession  until they exit.
That is why you append an  &  to the end of the line. This starts the command and immediately returns control to  ~/.xsession.
Commands like  echo -e '\033[9;0]'  do not block and do not get an  &  appended to them.
Commands like  sleep 1  do block  because they are supposed to, and do not get an  &  appended to them.

So you could place all of your commands in one file something like this:
Code: [Select]
HideMouse &
sleep 1
echo h > /tmp/HideMouse
echo -e '\033[9;0]'
firefox --kiosk https://www.google.com &