WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Errors loading TC.tcz  (Read 3442 times)

Offline polikuo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
Errors loading TC.tcz
« on: January 07, 2021, 11:16:57 PM »
Hmm...I justed notice these "line 147" error messages when I load (see bottom of the code below)...is this a concern?

The loading order seems to be a bit off  :-\

Can someone have a look at the dependencies of TC.tcz ?

Xlibs should be loaded before flwm_topsides (As a dependence of Xorg)

Or perhaps the start-up scripts need some fixing...

    [EDIT]: This topic was split off from http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,24686.msg156779.html#msg156779.  Rich
« Last Edit: January 10, 2021, 07:00:57 AM by Rich »

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11213
Re: Errors loading TC.tcz
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2021, 08:09:17 AM »
Hi polikuo
The loading order should be OK. When euless ask about TC.tcz for aarch64 (which reply #13 suggested worked) I replied:
Hi euless
TC.tcz  is just a meta-extension. You can get the same result with:
Code: [Select]
tce-load -wi Xorg flwm_topside wbar aterm
startx

That is the same order that is listed here:
http://tinycorelinux.net/12.x/armv7/tcz/TC.tcz.dep

This is the line generating the error:
Code: [Select]
tc@E310:~$ sudo grep -n "desktop.sh" /usr/bin/*
/usr/bin/tce-load:133:                          [ -s /etc/sysconfig/desktop ] && desktop.sh "$APPNAME"
/usr/bin/tce-load:147:                                  [ -s /etc/sysconfig/desktop ] && desktop.sh "$APPNAME"
tc@E310:~$
That command should not execute as long as  /etc/sysconfig/desktop  is empty.
When  flwm_topside.tcz  gets loaded, it echos  "flwm_topside"  into that file. That's when the errors start.

The problem appears to be that  flwm_topside.tcz  is getting loaded before  Xorg.tcz  has finished loading, which should
not be possible.

Does PI do something like load multiple extensions in parallel to speed load time? That could create a race condition.

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11213
Re: Errors loading TC.tcz
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2021, 10:52:32 PM »
Hi euless
I think I figured out a fix. The current  /usr/local/tce.installed/flwm_topside  contains this:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
echo "flwm_topside" > /etc/sysconfig/desktop

Changing it to this should eliminate the errors you were seeing:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
WM="flwm_topside"
DESKTOP="/etc/sysconfig/desktop"
DESKTOPSH="/usr/local/bin/desktop.sh"
while true; do [ ! -e "$DESKTOPSH" ] && sleep 1 && continue; echo "$WM" > "$DESKTOP" && break; done &

Offline polikuo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
Re: Errors loading TC.tcz
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2021, 12:36:49 AM »
Hi polikuo
The loading order should be OK.

...

That is the same order that is listed here:
http://tinycorelinux.net/12.x/armv7/tcz/TC.tcz.dep

Hi Rich.

I agree that the dep file looks OK, but I still think the loading behavior is not.

Take a closer look at OP's post again. (#12)

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ tce-load  -i  TC
libXdmcp.tcz: OK
libXau.tcz: OK
libxcb.tcz: OK
libX11.tcz: OK
libXext.tcz: OK
libICE.tcz: OK
libSM.tcz: OK
aterm.tcz: OK
libjpeg-turbo.tcz: OK
liblzma.tcz: OK
libtiff.tcz: OK
libid3tag.tcz: OK
giflib.tcz: OK
bzip2-lib.tcz: OK
graphite2.tcz: OK
gcc_libs.tcz: OK
pcre.tcz: OK
libelf.tcz: OK
gamin.tcz: OK
glib2.tcz: OK
harfbuzz.tcz: OK
libpng.tcz: OK
freetype.tcz: OK
imlib2.tcz: OK
wbar.tcz: OK
libXfixes.tcz: OK
libXrender.tcz: OK
libXcursor.tcz: OK
expat2.tcz: OK
fontconfig.tcz: OK
libXft.tcz: OK
libXinerama.tcz: OK
fltk-1.3.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
flwm_topside.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
Xorg-fonts.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libxkbfile.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
xkbcomp.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
xkeyboard-config.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libudev.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libevdev.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
mtdev.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libinput.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
xf86-input-libinput.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
xf86-video-fbturbo.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libepoxy.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libfontenc.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libXfont2.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
pixman.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
ca-certificates.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
openssl.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libxshmfence.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libXxf86vm.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libXdamage.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libpciaccess.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libdrm.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
mesa.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
xorg-server.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libXt.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libXmu.tcz: OK
Xlibs.tcz: OK
Xprogs.tcz: OK
Xorg.tcz: OK
TC.tcz: OK

You can see that the order is in reverse.

I deliberately and manually load extensions in that order, and this is what I get:
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ tce-load -i aterm wbar flwm_topside Xorg
libICE.tcz: OK
libSM.tcz: OK
libXdmcp.tcz: OK
libXau.tcz: OK
libxcb.tcz: OK
libX11.tcz: OK
libXext.tcz: OK
aterm.tcz: OK
libpng.tcz: OK
libjpeg-turbo.tcz: OK
bzip2-lib.tcz: OK
graphite2.tcz: OK
gcc_libs.tcz: OK
pcre.tcz: OK
libelf.tcz: OK
gamin.tcz: OK
glib2.tcz: OK
harfbuzz.tcz: OK
freetype.tcz: OK
imlib2.tcz: OK
wbar.tcz: OK
fltk-1.3.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
flwm_topside.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
Xorg-fonts.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libxkbfile.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
xkbcomp.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
xkeyboard-config.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libudev.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libevdev.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
mtdev.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libinput.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
xf86-input-libinput.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
xf86-video-fbdev.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libepoxy.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libfontenc.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libXfont2.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
pixman.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libxshmfence.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
expat2.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libXxf86vm.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libXfixes.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libXdamage.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libpciaccess.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libdrm.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
mesa.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
xorg-server.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
imlib2-bin.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libXinerama.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libXt.tcz: OK
/usr/bin/tce-load: line 147: desktop.sh: not found
libXmu.tcz: OK
Xlibs.tcz: OK
Xprogs.tcz: OK
Xorg.tcz: OK

Looks convincing to me  ;)

Quote
Does PI do something like load multiple extensions in parallel to speed load time? That could create a race condition.

IIRC, there used to be 2 versions of tce-load on older release.

The new one is more error prone

I broke my pi(1) back then so I never know how it turns out to the one we have today.

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11213
Re: Errors loading TC.tcz
« Reply #4 on: January 09, 2021, 08:16:31 AM »
Hi polikuo
... You can see that the order is in reverse. ...
The start order is correct, the completion order is in reverse.
When tce-load loads an extension, it builds a dependency list that include indirect dependencies. If you look at the  .tree  files:
http://tinycorelinux.net/12.x/armv7/tcz/Xorg.tcz.tree
http://tinycorelinux.net/12.x/armv7/tcz/flwm_topside.tcz.tree
http://tinycorelinux.net/12.x/armv7/tcz/wbar.tcz.tree
http://tinycorelinux.net/12.x/armv7/tcz/aterm.tcz.tree

The completion order happens to match  .tree  size, shortest first, longest last. So building the  aterm  dependency list is
probably fastest.

I numbered and annotated the first part of the load results to indicate which extensions depended on each of them:
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ tce-load  -i  TC
1. libXdmcp.tcz: OK  ALL
2. libXau.tcz: OK    ALL
3. libxcb.tcz: OK    ALL
4. libX11.tcz: OK    ALL
5. libXext.tcz: OK   ALL
6. libICE.tcz: OK    Xorg
7. libSM.tcz: OK     Xorg aterm
8. aterm.tcz: OK
The first 5 entries are common to all of the extensions. Number 6 is unique to Xorg, so it's already loading. Number 7
could be from Xorg or aterm, no way to tell. Then number 8 is aterm finishing.

Quote
... I deliberately and manually load extensions in that order, and this is what I get: ...
Could I ask you to unpack your copy of  flwm_topside.tcz  and replace its  usr/local/tce.installed/flwm_topside  file with:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
WM="flwm_topside"
DESKTOP="/etc/sysconfig/desktop"
DESKTOPSH="/usr/local/bin/desktop.sh"
while true; do [ ! -e "$DESKTOPSH" ] && sleep 1 && continue; echo "$WM" > "$DESKTOP" && break; done &

Then see if you still get errors loading it that way.

Offline polikuo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
Re: Errors loading TC.tcz
« Reply #5 on: January 09, 2021, 11:35:20 PM »
Hi Rich.

This thread is getting longer and more off-topic.

Maybe we should start a new topic for the discussion.

Anyway~

Could I ask you to unpack your copy of  flwm_topside.tcz  and replace its  usr/local/tce.installed/flwm_topside  file with:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
WM="flwm_topside"
DESKTOP="/etc/sysconfig/desktop"
DESKTOPSH="/usr/local/bin/desktop.sh"
while true; do [ ! -e "$DESKTOPSH" ] && sleep 1 && continue; echo "$WM" > "$DESKTOP" && break; done &

Then see if you still get errors loading it that way.


Short answer, the errors are gone.

However, I'd rather fix the dep file so you don't have to modify every single window managers.

I did another test with dep before I hacked the extension, and it would solve the problem.

Simply put, reverse the order of the content in TC.tcz.dep
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ cat /mnt/mmcblk0p2/tce/optional/TC-reverse.tcz.dep
aterm.tcz
wbar.tcz
flwm_topside.tcz
Xorg.tcz
tc@box:~$ tce-load -i TC-reverse
Xorg-fonts.tcz: OK
libXdmcp.tcz: OK
libXau.tcz: OK
libxcb.tcz: OK
libX11.tcz: OK
libxkbfile.tcz: OK
xkbcomp.tcz: OK
xkeyboard-config.tcz: OK
gcc_libs.tcz: OK
bzip2-lib.tcz: OK
pcre.tcz: OK
libelf.tcz: OK
gamin.tcz: OK
glib2.tcz: OK
libudev.tcz: OK
libevdev.tcz: OK
mtdev.tcz: OK
libinput.tcz: OK
xf86-input-libinput.tcz: OK
xf86-video-fbdev.tcz: OK
libepoxy.tcz: OK
libfontenc.tcz: OK
graphite2.tcz: OK
harfbuzz.tcz: OK
libpng.tcz: OK
freetype.tcz: OK
libXfont2.tcz: OK
pixman.tcz: OK
libxshmfence.tcz: OK
expat2.tcz: OK
libXext.tcz: OK
libXxf86vm.tcz: OK
libXfixes.tcz: OK
libXdamage.tcz: OK
libpciaccess.tcz: OK
libdrm.tcz: OK
mesa.tcz: OK
xorg-server.tcz: OK
libjpeg-turbo.tcz: OK
imlib2.tcz: OK
imlib2-bin.tcz: OK
fltk-1.3.tcz: OK
libXinerama.tcz: OK
libSM.tcz: OK
libICE.tcz: OK
libXt.tcz: OK
libXmu.tcz: OK
Xlibs.tcz: OK
Xprogs.tcz: OK
Xorg.tcz: OK
flwm_topside.tcz: OK
wbar.tcz: OK
aterm.tcz: OK
TC-reverse.tcz: OK

The order is more favorable and you don't have to unpack the extension(s).

Offline euless

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Errors loading TC.tcz
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2021, 05:14:41 AM »
Hi euless
I think I figured out a fix. The current  /usr/local/tce.installed/flwm_topside  contains this:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
echo "flwm_topside" > /etc/sysconfig/desktop

Changing it to this should eliminate the errors you were seeing:
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh
WM="flwm_topside"
DESKTOP="/etc/sysconfig/desktop"
DESKTOPSH="/usr/local/bin/desktop.sh"
while true; do [ ! -e "$DESKTOPSH" ] && sleep 1 && continue; echo "$WM" > "$DESKTOP" && break; done &

ok, thanks, i will give it a try.

btw, on the aarch64,  i am seeing another strange message when I do ...
Code: [Select]
tce-load -i Xorg flwm_topside wbar aterm
but i cannot seem to capture the output onto a file to show y'all, even if i do this...
Code: [Select]
tce-load -wi Xorg flwm_topside wbar aterm 1> out.txt  2>&1
« Last Edit: January 10, 2021, 05:17:52 AM by euless »

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11213
Re: Errors loading TC.tcz
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2021, 07:09:34 AM »
Hi euless
... but i cannot seem to capture the output onto a file to show y'all, even if i do this...
Code: [Select]
tce-load -wi Xorg flwm_topside wbar aterm 1> out.txt  2>&1

Does it work if you do it like this:
Code: [Select]
rm -f out.txt
tce-load -wi Xorg flwm_topside wbar aterm >> out.txt  2>&1
« Last Edit: January 10, 2021, 07:11:07 AM by Rich »

Offline polikuo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
Re: Errors loading TC.tcz
« Reply #8 on: January 10, 2021, 07:17:33 AM »
but i cannot seem to capture the output onto a file to show y'all, even if i do this...
Code: [Select]
tce-load -wi Xorg flwm_topside wbar aterm 1> out.txt  2>&1

I would do
Code: [Select]
tce-load -i Xorg flwm_topside wbar aterm 2>&1 | tee out.txt
Or
Code: [Select]
tce-load -i Xorg flwm_topside wbar aterm &> out.txt
Note that "w" is not needed if you've already downloaded the extensions
« Last Edit: January 10, 2021, 07:20:48 AM by polikuo »

Offline euless

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Errors loading TC.tcz
« Reply #9 on: January 10, 2021, 08:09:25 AM »
Ok.  I noticed this strange message.  So, I am just reporting it.  It has no adverse affect so far (startx works just fine).  This has nothing to do with TC.tcz.

Here, I have a Raspi 4b-4gb, and running Picore-release-12.0-aarch64.

My command to load window manager...
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$   tce-load -i Xorg flwm_topside wbar aterm 1> out.txt  2>&1
I tried to redirect the strange message into a file with the above redirect, but it doesn't redirect the strange message. It only redirected the std-out.  The message still only print to my console screen.

This is the strange message on my console screen.  I have to manually type it out...
Code: [Select]
udevd[106]: unknown key 'RUN{program}' in /etc/udev/rules.d/90-libinput-fuzz-override.rules:20

udevd[106]: unknown key 'RUN{program}' in /etc/udev/rules.d/90-libinput-fuzz-override.rules:25

udevd[106]: unknown key 'RUN{program}' in /etc/udev/rules.d/90-libinput-fuzz-override.rules:20

udevd[106]: unknown key 'RUN{program}' in /etc/udev/rules.d/90-libinput-fuzz-override.rules:25

Content of out.txt...
Code: [Select]
Xorg-fonts.tcz: OK
libXdmcp.tcz: OK
libXau.tcz: OK
libxcb.tcz: OK
libX11.tcz: OK
libxkbfile.tcz: OK
xkbcomp.tcz: OK
xkeyboard-config.tcz: OK
gcc_libs.tcz: OK
bzip2-lib.tcz: OK
pcre.tcz: OK
libelf.tcz: OK
gamin.tcz: OK
glib2.tcz: OK
libudev.tcz: OK
libevdev.tcz: OK
mtdev.tcz: OK
libinput.tcz: OK
xf86-input-libinput.tcz: OK
xf86-video-fbdev.tcz: OK
libepoxy.tcz: OK
libfontenc.tcz: OK
graphite2.tcz: OK
harfbuzz.tcz: OK
libpng.tcz: OK
freetype.tcz: OK
libXfont2.tcz: OK
pixman.tcz: OK
ca-certificates.tcz: OK
openssl.tcz: OK
libxshmfence.tcz: OK
expat2.tcz: OK
libXext.tcz: OK
libXxf86vm.tcz: OK
libXfixes.tcz: OK
libXdamage.tcz: OK
libpciaccess.tcz: OK
libdrm.tcz: OK
mesa.tcz: OK
xorg-server.tcz: OK
libjpeg-turbo.tcz: OK
imlib2.tcz: OK
imlib2-bin.tcz: OK
fltk-1.3.tcz: OK
libXinerama.tcz: OK
libSM.tcz: OK
libICE.tcz: OK
libXt.tcz: OK
libXmu.tcz: OK
Xlibs.tcz: OK
Xprogs.tcz: OK
Xorg.tcz: OK
flwm_topside.tcz: OK
wbar.tcz: OK
aterm.tcz: OK
« Last Edit: January 10, 2021, 08:27:30 AM by euless »

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11213
Re: Errors loading TC.tcz
« Reply #10 on: January 10, 2021, 09:29:02 AM »
Hi Juanito
... This is the strange message on my console screen.  I have to manually type it out...
Code: [Select]
udevd[106]: unknown key 'RUN{program}' in /etc/udev/rules.d/90-libinput-fuzz-override.rules:20

udevd[106]: unknown key 'RUN{program}' in /etc/udev/rules.d/90-libinput-fuzz-override.rules:25

udevd[106]: unknown key 'RUN{program}' in /etc/udev/rules.d/90-libinput-fuzz-override.rules:20

udevd[106]: unknown key 'RUN{program}' in /etc/udev/rules.d/90-libinput-fuzz-override.rules:25
...

The issue shows up in 2 places in libinput.tcz:
Code: [Select]
tc@E310:~/libinput/aarch64$ sudo grep -Ri 'RUN{program}' squashfs-root/*
squashfs-root/usr/local/share/libinput/files/90-libinput-fuzz-override.rules:   RUN{program}+="libinput-fuzz-to-zero %S%p", \
squashfs-root/usr/local/share/libinput/files/90-libinput-fuzz-override.rules:   RUN{program}+="libinput-fuzz-to-zero %S%p", \
tc@E310:~/libinput/aarch64$
It shows up in the TC12 aarch64 version but not the armv6 or armv7 versions.

I fixed the same issue here a couple of months ago:
http://tinycorelinux.net/11.x/x86_64/tcz/elogind.tcz.info

The explanation for the change can be found here under  Rational:
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,24494.msg155328.html#msg155328

Would you like me to fix  http://tinycorelinux.net/12.x/aarch64/tcz/libinput.tcz ?

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14535
Re: Errors loading TC.tcz
« Reply #11 on: January 10, 2021, 09:37:49 AM »
Yes please 🙂

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11213
Re: Errors loading TC.tcz
« Reply #12 on: January 10, 2021, 09:48:47 AM »
Hi Juanito
Done. :)

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11213
Re: Errors loading TC.tcz
« Reply #13 on: January 10, 2021, 09:52:10 AM »
Hi euless
If you update your system, those errors should be gone:
Code: [Select]
tce-audit builddb
tce-audit updatedeps
tce-audit fetchmissing
tce-update

Then click the  Exit  icon and select reboot.