WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: does dcore use the same boot chain as tinycore  (Read 386 times)

Offline ulfr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
does dcore use the same boot chain as tinycore
« on: January 24, 2021, 09:10:59 PM »

    hi all

    since we must precede the boot codes in dcore with dc
    does dcore use tc-config as tinycore does
    or is there other boot config files used 

    thanks 

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9718
Re: does dcore use the same boot chain as tinycore
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2021, 04:25:10 AM »
Hi ulfr.  dCore does use /etc/init.d/tc-config, but it is modified somewhat in the ways it needs to be for dCore.   

Offline ulfr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
Re: does dcore use the same boot chain as tinycore
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2021, 07:19:09 AM »

    hi jason w

    thank you very much for your reply

    and thank you very much for dcore

    will read tc-config more carefully and see if i can figure it out   

    ulfr   

Online Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8803
Re: does dcore use the same boot chain as tinycore
« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2021, 08:23:58 AM »
Hi ulfr
    since we must precede the boot codes in dcore with dc
    does dcore use tc-config as tinycore does ...
I don't think that is handled by  tc-config.  Are you booting a CD? I seem to remember having to type in  tinycore  before
entering any boot codes back in TC3. Later it was shortened to  tc.  Now it's a choice of  core  or  plus.  Maybe it's compiled
into one of the isolinux boot loader files?

Offline ulfr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
Re: does dcore use the same boot chain as tinycore
« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2021, 09:33:09 AM »


     hi rich 

     the dc is read by the boot loader
     to deferentially load one of the sets of kernel and initrd
     otherwise it loads the default
     however i do not see any difference with the sets
     however if you do not put in the dc first when you enter the boot codes
     it will think you are trying to choose a set to load
     and say not found
     and not take the boot codes
     because dc is the first parameter 

     i am trying to follow the boot chain for dcore
     to learn how things works

    but i cannot find everything
    i see home
    but
    for example i do not see where the vga boot code
    is one of the choices in tc-config

    sometimes however things are hidden
    because they are in other scripts that are called by tc-config choices
 
    will keep trying

    ulfr

Online Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8803
Re: does dcore use the same boot chain as tinycore
« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2021, 11:36:25 AM »
Hi ulfr
...    for example i do not see where the vga boot code
    is one of the choices in tc-config ...
That's handled by the kernel:
https://mjmwired.net/kernel/Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt#4386


Offline ulfr

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
Re: does dcore use the same boot chain as tinycore
« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2021, 11:54:13 AM »
 

     hey thanks very much guys
     i really appreciate this
     following the boot chain is very useful to learn the system 
     but pretty difficult for a non guru

     ulfr