WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Gnome Desktop  (Read 8294 times)

Online Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13397
Re: Gnome Desktop
« Reply #15 on: June 10, 2019, 06:22:33 AM »
I don't understand how the command "su - tc" fails to a gui background screen if no gui is running?

In addition, networkmanager is a recursive dependency of gnome-session, so if gnome-session is loaded, then "sudo /usr/local/etc/init.d/networkmanager start" should work.

Rather than setting the various extensions "onboot" by using "tce-load -wi", I suggest you load them like this:
Code: [Select]
$ tce-load -i graphics-KERNEL Xorg-7.7-3d alsa-config gnome-session xdg-user-dirs
$ tce-status -i | grep networkmanager [to check if networkmanager is loaded]

Offline polikuo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 520
Re: Gnome Desktop
« Reply #16 on: November 04, 2020, 08:08:41 AM »
Hi, it looks like I have run into similar condition.

I'm using an old laptop ASUS A8JR.

I boot with bootcode
Code: [Select]
base norestore quiet multivt laptop lang='zh_TW.utf8'
Then, after booting
Code: [Select]
tce-setdrive
tce-load -i mylocale firmware-iwlwifi firmware-radeon graphics-KERNEL xdg-user-dirs gnome-session
xdg-user-dirs-update
sudo /usr/local/etc/init.d/dbus start
sudo /usr/local/etc/init.d/networkmanager start
sudo /usr/local/lib/elogind/elogind --daemon
su - tc
(Xorg-7.7-3d is a part of gnome-session's dependence)

It looks like the gnome-session is automatically started right after 'su - tc'

This gives me a blank default "core" background with nothing at all.
No cursor, no responses to clicks on the mouse.

If I type <Ctrl> + <Alt> + (<F1> ~ <F7>) randomly,
 sometimes a glitchy gnome environment may pop up,
 but still no control over anything. (see the photo in attachment)
The notification message says:
Code: [Select]
             Screen Lock disabled
Screen Locking requires the GNOME display manager

Note that I load the firmware-radeon because graphics-KERNEL is yelling for it.

BTW, this is what I got with "networkmanager start" before "elogind --daemon"
Code: [Select]
Starting Network Manager daemon...
ModemManager[23107]: <info> ModemManager (version 1.6.12) starting in system bus...
ModemManager[23107]: <info> Couldn't check support for device at '/sys/devices/pci:0000:00/0000:00:1c.0/0000:02:00.0': not supported by any plugin
ModemManager[23107]: <info> Couldn't check support for device at '/sys/devices/pci:0000:00/0000:00:1c.2/0000:03:00.0': not supported by any plugin

Offline jazzbiker

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 597
Re: Gnome Desktop
« Reply #17 on: November 04, 2020, 08:17:14 AM »
Hi, polikuo!

Do You login not as tc user name? But I don't see "noautologin" bootcode. Do You boot as "tc", then exit and login as another username? Otherwise what is the purpose of
Code: [Select]
su - tc?

Offline polikuo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 520
Re: Gnome Desktop
« Reply #18 on: November 04, 2020, 08:25:32 AM »
Hi, polikuo!

Do You login not as tc user name? But I don't see "noautologin" bootcode. Do You boot as "tc", then exit and login as another username? Otherwise what is the purpose of
Code: [Select]
su - tc?

No, I never add any other user.

The boot code is all there, plain and simple.

Load all the extensions I just downloaded.

Then type only the commands I mention above.

Online Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13397
Re: Gnome Desktop
« Reply #19 on: November 04, 2020, 08:36:23 AM »
After “su - tc” you should have to enter “gnome-session”, which will start a wayland session.

Does the wayland weston compositor work for you?

Offline polikuo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 520
Re: Gnome Desktop
« Reply #20 on: November 04, 2020, 09:05:25 AM »
After “su - tc” you should have to enter “gnome-session”, which will start a wayland session.

Does the wayland weston compositor work for you?

Yes, weston is working.

boot with base norestore
Code: [Select]
tce-load -i firmware-radeon graphics-KERNEL weston
XDG_RUNTIME_DIR=/run/user/$(id -u) weston-launch

Offline polikuo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 520
Re: Gnome Desktop
« Reply #21 on: November 05, 2020, 07:04:55 AM »
Hi, I'm retrying gnome-session with X11 mode.

I replace "wayland" with "X11" in /usr/local/bin/gnome-session like the info says.

Start the dbus, log out and log in to refresh variables

When the gnome starts, it says

Quote
Oh no! Something has gone wrong.
A problem has occured and the system can't recover. Please contact a system administrator

Is there any way to tell gnome to log the errors for troubleshooting ?


Update:

It looks like the string should be in lowercase: "x11"

Please update the info file.  :)

Still no wayland, though...

gnome-session x11 is running but glitchy like the photo I uploaded.

However, if I change the background to some other pics, some of them are fine.

Corrupt files ? but the {md5}s look fine
« Last Edit: November 05, 2020, 07:18:56 AM by polikuo »

Online Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13397
Re: Gnome Desktop
« Reply #22 on: November 05, 2020, 09:03:57 AM »
info file updated.

In an x11 session, you'll see a certain amount of error messages in /tmp/wm_errors - in a wayland session you'll see a certain amount of error messages on the console when you exit.

You can add "--debug" to the command line in /usr/local/bin/gnome-session, which gives a bunch of output in /tmp/wm_errors or on the console.

Edit: I'm posting this from a gnome wayland session using networkmanager to connect to wifi. I wonder if your error is graphics hardware related?
« Last Edit: November 05, 2020, 09:15:28 AM by Juanito »

Offline polikuo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 520
Re: Gnome Desktop
« Reply #23 on: November 05, 2020, 09:59:59 AM »
info file updated.

In an x11 session, you'll see a certain amount of error messages in /tmp/wm_errors - in a wayland session you'll see a certain amount of error messages on the console when you exit.

You can add "--debug" to the command line in /usr/local/bin/gnome-session, which gives a bunch of output in /tmp/wm_errors or on the console.

Edit: I'm posting this from a gnome wayland session using networkmanager to connect to wifi. I wonder if your error is graphics hardware related?

Results in system crash with no other mean than hard reset...

The keyboard wouldn't work, the cursor doesn't appear, no way to check /tmp/wm_errors

Offline polikuo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 520
Re: Gnome Desktop
« Reply #24 on: November 05, 2020, 10:08:38 AM »
OK, managed to save the file with some scripting

The message exceeds the maximum allowed length (20000 characters).

Online Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13397
Re: Gnome Desktop
« Reply #25 on: November 06, 2020, 01:03:42 AM »
I'd say the problem is here:
Code: [Select]
(gnome-shell:25677): mutter-WARNING **: 09:55:26.524: Failed to create backend: Could not get session ID: User 1001 has no sessions
gnome-session-binary[25610]: DEBUG(+): GsmAutostartApp: (pid:25677) done (status:1)
gnome-session-binary[25610]: WARNING: App 'org.gnome.Shell.desktop' exited with code 1

..which would seem to be a problem with elogind.

To simplify things, does this work from the console prompt:
Code: [Select]
$ tce-load -i graphics-KERNEL gnome-session xdg-user-dirs shadow [you may need to add something for your graphics hardware]
$ xdg-user-dirs-update [not strictly necessary, this should happen automatically]
$ sudo /usr/local/etc/init.d/dbus start
$ sudo /usr/local/lib/elogind/elogind --daemon
$ su - tc
$ gnome-session

on my laptop it takes several seconds for the wayland session to start

Offline polikuo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 520
Re: Gnome Desktop
« Reply #26 on: November 08, 2020, 07:35:30 PM »
Hi, I still can't get gnome working in wayland mode on my laptop.

Occasionally, I could see reports of missing libraries.
Code: [Select]
libwavpack.so
libmp3lame.so
libdv.so
libx265.so
libIlmImf-2_2.so
libopenal.so
libneon.so
libfdk-aac.so
libfaad.so
libfaac.so
libssh2.so
libass.so
libcdda_interface.so

These shared objects can be found in
Code: [Select]
wavpack.tcz
lame.tcz
libdv.tcz
x265.tcz
openexr.tcz
openal.tcz
neon.tcz
fdk-aac.tcz
faad.tcz
faac.tcz
libssh2.tcz
libass.tcz
cdparanoia.tcz

But even if I load these packages, gnome just wouldn't run.

Thought about the possibility of failing hardware, I borrowed a Ryzen 3 PC and started fresh on it.

This time the system freezes whenever the graphics-KERNEL loads.

I tried running gnome without graphics-KERNEL, still no luck.  :-\

Online Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 13397
Re: Gnome Desktop
« Reply #27 on: November 09, 2020, 12:59:03 AM »
Those extensions are optional deps of gst-plugins-* and should not influence gnome-session startup.

gnome-session will not run without 3d acceleration, so graphics-KERNEL is required.

You could try running /usr/local/lib/gnome-session/gnome-session-check-accelerated to see if that gives any clues.