WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Why doesn't pulseaudio work  (Read 340 times)

Offline neonix

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
Why doesn't pulseaudio work
« on: September 06, 2020, 04:17:58 AM »
Why pulseaudio extension doesn't work out of the box like alsa? I have to run it using terminal.

Offline ONE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Why doesn't pulseaudio work
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2020, 05:19:32 AM »
Why pulseaudio extension doesn't work out of the box like alsa? I have to run it using terminal.
What? Not at all. You just need to make sure you have alsa installed successfully.
Do you have to do what GNUser said to make Firefox or any other application sound?
« Last Edit: September 06, 2020, 05:22:52 AM by NONE »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12527
Re: Why doesn't pulseaudio work
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2020, 05:25:31 AM »
[split from solved topic]

Did you read the pulseaudio info file?

Offline Sashank999

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
Re: Why doesn't pulseaudio work
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2020, 06:30:39 AM »
Bro, pulseaudio is very easy to setup when you read the info file with care. You don't even have to deal with the complex process of setting up alsa. Can you please check if you have files named "pulseaudio" and "dbus" in /home/tc/.X.d ?
If they exist, please say their contents in your next post.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2020, 06:33:19 AM by Sashank999 »

Offline neonix

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
Re: Why doesn't pulseaudio work
« Reply #4 on: September 12, 2020, 08:25:56 AM »
OK. According to info file (in clean installation)
http://tinycorelinux.net/11.x/x86/tcz/pulseaudio.tcz.info
I have to run dbus
I have to exit to console
Back to startx
And then run pulseaudio -vv

Why this can't be done automatically?
« Last Edit: September 12, 2020, 08:32:29 AM by Rich »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12527
Re: Why doesn't pulseaudio work
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2020, 08:35:33 AM »
If you start the pavucontrol extension it will be done automatically

Offline Sashank999

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 372
Re: Why doesn't pulseaudio work
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2020, 08:34:45 PM »
Sometimes "pulseaudio -vv" gives error. We humans need to troubleshoot it as the PC cannot solve it automatically.

Offline neonix

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
Re: Why doesn't pulseaudio work
« Reply #7 on: September 13, 2020, 12:35:35 AM »
If you start the pavucontrol extension it will be done automatically

Is it possible to create metaextension like pulseaudio-all or pulseaudio-autostart or at least put this information to info file?

Offline ONE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Why doesn't pulseaudio work
« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2020, 12:58:22 AM »
Is it possible to create metaextension like pulseaudio-all or pulseaudio-autostart...
Sure, just to see if it's necessary. You can write a script, make it an extension, and add it to the onboot.lst But I think it is easier to use script in this case.