WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: [Solved] Unable to adjust window  (Read 268 times)

Offline ONE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
[Solved] Unable to adjust window
« on: September 05, 2020, 06:52:58 PM »
When the title bar is missing(For whatever reason), I cannot resize the window, move the window, or maximize the window, only minimize and close it.
I've tested it on Ubuntu and Mint, and there's no such problem.
« Last Edit: September 06, 2020, 06:02:13 AM by Rich »

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8149
Re: Unable to adjust window
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2020, 07:09:30 PM »
Hi NONE
Try hitting  Ctrl-Alt-M  once or twice.

Offline ONE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Unable to adjust window
« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2020, 08:38:27 PM »
Hi NONE
Try hitting  Ctrl-Alt-M  once or twice.
Yeah.using the shortcut "Ctrl + Alt + M" can maximizes and restores Windows.

But now most programs hide the system's default title bar and border, so you can't use the mouse to adjust the size of the window and drag the position of the window.However, most applications do not provide similar options to use the system's default title bar and border.

For Chrome browser or Google Chrome, the option "use system title bar and border" is provided to use the system's own title bar and border.

It seems that as long as the application does not use the title bar and border provided by the system, it can't operate on the window. What's the matter? What should be done?

I found only other distribution specific solutions on the Internet, which didn't seem to work for tinycore Linux.
« Last Edit: September 05, 2020, 08:45:31 PM by NONE »

aus9

  • Guest
Re: Unable to adjust window
« Reply #3 on: September 05, 2020, 11:18:45 PM »
then open Apps -> click Apps -> browse
now click the middle button and change search to tags
input window manager......will output mainly window managers.

The list may or may not be accurate as its up to the downstream maintainer to choose their tag values.
eg Gnome is generally regarded as a desktop environment but is tagged on TC64 as a window manager.

I quite like jwm for its smallness and what it achieves

2) DO NOT USE APPS TO CLICK GO WITH ONBOOT selected.
sorry for the shout. but you "should" have only one window manager in your boot list.

much safer is choose "download only"
then open a terminal and run
Code: [Select]
tce-load -i <name of new wm>
exittc
choose go to prompt
at prompt type
startx (and press enter)

it will load the last loaded desktop, which will be what ever you just loaded.
so you can try a million desktops out without reboot.

3) once you have decided to use a new window manager use apps to change your wm in the boot list please.
reboot and see if it all works for you.

Good luck
« Last Edit: September 05, 2020, 11:24:26 PM by aus9 »

Offline ONE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Unable to adjust window
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2020, 01:04:28 AM »
Good luck
Your reply are very detailed and very friendly to new users.
...
I find that all these problems are caused by "flwm" itself. :-\
« Last Edit: September 06, 2020, 01:10:30 AM by NONE »

Offline ONE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: Unable to adjust window
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2020, 01:09:03 AM »
@Rcih
please mark this post as resolved.(Remember to change "Message icon" to "Standard")