WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Electrum  (Read 3688 times)

Offline Nate_the_great

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Electrum
« on: August 23, 2020, 09:12:20 PM »
I'm running tinycore 5.4.3-tinycore 32 bit version

typed this into term:
Code: [Select]
git clone git://github.com/spesmilo/electrum.git
then installed with:
Code: [Select]
python3 -m -pip install --prefix /usr -e  /home/tc/downloads/electrum
that went ok i guess.

typed this into term:
Code: [Select]
cd electrum
./run_electrum

terminal returned this message:
Code: [Select]
no module named 'dns'   try 'sudo python3 -m pip install dnsso i tried it

terminal returned this message:
Code: [Select]
could not find a version that satisfies the requirement dns ( from versions:)
no matching distribution found for dns


I also tried downloading the tarball from electrum.org, extracting it then
Code: [Select]
./run_electrum from the root directory  (/home/tc/downloads/Electrum-4.0)
terminal returned this:
Code: [Select]
error: at least one of ('pycryptodomex', cryptography') needs to be installed
so i ran :
Code: [Select]
sudo python3 -m pip install cryptographywhich went fine untill it initalized gcc for the compiling  then it couldn't find python.h
Code: [Select]
compilation terminated
error; command 'gcc' failed with exit status 1
for this error message I think its looking for a file in the wrong place. since in runs automaticaly after i pass the command in the terminal, I'm not sure how to modify the process so it looks in the correct place for python.h.

 I had the same problem when compiling mutt from source but with that i was able to manually put in the arguments.
any suggestions would be helpful. thank you!


also am i correct in thinking that dcore may be more suited for my uses because i could use anything that is compiled for debian?? or am I way off base in my thinking??

lol one more question: how to use apt-get? as most things I am finding are mentioning this

thnx so much guys. I'm really trying to learn but coming from windows with no sys admin experince is tough. perhaps some day I wont be a lowly no0o0b!

    [EDIT]: Added code tags.  Rich
« Last Edit: August 24, 2020, 07:27:55 PM by Rich »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14516
Re: Electrum
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2020, 10:42:05 PM »
You're meant to compile electrum, no?

Code: [Select]
$ tce-load -i compiletc git python3.6-dev
$ git clone https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum
$ cd electrum
$ python3.6 setup.py build
$ sudo python3.6 setup.py install --root=/tmp/pkg

Offline Sashank999

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
Re: Electrum
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2020, 10:56:41 PM »
Please note that setup.py is like a key that fits many locks which are your questions.
According to setup.py, its requirements are
Code: [Select]
pyaes>=0.1a1
ecdsa>=0.14
qrcode
protobuf>=3.12
dnspython<2.0
qdarkstyle<2.9
aiorpcx>=0.18,<0.19
aiohttp>=3.3.0,<4.0.0
aiohttp_socks>=0.3
certifi
bitstring
attrs>=19.2.0
from https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/blob/master/contrib/requirements/requirements-hw.txt
and some extra requirements are
Code: [Select]
pyqt5
pycryptodomex>=3.7
pycryptodomex>=3.7
cryptography>=2.1
Cython>=0.27
trezor[hidapi]>=0.12.0
safet>=0.1.5
keepkey>=6.3.1
btchip-python>=0.1.30
ckcc-protocol>=0.7.7
bitbox02>=4.0.0
hidapi
from https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/blob/master/contrib/requirements/requirements.txt and setup.py .

You would need to create tczs for all of these(if they are not in repo) and then compile electrum.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2020, 11:03:38 PM by Sashank999 »

Offline Nate_the_great

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Electrum
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2020, 04:02:51 PM »
again I apologize for the formatting. i will use the recommendations from rich.
thank you all for your reply's. unfortunately I read rich's reply to my post about using mplayer for dvds AFTER i made this post. unless I am mistaken there is no way to edit a post after it is published. hopefully I didn't offened any one.
i will learn how to use the coding tags I promise

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11178
Re: Electrum
« Reply #4 on: August 24, 2020, 07:29:11 PM »
Hi Nate_the_great
No worries. :) Post fixed.

Offline Nate_the_great

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Electrum
« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2020, 11:21:05 PM »
You're meant to compile electrum, no?

Code: [Select]
$ tce-load -i compiletc git python3.6-dev
$ git clone https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum
$ cd electrum
$ python3.6 setup.py build
$ sudo python3.6 setup.py install --root=/tmp/pkg


ran what you suggested in the terminal.
this was the result



Code: [Select]
running intall_scripts
creating /tmp/pkg/usr/local/bin
copying build/scripts-3.6/electrum -> /tmp/pkg/usr/local/bin
changing mode of /tmp/pkg/usr/local/bin to 755

i then typed:
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~/electrum$ ./run_electrum
got the result
Code: [Select]
Error: No module named 'dns'. try 'sudo python3 -m pip install <module-name>

any help would be appreciated

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 14516
Re: Electrum
« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2020, 11:42:25 PM »
..so now you need to track down the dependencies one by one and build them  :(

Note also, that if you didn't create an electron extension from /tmp/pkg, you would have to cd to /tmp/pkg/usr/local/bin to run it.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2020, 12:19:30 AM by Juanito »

Offline Sashank999

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 388
Re: Electrum
« Reply #7 on: August 25, 2020, 04:57:16 AM »
As I previously mentioned, the python modules listed above should be packaged into tczs for electrum to run.

The method to do so is said by Juanito.

Offline denbkh

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Electrum
« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2021, 08:33:19 AM »
I was managed to run Electrum on Tiny Core linux. Hope this guide helps someone who want to run it.

1. Create new VM - for VMWare select IDE disks, not SCSI
2. Download the latest TinyCorePure64 iso image from http://tinycorelinux.net/ports.html
3. Run it and install to disk: launch Apps and install "tc-install-GUI" app (select "download + load"), click "Go", it adds new icon to the app bar below. Run it and install the system to disk.
4.1 Reboot and you will get the "failed in waitforX" error, fix it by installing Xorg-7.7
Code: [Select]
tce-load -wi Xorg-7.74.2 If you want VMware integration then install open-vm-tools-desktop
Code: [Select]
tce-load -wi open-vm-tools-desktop4.3 Reboot. GUI should work now.
5. Install additional packages
Code: [Select]
tce-load -wi libgpg-error bash coreutils fuse6. Add symlink for electrum
Code: [Select]
see code here -> https://pastebin.com/raw/T8xajq2N (I can't post this code here because it crashes the forum with Internal Server Error)
7. Download and chmod electrum:
Code: [Select]
wget https://download.electrum.org/4.0.9/electrum-4.0.9-x86_64.AppImage
chmod +x electrum-4.0.9-x86_64.AppImage
8. Go to "Control Panel", as "Action" select "Backup", click "Go"
9. Run electrum
Code: [Select]
./electrum-4.0.9-x86_64.AppImage
« Last Edit: February 04, 2021, 08:35:19 AM by denbkh »