WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: [Solved] Is Control Panel -> Testing Network GUI useful or not?  (Read 249 times)

Offline aus9

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Earlier I had a network problem. When I got around to looking,
Code: [Select]
sudo ifconfig eth0 looked good but my browser could not reach sites
Code: [Select]
ping 8.8.8.8 failed.
I won't mention I tried wicd as few people use it so full reboot

I can not remember what I saw in the past but clicking control panel -> network brings up a GUI
right now I have the net back.

But the GUI values read
Interface=eth0
Use DHCP broadcast no
ip address  blank
Network mask 255.255.255.0
Broadcast blank
Gateway blank
Nameservers  = 8.8.8.8
(I changed this from blank)

 
Code: [Select]
cat /etc/resolv.conf
nameserver 8.8.8.8
Looks good

But why are the other values blank?

« Last Edit: August 05, 2020, 06:50:30 AM by Rich »

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8113
Re: Is Control Panel -> Testing Network GUI useful or not?
« Reply #1 on: August 04, 2020, 04:55:44 AM »
Hi aus9
That GUI is for manually setting up a wired connection. Use  wifi.tcz  if you have a wireless connection.

Offline aus9

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Re: Is Control Panel -> Testing Network GUI useful or not?
« Reply #2 on: August 04, 2020, 07:25:17 PM »
Rich

thanks for replying.

As I am normally on a tower that uses ethernet I guess the core scripts generally work.

I have just adjusted that GUI based on the output of ifconfig and some settings in my router, with more details.
so that I now have a working eth0 with
Code: [Select]
cat /etc/resolv.conf
nameserver 192.168.1.1

Additional question please....where is this new ethernet config file being saved in case I wish to add to my backup please?
« Last Edit: August 04, 2020, 07:27:00 PM by aus9 »

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8113
Re: Is Control Panel -> Testing Network GUI useful or not?
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2020, 05:03:01 AM »
Hi aus9
It's not a config file, it's a script created by that app. Just add:
Code: [Select]
/opt/eth0.shto your  bootlocal.sh  file to have it setup your network card on startup.

Offline aus9

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
Re: Is Control Panel -> Testing Network GUI useful or not?
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2020, 06:35:17 AM »
Ok played with the settings a little. checked the contents of  that opt file. File now in my backup.

Rich
Please mark as solved.

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8113
Re: [Solved] Is Control Panel -> Testing Network GUI useful or not?
« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2020, 06:51:10 AM »
Hi aus9
Marked. :)