WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: [Solved] display up-shift after installing graphics-4.14.10  (Read 1016 times)

Offline ltrk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Hi,
I installed graphics-4.14.10 as part of audio fix for my lapt op. (Recommended by Jaunito) Now the display shifts up by about an inch and and so the top of wimdow is not visible and i have to pull the window down.
A the bottom there is a 1 inch black area.
I uninstalled graphics and all is ok but then audio is not clear so I had to re-install graphics back.
« Last Edit: October 31, 2020, 05:28:15 AM by Rich »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12642
Re: display up-shift after installing graphics-4.14.10
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2020, 05:41:26 AM »
So you're using CorePlus-9.x?

Which xserver are you using - Xvesa, Xfbdev or Xorg-7.7?

Offline ltrk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: display up-shift after installing graphics-4.14.10
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2020, 06:46:28 PM »
Sorry for the delayed response

Yes, I am using 9.x and XVesa (based on /etc/sysconfig/Xserver setting)

Offline PDP-8

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 709
Re: display up-shift after installing graphics-4.14.10
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2020, 03:57:40 PM »
Hacker solution:

Until you find the exact cause of the problem, consider using an audio<>usb dongle in the meantime if you are totally in love with the laptop.  Earbud use obviously.

Likewise things like wi-fi.  If that doesn't work, in the meantime, you can run supported dongles.  There are many, I use Panda personally, but there are plenty that run fine.

Depending on the age of your machine, these dongles might represent an "upgrade" in quality, and sometimes in the case of wifi - more modern security standards.
That's a UNIX book! - cool  -- Garth

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8428
Re: display up-shift after installing graphics-4.14.10
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2020, 06:37:35 PM »
Hi ltrk
I don't think you are supposed to use graphics-4.14.10 with Xvesa. I think it's intended for Xorg.

Offline PDP-8

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 709
Re: display up-shift after installing graphics-4.14.10
« Reply #5 on: August 10, 2020, 04:50:21 AM »
I just ran into this myself with TC 7.2 on my Chromebox!

Even though I didn't need graphics-<kernel> since I'm running xvesa, I did it anyway, and ended up EXACTLY like you did.

Since you need graphics loaded to get your audio working, I have a solution that I discovered:

Add this to your kernel cheatcode at boot, or permanently into your extlinux.conf at the end of the APPEND line:

Code: [Select]
nomodeset
Apparently, due to KMS, various cards will boot to max resolution when graphics-<kernel> is loaded.  Usually reserved for xorg like Rich points out.  But when WE do it, typically using Xvesa, blammo - funky screen.  Mine was exactly like yours.

So my recommendation is to boot without graphics in your onboot.lst, make the edit to extlinux.conf to add nomodeset, add graphics back (use the APP or manually put it in there) and reboot.

But this is just because even though running xvesa, you need it to get audio working right.

What I *suspect* is this:  Since graphics-<kernel> is a dependency of the I2C tcz, it might be that to get audio working is to load only the i2C tcz itself and give it a try.  Obviously, since you aren't loading graphics, you won't need the -nomodeset- cheat code.

The guys who are more into hardware than I can comment about only loading the i2C extension by itself instead of the sledgehammer approach of using graphics for a non-xorg setup. :)

Thanks for bringing this up!
That's a UNIX book! - cool  -- Garth

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8428
Re: display up-shift after installing graphics-4.14.10
« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2020, 06:21:07 AM »
Hi PDP-8
...  Since graphics-<kernel> is a dependency of the I2C tcz, ...
That sounds backwards. I believe  I2C  should be a dependency of  graphics.

These are the  .dep  files that list  graphics-KERNEL  in TC7 andTC9:
Code: [Select]
7.x/x86_64/tcz/original-modules-4.2.9-tinycore64.tcz.dep
7.x/x86_64/tcz/xf86-video-intel.tcz.dep
7.x/x86/tcz/nvidia-304.131-4.2.9-tinycore.tcz.dep
7.x/x86/tcz/nvidia-340.96-4.2.9-tinycore.tcz.dep
7.x/x86/tcz/nvidia-352.63-4.2.9-tinycore.tcz.dep
7.x/x86/tcz/open-vm-tools-desktop.tcz.dep
7.x/x86/tcz/original-modules-4.2.7-tinycore64.tcz.dep
7.x/x86/tcz/original-modules-4.2.7-tinycore.tcz.dep
7.x/x86/tcz/original-modules-4.2.9-tinycore64.tcz.dep
7.x/x86/tcz/original-modules-4.2.9-tinycore.tcz.dep
7.x/x86/tcz/virtualbox-ose-additions-modules-4.2.9-tinycore.tcz.dep
7.x/x86/tcz/xf86-video-intel-i810.tcz.dep
7.x/x86/tcz/xf86-video-intel.tcz.dep

9.x/x86_64/tcz/nvidia-390.87-4.14.10-tinycore64.tcz.dep
9.x/x86_64/tcz/nvidia-410.73-4.14.10-tinycore64.tcz.dep
9.x/x86_64/tcz/open-vm-tools-desktop.tcz.dep
9.x/x86_64/tcz/original-modules-4.14.10-tinycore6464.tcz.dep
9.x/x86_64/tcz/weston.tcz.dep
9.x/x86_64/tcz/xf86-video-intel.tcz.dep
9.x/x86_64/tcz/xfwm4.tcz.dep
9.x/x86/tcz/nvidia-390.77-4.14.10-tinycore.tcz.dep
9.x/x86/tcz/open-vm-tools-desktop.tcz.dep
9.x/x86/tcz/original-modules-4.14.10-tinycore6464.tcz.dep
9.x/x86/tcz/original-modules-4.14.10-tinycore.tcz.dep
9.x/x86/tcz/xf86-video-intel.tcz.dep
I don't see  I2C  or  alsa  anywhere in that list.

Maybe run this to see which of your local  .dep  files is pulling in  graphics-KERNEL:
Code: [Select]
grep -l 'graphics-' /etc/sysconfig/tcedir/optional/*.dep

Offline PDP-8

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 709
Re: display up-shift after installing graphics-4.14.10
« Reply #7 on: August 10, 2020, 02:56:28 PM »
Thanks Rich - I'll check that out next time i'm near the machine in a few hours.

I used the Apps utility and when I highlighted graphics-4.2.9, I looked under the dependencies tab, and saw the i2c for 4.2.7 as going to get pulled in also.  (why it didn't match the kernel version I don't know.)

My limited knowledge was making me think that i2c was needed to support some hardware power switches to his audio chip, rather than being involved with the audio stream itself.

I'll check what you suggested to learn more about my own system in a few hours...
That's a UNIX book! - cool  -- Garth

Offline PDP-8

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 709
Re: display up-shift after installing graphics-4.14.10
« Reply #8 on: August 10, 2020, 03:58:28 PM »
erm, guess no work for me today, so back to TC ..

Rich - I grepped the deps, and nothing is shown, so sure enough graphics-4.2.9 is not needed in my situation.

I had a feeling that using nomodeset was putting a band-aid on a self-inflicted wound! :)

So I won't be using it, but I did find some things with 32-bit TC 7.2:

Cosmetic Only:  When using the Apps utility, and browsing for graphics-4.2.9, the depends tab shows this it will also pull down i2c-4.2.7, a mismatch.

However in reality, when trying to install graphics-4.2.9, it will in fact pull down the matching i2c-4.2.9.

Ok, no biggie.

Hrmm..  so makes me wonder if / when a user might benefit from say manually downloading and installing i2C-<kernel> as a stand alone, and how to determine if that is beneficial, rather than just winging it and dumping it in blindly and seeing what happens.  (no, that's not me!) :)
That's a UNIX book! - cool  -- Garth

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8428
Re: display up-shift after installing graphics-4.14.10
« Reply #9 on: August 10, 2020, 09:38:37 PM »
Hi PDP-8
... Cosmetic Only:  When using the Apps utility, and browsing for graphics-4.2.9, the depends tab shows this it will also pull down i2c-4.2.7, a mismatch. ...
The  .dep  file probably lists  i2c-4.2.7-tinycore.tcz  instead of  i2c-KERNEL.tcz.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12642
Re: display up-shift after installing graphics-4.14.10
« Reply #10 on: August 10, 2020, 10:03:54 PM »
It's the result of the way the *tree file is made.

Offline ltrk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: display up-shift after installing graphics-4.14.10
« Reply #11 on: October 08, 2020, 10:54:32 PM »
@Rich-xorg works but with a  new problem I will describe below. But Thanks! its a big step forward since its now a working solution
@PDP-6 So I guess i2c is not relevant. I am right now just running with xorg.

Ok now for the new problem:
Xorg starts with a high resolution that makes the text too small. I could not figure how to change system font size so I just lowered the resolution using xrandr.
Now the core icon that was initially at the center of the screen is shifted right and down. Apps start with their windows at the edges and even very small as you can see with this screenshot attached.
For some reason apps dont seem to see the screen size correctly -thats my guess.
Also, clipboard is not working. Not sure if i need to set that up on Xorg. It was running fine on xvesa.
p.s:Rich, if u want me to post these new problems as a separate topic, please let me know

Offline ltrk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: display up-shift after installing graphics-4.14.10
« Reply #12 on: October 31, 2020, 01:55:20 AM »
Rich, please mark this as solved. i have posted a new question about the display offset etc.

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8428
Re: [Solved] display up-shift after installing graphics-4.14.10
« Reply #13 on: October 31, 2020, 05:28:42 AM »
Hi ltrk
Done.