WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: display up-shift after installing graphics-4.14.10  (Read 224 times)

Offline ltrk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
display up-shift after installing graphics-4.14.10
« on: July 09, 2020, 05:36:45 AM »
Hi,
I installed graphics-4.14.10 as part of audio fix for my lapt op. (Recommended by Jaunito) Now the display shifts up by about an inch and and so the top of wimdow is not visible and i have to pull the window down.
A the bottom there is a 1 inch black area.
I uninstalled graphics and all is ok but then audio is not clear so I had to re-install graphics back.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12236
Re: display up-shift after installing graphics-4.14.10
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2020, 05:41:26 AM »
So you're using CorePlus-9.x?

Which xserver are you using - Xvesa, Xfbdev or Xorg-7.7?

Offline ltrk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: display up-shift after installing graphics-4.14.10
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2020, 06:46:28 PM »
Sorry for the delayed response

Yes, I am using 9.x and XVesa (based on /etc/sysconfig/Xserver setting)

Offline PDP-8

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 665
Re: display up-shift after installing graphics-4.14.10
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2020, 03:57:40 PM »
Hacker solution:

Until you find the exact cause of the problem, consider using an audio<>usb dongle in the meantime if you are totally in love with the laptop.  Earbud use obviously.

Likewise things like wi-fi.  If that doesn't work, in the meantime, you can run supported dongles.  There are many, I use Panda personally, but there are plenty that run fine.

Depending on the age of your machine, these dongles might represent an "upgrade" in quality, and sometimes in the case of wifi - more modern security standards.
That's a UNIX book! - cool  -- Garth

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7927
Re: display up-shift after installing graphics-4.14.10
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2020, 06:37:35 PM »
Hi ltrk
I don't think you are supposed to use graphics-4.14.10 with Xvesa. I think it's intended for Xorg.