WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: [Solved] How to remove wbar ?  (Read 364 times)

Offline LZ_89

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: How to remove wbar ?
« Reply #15 on: July 09, 2020, 12:47:08 AM »
How do I do that?

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10239
Re: How to remove wbar ?
« Reply #16 on: July 09, 2020, 01:18:50 AM »
It sounds like you didn't remove the CD from the VM after installing. You're still booting from the CD.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline xor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 668
Re: How to remove wbar ?
« Reply #17 on: July 09, 2020, 01:20:15 AM »
32-bit
http://tinycorelinux.net/11.x/x86/release/Core-11.1.iso

64-bit
http://tinycorelinux.net/11.x/x86_64/release/CorePure64-11.1.iso


this is according to my own video card hardware

tc@box:~$ tce-load -wi Xorg-7.7-3d firmware-radeon xf86-video-ati alsa-config pavucontrol htop windowmaker windowshot ezremaster xfe aterm

tc@box:~$ startx

Make the final shape iso file with ezremaster.


How do I do that?
« Last Edit: July 09, 2020, 01:26:58 AM by xor »

Offline LZ_89

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: How to remove wbar ?
« Reply #18 on: July 09, 2020, 01:51:07 AM »
It sounds like you didn't remove the CD from the VM after installing. You're still booting from the CD.
I totally forgot about that! Thank you.

Offline LZ_89

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: How to remove wbar ?
« Reply #19 on: July 09, 2020, 02:06:39 AM »
32-bit
http://tinycorelinux.net/11.x/x86/release/Core-11.1.iso

64-bit
http://tinycorelinux.net/11.x/x86_64/release/CorePure64-11.1.iso


this is according to my own video card hardware

tc@box:~$ tce-load -wi Xorg-7.7-3d firmware-radeon xf86-video-ati alsa-config pavucontrol htop windowmaker windowshot ezremaster xfe aterm

tc@box:~$ startx

Make the final shape iso file with ezremaster.


How do I do that?
How do I find the right hardware info for my video card? I am using an Nvidia GTX 1070ti.
« Last Edit: July 09, 2020, 02:11:53 AM by LZ_89 »

Online Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12235
Re: How to remove wbar ?
« Reply #20 on: July 09, 2020, 02:16:00 AM »
..but you're running tinycore in a vm  :o

Offline LZ_89

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: How to remove wbar ?
« Reply #21 on: July 09, 2020, 02:26:49 AM »
I'm just trying to understand how to follow XOR's instructions. The example given is with their own hardware, so I'm interpreting that the firmware part of the command for me will be different. Maybe I'm wrong. I'm trying.

Offline Sashank999

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
Re: How to remove wbar ?
« Reply #22 on: July 09, 2020, 02:38:57 AM »
Hi LZ_89,

I think your video tcz is firmware-nvidia.tcz.

I also recommend downloading firmware-video.tcz, xf86-video-nv.tcz, xf86-video-nouveau.tcz and xf86-video-vmware.tcz.

Offline LZ_89

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: How to remove wbar ?
« Reply #23 on: July 09, 2020, 02:49:13 AM »
Thank you so much! That was really helpful! :)

Offline Sashank999

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
Re: How to remove wbar ?
« Reply #24 on: July 09, 2020, 02:52:40 AM »
Hi LZ_89,

Is your problem solved ? Are you able to remove the wbar without further errors ?
« Last Edit: July 09, 2020, 02:57:31 AM by Sashank999 »

Offline LZ_89

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: How to remove wbar ?
« Reply #25 on: July 09, 2020, 03:26:56 AM »
Yes I was able to solve it. I had forgotten to remove the CD from the VM. When I did, wbar and its files were gone. As for the programs you listed, it works. I didn't realize that I would be booting into Window Maker and have to build most everything from there. It'll take me awhile looking up guides and tinkering with it to set up tinycore. Thank you again.

Offline Sashank999

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 280
Re: How to remove wbar ?
« Reply #26 on: July 09, 2020, 03:29:58 AM »
Hi LZ_89,

If your problem is solved, ask Rich to mark this topic as solved.

Offline LZ_89

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: How to remove wbar ?
« Reply #27 on: July 09, 2020, 03:51:42 AM »
Hi LZ_89
Welcome to the forum. Is it possible what you are seeing is provided by  icewm  and not  wbar.tcz? If so, you may have to search
for information on how to configure  icewm.

I have found the solution to my problem. You can mark this as solved. Thank you.

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7927
Re: [Solved] How to remove wbar ?
« Reply #28 on: July 09, 2020, 04:09:16 AM »
Hi LZ_89
... You can mark this as solved. Thank you.
Done. :)

Offline xor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 668
Re: How to remove wbar ?
« Reply #29 on: July 09, 2020, 04:35:10 AM »
window maker is good.
it contains a lot of facilitating options and functions on the desktop.
I have repeatedly suggested adding it to the standard distribution.
I hope the team will consider this suggestion.

There are certain basic standards of simplicity and simplicity at a point where a highly complex systematic such as desktop will be organized.

In this respect, the window maker distinguishes itself very well from the others.

Yes I was able to solve it. I had forgotten to remove the CD from the VM. When I did, wbar and its files were gone. As for the programs you listed, it works. I didn't realize that I would be booting into Window Maker and have to build most everything from there. It'll take me awhile looking up guides and tinkering with it to set up tinycore. Thank you again.
« Last Edit: July 09, 2020, 04:38:33 AM by xor »