WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: alsa no sound on some machines  (Read 178 times)

Offline pragmasaurus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
alsa no sound on some machines
« on: June 29, 2020, 08:41:04 AM »
Hello,

So I'm a complete newbie when it comes to Tiny Core but I'm here because I'm using someone else's project (Dosbox Distro, a portable USB implementation of dosbox that uses tiny core) and it works great on most machines but I've come across a few where sound doesn't work. I did some digging around and here's the output of aplay -l for a machine where the sound works vs. one where the sound doesn't work:

Sound works:
Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC887-VD Analog [ALC887-VD Analog]
   Subdevices: 0/1
   Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 1: ALC887-VD Digital [ALC887-VD Digital]
   Subdevices: 1/1
   Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

Sound doesn't work:
Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: CX20641 Analog [CX20641 Analog]
   Subdevices: 0/1
   Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
   Subdevices: 1/1
   Subdevice #0: subdevice #0

It looks like the machine where the sound doesn't work is missing a digital subdevice and instead has an HDMI device. Is this the cause of the problem, and how can I fix it?

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10220
Re: alsa no sound on some machines
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2020, 09:52:21 AM »
The digital device would only matter if you used digital audio cables (toslink, etc). The analog device was detected, so it could be something wrong in the volumes, or a bug in the sound driver. You can check the former with alsamixer or other volume setting tool, and for the latter you could try different TC versions.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline aus9

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 122
Re: alsa no sound on some machines
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2020, 07:09:37 PM »
In addition to curaga request....can I ask you to show the results for not-working-Conexant-device
Code: [Select]
lsmod | grep snd
what I am hoping is that you might see a list that includes
snd_hda_intel and a bunch of others but we need a codec too hopefully called...snd_hda_codec_conexant

also when was the last time you had sound working from this device?
Does it work with Windows? What is its sound device name called in Windows
Alternatively, in case this is a Dell etc....what is the make and model of your not working sound hardware machine please?

Online Sashank999

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
Re: alsa no sound on some machines
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2020, 08:09:28 PM »
This is based on my experience.
How are you testing audio ? Are you playing some music ? Or are you using some web browser (youtube, spotify, etc.) ?
If you are using a music player, I recommend xmms. I also recommend to install pavucontrol.
In pavucontrol, the sound of speakers is muted by default(happened for me, for you too maybe). Go to "Output Devices" in pavucontrol and unmute it. Some times, sound of the music player may be muted too. Try unmuting them.

If you use a web browser for testing, some sites are blocked from playing audio (happened for me, took 1 hour to figure out). Check the options and unblock it.

Offline marcelocripe

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
Re: alsa no sound on some machines
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2020, 07:34:27 AM »
pragmasaurus,

I went through some difficulties to make the audio work, please check the link: http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,23705.0.html if the step-by-step steps I've taken are for you.

All the guidance and tips I received from colleagues on this forum I always answer by exemplifying the step by step I performed in each test. I know that by explaining the step by step and with details of information, everyone who has a minimum of computer knowledge can do any job.

If your language is not English, I recommend that you give preference to translating the text I wrote in Portuguese into your language, I have no idea of the level of understanding of the texts translated by Google.

thankful
marcelocripe

Original text in Portuguese, translated into English by Google Translate

---------------

pragmasaurus,

Eu passei por algumas dificuldades para fazer o áudio funcionar, por favor verifica no link: http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,23705.0.html se os passos a passos que eu realizei servem para você.

Todas as orientações e dicas que eu recebi dos colegas deste fórum eu sempre respondo exemplificando o passo a passo que eu realizei em cada teste. Eu sei que explicando o passo a passo e com detalhes de informações todos que possuem um mínimo de conhecimento em informática conseguem realizar qualquer trabalho. 

Caso o seu idioma não seja o inglês, recomendo que você dê preferência em traduzir o texto que eu escrevi em português para o seu idioma, eu não tenho ideia do nível de compreensão dos textos traduzidos pelo Google.

Grato
marcelocripe

Texto original em português, traduzido para inglês por Google Tradutor

Offline pragmasaurus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: alsa no sound on some machines
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2020, 06:54:38 AM »
The digital device would only matter if you used digital audio cables (toslink, etc). The analog device was detected, so it could be something wrong in the volumes, or a bug in the sound driver. You can check the former with alsamixer or other volume setting tool, and for the latter you could try different TC versions.

Thanks, I'll check the mixer levels next time I have access to the machine that it doesn't work on. Different TC versions isn't really an option for me since this is a premade project made by someone else and I don't have the expertise to build it back up from scratch.

How are you testing audio ? Are you playing some music ? Or are you using some web browser (youtube, spotify, etc.) ?
I'm running Dosbox, a DOS emulator. The sound works on my own machine so I'm not worried about the source being the problem.

can I ask you to show the results for not-working-Conexant-device
Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
lsmod | grep snd
also when was the last time you had sound working from this device?
Does it work with Windows? What is its sound device name called in Windows
Alternatively, in case this is a Dell etc....what is the make and model of your not working sound hardware machine please?
The sound was working in Windows before and after booting into TC. I'm not sure what the make and model of the PC was but I think it was a Dell. Are there special considerations for certain models?

Here's the output of lsmod:
Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
snd_hda_codec_hdmi         28672     1
snd_hda_codec_conexant     12288     1
snd_hda_codec_generic      40960     1     snd_hda_codec_conexant
snd_hda_intel              24576     3
snd_hda_codec              57344     4     snd_hda_codec_hdmi, snd_hda_codec_conexant, snd_hda_codec_generic, snd_hda_intel
snd_hda_core               36864     5     snd_hda_codec_hdmi, snd_hda_codec_conexant, snd_hda_codec_generic, snd_hda_intel, snd_hda_codec
snd_hwdep                  12288     1     snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                    49152     5     snd_hda_codec_hdmi, snd_hda_intel, snd_hda_codec, snd_hda_core
snd_timer                  20480     2     snd_pcm
snd                        36864     12    snd_hda_codec_hdmi, snd_hda_codec_conexant, snd_hda_codec_generic, snd_hda_intel, snd_hda_codec, snd_hwdep, snd_pcm, snd_timer
soundcore                  12288     1     snd
It seems to be identical to the output on the working machine.