WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Icons/applications in Wbar  (Read 439 times)

Offline GNUser

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 163
Re: Icons/applications in Wbar
« Reply #15 on: November 04, 2019, 07:26:33 AM »
The first several packages I submitted where compiled on Devuan ASCII (Debian Stretch sans systemd), then packaged on TC. My later submissions were all compiled on TC, except those too huge to compile on my old hardware (e.g., thunderbird, iridium-browser).

All the packages that I submit are ones I use daily, so everything is extensively tested. The user:group discrepancy does not hurt anything.


Offline GNUser

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 163
Re: Icons/applications in Wbar
« Reply #16 on: November 04, 2019, 07:33:05 AM »
@Rich - If the 32bit xfe extension is fixed and tested, please send it to tcesubmit at gmail dot com so that juanito can upload it to the repository. I am only a junior contributor--all my extensions go through juanito.
« Last Edit: November 04, 2019, 07:50:37 AM by GNUser »

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6886
Re: Icons/applications in Wbar
« Reply #17 on: November 04, 2019, 01:32:09 PM »
Hi GNUser
@Rich - If the 32bit xfe extension is fixed and tested, please send it to tcesubmit at gmail dot com so that juanito can upload it to the repository. ...
Mailed it this morning just prior to posting.

Quote
...  I am only a junior contributor--all my extensions go through juanito.
Me too. :)

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11063
Re: Icons/applications in Wbar
« Reply #18 on: November 05, 2019, 02:47:25 AM »
posted

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6886
Re: Icons/applications in Wbar
« Reply #19 on: November 05, 2019, 04:55:20 AM »
Hi Juanito
Thank you.

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6886
Re: Icons/applications in Wbar
« Reply #20 on: November 05, 2019, 05:08:51 AM »
Hi madmax
Click on the  Apps  icon. When Apps opens click  Apps->Maintenance->Check for Updates.  Highlight the files that show up and
click  Process Selected Items.

Use the  Backup  utility in the  ControlPanel  to remove  /usr/local/share/applications/xfe.desktop  from your backup (filetool.lst)
and then run a backup. Reboot and verify your icon is still present and works.

Offline madmax

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: Icons/applications in Wbar
« Reply #21 on: November 05, 2019, 08:43:02 AM »
Hello Rich:
... run a backup.
Reboot and verify your icon is still present and works.
Done.

All icons present now: xfe+xfi+xfp but none of them will load the respective application.
There seems to be a library missing or unavailable for some reason but it is in the system:

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ xfe
xfe: error while loading shared libraries: libFOX-1.6.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
tc@box:~$

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ slocate libFOX
/usr/local/lib/libFOX-1.6.so.0.0.57
/usr/local/lib/libFOX-1.6.so.0
/usr/local/lib/libFOX-1.6.so
tc@box:~$

Thanks in advance.
MM

Offline madmax

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: Icons/applications in Wbar
« Reply #22 on: November 06, 2019, 02:19:24 AM »
Hello:
I found a similar issue with xfe from 2015:
https://sourceforge.net/p/xfe/bugs/201/

But it is not what is causing the problem.

Indeed, libFOX-1.6.so.0 is not loaded:
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ ldd /usr/local/bin/xfe | grep libFOX
libFOX-1.6.so.0 => not found
tc@box:~$

But the FOX library directory is/seems to be correctly set in ld.so.conf:

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ slocate libFOX
/usr/local/lib/libFOX-1.6.so.0.0.57
/usr/local/lib/libFOX-1.6.so.0
/usr/local/lib/libFOX-1.6.so
tc@box:~$

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ cat /etc/ld.so.conf
/usr/local/lib
tc@box:~$

I've had a look at ~/.config/xfe/xferc but found nothing obvious (to me).

Thanks in advance,
MM
« Last Edit: November 06, 2019, 02:22:19 AM by madmax »

Offline madmax

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: Icons/applications in Wbar
« Reply #23 on: November 06, 2019, 03:00:20 AM »
Hello:

I cannot find the link where I found this bit now, but it would seem that the problem could be in that the dynamic library path is not set.

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ echo $LD_LIBRARY_PATH
tc@box:~$

The thing is that if I set it ...

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/usr/local/lib
tc@box:~$

... and then verify it ...

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ echo $LD_LIBRARY_PATH
/usr/local/lib
tc@box:~$

... it will not survive a reboot so it is probably something that has to be set within xfe.tcz.

Thanks in advance,
MM

PS: please set the editing time limit to a larger value.

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6886
Re: Icons/applications in Wbar
« Reply #24 on: November 06, 2019, 05:02:07 AM »
Hi madmax
I found the problem:
Code: [Select]
tc@E310:~/x/xfe/squashfs-root/usr/local/bin$ file -L /usr/local/lib/libFOX-1.6.so
/usr/local/lib/libFOX-1.6.so: ELF 64-bit LSB pie executable, x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked, stripped
tc@E310:~/x/xfe/squashfs-root/usr/local/bin$
A 64 bit version of  fox.tcz  inadvertently wound up in the 32 bit repo. GNUser updated the extension on 11/04/2019. The next day
I said:
Hi madmax
Click on the  Apps  icon. When Apps opens click  Apps->Maintenance->Check for Updates.  Highlight the files that show up and
click  Process Selected Items. ...
and your 32 bit version of  fox.tcz  got updated to a 64 bit version.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11063
Re: Icons/applications in Wbar
« Reply #25 on: November 06, 2019, 06:10:01 AM »
64-bit version of fox/fox-dev moved from 32-bit repo to 64-bit repo and previous version of fox/fox-dev restored in 32-bit repo - hopefully.

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6886
Re: Icons/applications in Wbar
« Reply #26 on: November 06, 2019, 07:09:44 AM »
Hi madmax
You know the drill ;D:
Click on the  Apps  icon. When Apps opens click  Apps->Maintenance->Check for Updates.  Highlight the files that show up and
click  Process Selected Items. Reboot and verify your icon works again.

Offline madmax

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 96
Re: Icons/applications in Wbar
« Reply #27 on: November 06, 2019, 07:17:18 AM »
Hello Rich:
... and your 32 bit version of  fox.tcz  got updated to a 64 bit version.
Well ...
Shit happens.  =^D!

Quote from: Rich
Process ...
Reboot and verify ....

Everything is now working as expected.
Thank you very much (Rich/Juanito). =-)

Best,
MM