WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Thunar settings not holding  (Read 655 times)

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11111
Re: Thunar settings not holding
« Reply #15 on: October 18, 2019, 06:32:40 AM »
If you start the xfconf daemon like this:
Code: [Select]
$ /usr/local/lib/xfce4/xfconf/xfconfd..then thunar settings are saved across thunar exit/restarts, but I don't know where.

Unless you are a fan of xfce4, I'd use one of other file managers suggested above.

Edit: settings in ~/.config/xfce4/xfconf/xfce-perchannel-xml/thunar.xml
« Last Edit: October 18, 2019, 06:38:53 AM by Juanito »

Offline vinceASPECT

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 386
Re: Thunar settings not holding
« Reply #16 on: October 18, 2019, 12:23:42 PM »
Hello,

Always had that "Fluff" on the Tinycore's here. 

......it has the simple In-road to Sudo . authority

Thx

V


Offline madmax

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: Thunar settings not holding
« Reply #17 on: October 18, 2019, 02:01:15 PM »
Hello Rich:

Sorry for the delay.

xfconf is included in the dependency tree.
... there's a settings file that relies on dbus ...

Check if  dbus is running.
Does this produce any response:
Code: [Select]
ps aux | grep -i dbus | grep -v grep

Here's what I get:
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ ps aux | grep -i dbus | grep -v grep
7860 tc dbus-launch --autolaunch 65fbc30de015d1de836501e35daa1e0a --binary-syntax --close-stderr
7861 tc /usr/local/bin/dbus-daemon --syslog-only --fork --print-pid 5 --print-address 7 --session
tc@box:~$

... executable shows no sign of it running the  thunar-settings script:
Maybe that script needs to be run before starting  Thunar?
Could be ...

In any case, I'll see how I fare with Xfe as a viable alternative.
There must be a reason for Thunar not showing up in forum searches or not having been looked at/compiled since early 2014.

Thanks a lot for taking the time to write this up.
Much obliged.

Cheers and a good week-end.

MM

Offline madmax

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: Thunar settings not holding
« Reply #18 on: October 18, 2019, 02:09:33 PM »
Hello:
... xfconf daemon like this:
Code: [Select]
$ /usr/local/lib/xfce4/xfconf/xfconfd... then thunar settings are saved across thunar exit/restarts, but I don't know where.
I see ...

Unless you are a fan of xfce4 ...
Fan?
No, not at all.

I have it in my Devuan ASCII installation and wanted to have it in TC also.
But I'm always bitching about Xfce4 as there's always something acting up or complicating things, very convoluted and difficult to configure.

I'll see how I fare with Xfe as a replacement for Thunar and maybe even use it in Devuan ASCII if it is in the repository.

Thanks for your input.

Cheers,

MM

Offline madmax

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 98
Re: Thunar settings not holding
« Reply #19 on: October 18, 2019, 02:12:30 PM »
Hello:
Always had that "Fluff" on the Tinycore's here. 
... it has the simple In-road to Sudo .authority
Yes, I saw it.
Tried it but for some reason did not feel too comfortable using it.
Like many things maybe it's just a matetr of taste.

I'll have a go at Xfe and see how it goes.

Thanks for your input.

Cheers,

MM.