WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: how to fully enable IPv6?  (Read 1674 times)

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8251
Re: how to fully enable IPv6?
« Reply #15 on: November 23, 2019, 08:45:25 PM »
Hi GNUser
For what it's worth, my  dmesg  shows this:
Code: [Select]
[   28.395220] e100 0000:03:08.0 eth0: NIC Link is Up 100 Mbps Full Duplex
[   33.730665] Installing knfsd (copyright (C) 1996 okir@monad.swb.de).
[   33.809831] NET: Registered protocol family 10
[   33.887829] Segment Routing with IPv6
Those timestamps coincide with when my desktop appears.

Offline GNUser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 636
Re: how to fully enable IPv6?
« Reply #16 on: November 23, 2019, 09:04:21 PM »
The last two lines from the above show up in my dmesg as well, but it seems ipv6 kernel module is not loaded when I arrive at desktop unless I run modprobe ipv6.

P.S. Now that my ipv6 issue has been solved, I discovered that udhcpc is just as capable a DHCP client as dhclient: Both can grab IPv4 and IPv6 addresses at the same time without being explicitly asked. Given that udhcpc does not require an extension (it is part of the base system), is zero-conf (compared to dhclient, which was a major pain to configure) and has a trivial syntax (e.g., udhcpc -i wlan0), it seems like an obvious winner.
« Last Edit: November 23, 2019, 09:08:18 PM by GNUser »

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10296
Re: how to fully enable IPv6?
« Reply #17 on: November 24, 2019, 12:01:06 AM »
Yes, the kernel will only autoload ipv6 when it is needed (another module depends on it, or you run an ipv6 command, or possibly when getting such a packet). However some people will load the ipv6 extension without intending to use ipv6, since nowadays the firewall modules depend on it.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline GNUser

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 636
Re: how to fully enable IPv6?
« Reply #18 on: November 24, 2019, 04:24:57 AM »
However some people will load the ipv6 extension without intending to use ipv6, since nowadays the firewall modules depend on it.

I discovered this the hard way when setting up my TC-powered IPv4-only home router, which includes a firewall.

I guess a better way (than tce.installed script) to prevent surprises if folks *do* want IPv6 is to mention in the extension's comments section that loading the extension is not enough; the kernel module needs to be loaded, too. FWIW I'd also mention that any firewall requires the extension, although this will be less likely to help folks who are stuck. (Until now I've always wondered why my router needed the extension.)
« Last Edit: November 24, 2019, 04:27:07 AM by GNUser »

Offline Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8251
Re: how to fully enable IPv6?
« Reply #19 on: November 24, 2019, 11:51:01 AM »
Hi GNUser
I removed  ipv6-KERNEL.tcz  from my onboot.lst to figure out why I installed it and what was causing the  ipv6  driver to load. It was the
NFS services being started. Syslog showed tcp6 and udp6 errors logged by nfsd, rpcbind, rpc.mountd, and rpc.statd. NFS will still
run without it, I just wanted to suppress the error messages.

Code: [Select]
[   33.730665] Installing knfsd (copyright (C) 1996 okir@monad.swb.de).Those timestamps coincide with when my desktop appears.
Thats the  nfsd  module loading.

Quote
Code: [Select]
[   33.809831] NET: Registered protocol family 10
That's the  inet6  protocol being registered.