WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30  (Read 6336 times)

Offline reto0110

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #30 on: September 25, 2019, 10:49:35 AM »
Quote
Click on the  Exit  icon and select  Exit to Prompt.  Then execute the following command:

it works in Prompt only, no in the terminal or editor..

Quote
Is it present in your  /mnt/sda1/tce/optional  directory? If it is, add it manually to  onboot.lst.  Otherwise tell  Apps  to install it again.

added, ca-certificates.conf was created.

Quote
Linux expects your BIOS clock to be in UTC time. If it's in Windows-style local time, you need to add "noutc" into your boot params.

changed, but the problem persist...

Offline reto0110

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #31 on: September 25, 2019, 11:48:35 AM »
it appears to have a relation with:

Quote
kmap: set keyboard layout (currently only "us")
if KEYMAP is set and an appropriate '.kmap'-file exists under '/usr/share/kmap/' then load that keymap and write the value of KEYMAP into '/etc/sysconfig/keymap'.

from: http://wiki.tinycorelinux.net/dcore:system_start_and_boot-codes?s[]=lang

Offline jazzbiker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #32 on: September 25, 2019, 01:26:31 PM »
Hi, reto0110!

You can put in order your times using:
1.
Code: [Select]
date2.
Code: [Select]
hwclock look at its switches, writes only using sudo.
3.
Code: [Select]
sudo getTime.sh will set up your timer from ntp server according to your tz. The same is done by SystemTools>SetTime in GUI.

Offline reto0110

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #33 on: September 25, 2019, 02:55:16 PM »
Quote
date

THANKS. The time problem was fixed!
 
I can browse with https safely.

Problems remaining 2:

-- Keymaping fail: qwerty/es.kmap works in prompt only.
-- Browser and media slow: drivers, flash, codecs or extensions missing?  ::)

PD: I'm finishing the book, what a awesome distro!
« Last Edit: September 25, 2019, 02:57:24 PM by reto0110 »

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6942
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #34 on: September 25, 2019, 05:30:05 PM »
Hi reto0110
I see you are loading both  Xorg-7.7-3d.tcz  and  Xvesa.tcz.  You should only load one of those.  What does this return:
Code: [Select]
cat /etc/sysconfig/Xserver
cat /etc/sysconfig/desktop

You can also remove the following from  onboot.lst:
Code: [Select]
tc-install-GUI.tcz
ezremaster.tcz
firefox_getLatest.tcz
chromium-browser.tcz
chromium-browser-locale.tcz
firefox.tcz
palemoon.tcz
They will still be available using the  Apps  utility and then clicking  Apps->Load App Locally.

If you know what kind of wireless hardware you have we can remove most of those firmware extensions from  onboot.lst  too.

Offline reto0110

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #35 on: September 25, 2019, 06:02:24 PM »
Ok, done.

Quote
What does this return:

the outputs are:
-Xorg
-fluxbox

Quote
You should only load one of those
I'm going to unload Xvesa then...


Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6942
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #36 on: September 25, 2019, 06:23:17 PM »
Hi reto0110
... I'm going to unload Xvesa then...
You can also remove  flwm_topside.tcz  from  onboot.lst.

-- Browser and media slow: drivers, flash, codecs or extensions missing?  ::) ...
If you post your  /var/log/Xorg.0.log,  maybe someone will spot something.

Offline reto0110

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #37 on: September 25, 2019, 07:17:53 PM »
Quote
You can also remove  flwm_topside.tcz  from  onboot.lst.

Done.

I just realize, I don't have audio in firefox either...

Quote
/var/log/Xorg.0.log

Attached!

Thank you very much Rich  8)


Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6942
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #38 on: September 25, 2019, 07:32:34 PM »
Hi reto0110
... I just realize, I don't have audio in firefox either...
Start by first installing alsa:
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,22145.msg138620.html#msg138620

Firefox also needs pulseaudio. Be sure to read the info file:
http://tinycorelinux.net/10.x/x86/tcz/pulseaudio.tcz.info

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6942
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #39 on: September 25, 2019, 07:58:57 PM »
Hi reto0110
-- Browser and media slow: drivers, flash, codecs or extensions missing?  ::) ...
It looks like you are currently running the  xf86-video-vesa.tcz  driver. Your log file shows you have an  ATI MOBILITY RADEON 7500
video caard. Try installing  xf86-video-ati.tcz, then reboot, and see if things run any faster.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2019, 09:10:23 PM by Rich »

Offline reto0110

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #40 on: September 25, 2019, 09:04:05 PM »
Quote
alsactl init

Found hardware: "ICH" "Analog Devices AD1881A" "AC97a:41445348" "0x1014" "0x0508"
Hardware is initialized using a generic method

I un-muted Master volumen and all volumens in high levels. I set the red points in Line volumen. but:

Code: [Select]
speaker-test [-Ddefault:1] -c2 -t wav -l1
the speaker makes no sound, just shows:

Code: [Select]
Playback device is default
Stream parameters are 48000Hz, S16_LE, 2 channels
WAV file(s)
Rate set to 48000Hz (requested 48000Hz)
Buffer size range from 2048 to 16384
Period size range from 1024 to 1024
Using max buffer size 16384
Periods = 4
was set period_size = 1024
was set buffer_size = 16384
 0 - Front Left
 1 - Front Right
Time per period = 2.688197


and

Code: [Select]
amixer set "Master" 80 unmute

Simple mixer control 'Master',0
  Capabilities: pvolume pswitch pswitch-joined
  Playback channels: Front Left - Front Right
  Limits: Playback 0 - 63
  Mono:
  Front Left: Playback 63 [100%] [0.00dB] [on]
  Front Right: Playback 63 [100%] [0.00dB] [on]

And alsasound service is up
 :(

« Last Edit: September 25, 2019, 09:13:59 PM by reto0110 »

Offline reto0110

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #41 on: September 25, 2019, 09:58:37 PM »
Also

Code: [Select]
sudo /usr/local/etc/init.d/alsasound start
return:

Code: [Select]
rmmod cant't unload module ´'snd_timer': Resource temporarily unavalilable'
and hundreds of records like that with ´snd_timer´ changed.

Offline jazzbiker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #42 on: September 25, 2019, 11:02:18 PM »
Hi, reto0110!

I don't use alsa-config.tcz, i placed such a file in my home dir:
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ cat .asoundrc
pcm.!default {
        type hw
        card 0
}

ctl.!default {
        type hw           
        card 0
}
and have the sound. This is dumb, but it works. At least it can be some working starting point.

Offline reto0110

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #43 on: September 26, 2019, 05:51:18 AM »
I don't know if is because of this, but I just read this lines in xorg log:

Code: [Select]
[    88.560] (II) config/udev: Adding input device PC Speaker (/dev/input/event6)
[    88.560] (II) No input driver specified, ignoring this device.
[    88.560] (II) This device may have been added with another device file.

Offline reto0110

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #44 on: September 26, 2019, 06:21:29 AM »
I've installed the graphic driver, but Should I to uninstall the older one? How?

Besides I get this innocuous message in the boot screen:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1xrQXfd6L5G7YPV1VfKLJUXlcXWA9sC1W