WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30  (Read 6337 times)

Offline reto0110

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« on: September 20, 2019, 05:42:06 PM »
Hello guys,

I have an old IBM Thinkpad T30 laptop, and I want to give it a new life with CorePlus distro.

Basically, I want firefox or chromium working well. I installed CorePlus but youtube and other webs crashing, flashing or freeze, my knowledge in Linux is basic, and I don't know if the problem is because of lack of drivers, flash or other reason.

Please help! and thanks in advance  :)


Offline jazzbiker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2019, 10:54:50 PM »
Hi,reto0110!

I looked on your  tinkpad specifications. I've found that it has 256M RAM, correct me if you have more.
Such not very big amount means, that you need swap, in order not to catch dead freezes. PLease describe more about what TinyCore version do you use, the way you installed it (or maybe running from live flash) and your HDD partitioning scheme.

But my opinion is that on 256M you will not be able to run full-blown modern browsers like firefox or chromium. And viewing video directly in browser is very CPU and RAM consumpting, so i propose using  more ascetic browser (lynx, dillo, fifth) for links choosing, then download video with youtube-dl, and watch it using mplayer.

Regards!

Offline neonix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 210
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2019, 01:18:52 AM »
It would be good to know what version of TC you use.
Type in terminal
Code: [Select]
version and then
Code: [Select]
mountand tell us what it shows.

If you use firefox-ESR.tcz you need also libavcodec.tcz to watch html5 h.264 video.

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6942
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2019, 05:16:09 AM »
Hi reto0110
... and then
Code: [Select]
mountand tell us what it shows. ...
Don't do that. You'll get several pages of text scrolling past you on the terminal. Do this instead:
Code: [Select]
mount > mount.txtThis will direct the results of the mount command into a file. Attach the file  mount.txt  to your next post so neonix can see the
results firsthand.

Offline reto0110

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2019, 04:46:34 PM »
Thank you for the fast answers.  8)

Sorry, the laptop has 1GB of RAM.

I've attached mount output.

The OS version is 10.1

I've installed libavcodec.tcz, but, for example, Twitter looks awful and I can't install addons for firefox (the web don't show the correct format or css).

I can't install apps in chromium (the chrome web store is not compatible with the version 23.0.1271.64 for Tiny Core Linux).

Sorry for my rusty english..

Offline neonix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 210
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #5 on: September 21, 2019, 10:26:13 PM »
It looks like you have all needed extensons.

You can try Chromium 66.0.3343.0 in TC 10 (x86_64).

Or Firefox ESR 68 in TC 10 (x86)
Code: [Select]
tce-load -iw firefox_getLatest.tcz
firefox_getLatest.sh -m
and type
Code: [Select]
68.0.1esr
I just noticed there is 2 versions libavcodec.tcz and libavcodec3.tcz.

Offline jazzbiker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #6 on: September 21, 2019, 11:28:45 PM »
Hi,reto0110!

And what about
Code: [Select]
cat /proc/swaps?

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6942
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #7 on: September 22, 2019, 06:58:51 AM »
Hi reto0110
Please attach the following file to your next post:
Code: [Select]
/mnt/sda1/tce/onboot.lst
Also attach the config file for your bootloader. It should have a name similar to  extlinux.conf.  Try looking for it in:
Code: [Select]
/mnt/sda1/boot/extlinux/or:
Code: [Select]
/mnt/sda1/tce/boot/extlinux/

Offline reto0110

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #8 on: September 24, 2019, 11:01:14 AM »
Hello again guys, thank you for your fast support.

--neonix: Ok, I've updated firefox 68.0.1esr, as you told me, but How I do the same for chromium 66.0.3343.0? Also, the performance of firefox is still very bad...

--jazzbiker: cat /proc/swaps shows:

Code: [Select]
Filename: /dev/zram0 ||| Type: partition ||| Size: 247392 ||| Used: 0 ||| Priority: -2
--Rich: Attached

PD: I'm so lost in this distro, the closest contact with Linux that I have is Xubuntu (and basic terminal operations).

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6942
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #9 on: September 24, 2019, 11:26:57 AM »
Hi reto0110
Your  home  directory is currently in RAM. Browsers are incredibly selfish when it comes to RAM usage. So start by making your
home  directory persistent. This will leave more RAM free and speed up startup and shutdown times. Boot up your machine and
then edit your  extlinux.conf  file to look like this:
Code: [Select]
DEFAULT core
LABEL core
KERNEL /tce/boot/vmlinuz
INITRD /tce/boot/core.gz
APPEND quiet  waitusb=5:UUID="ab76cea8-509b-4c07-8e49-7704cecfe6e4" tce=UUID="ab76cea8-509b-4c07-8e49-7704cecfe6e4" home=UUID="ab76cea8-509b-4c07-8e49-7704cecfe6e4"
The  home  entry added to the end of the last line is the only change. Save the changes.

Edit the  /opt/.filetool.lst  file and remove the line that says  home.  Save the changes.

In a terminal, execute this command to update your backup:
Code: [Select]
filetool.sh -b
Your  home  directory is now persistent. Firefox saves a lot of stuff under the  .mozilla  directory which will use up RAM if your
home  directory is not persistent.

Is your  onboot.lst  file really empty? There's nothing in the file you posted.

Offline jazzbiker

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 137
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #10 on: September 24, 2019, 12:00:10 PM »
PD: I'm so lost in this distro, the closest contact with Linux that I have is Xubuntu (and basic terminal operations).

Hi, reto0110!

You will not succeed loosing yourself in TinyCore, it is very friendly, comfortable and homely distro, but some things are to be done with your own hands, as here you are the master. You can download the book on TinyCore named "Into The Core." from the "Book" section of the site. It's great!

Offline reto0110

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #11 on: September 24, 2019, 02:26:10 PM »
PD: I'm so lost in this distro, the closest contact with Linux that I have is Xubuntu (and basic terminal operations).

Hi, reto0110!

You will not succeed loosing yourself in TinyCore, it is very friendly, comfortable and homely distro, but some things are to be done with your own hands, as here you are the master. You can download the book on TinyCore named "Into The Core." from the "Book" section of the site. It's great!

Thanks, downloaded & reading!

Offline reto0110

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #12 on: September 24, 2019, 02:32:37 PM »
Hi reto0110
Your  home  directory is currently in RAM. Browsers are incredibly selfish when it comes to RAM usage. So start by making your
home  directory persistent. This will leave more RAM free and speed up startup and shutdown times. Boot up your machine and
then edit your  extlinux.conf  file to look like this:
Code: [Select]
DEFAULT core
LABEL core
KERNEL /tce/boot/vmlinuz
INITRD /tce/boot/core.gz
APPEND quiet  waitusb=5:UUID="ab76cea8-509b-4c07-8e49-7704cecfe6e4" tce=UUID="ab76cea8-509b-4c07-8e49-7704cecfe6e4" home=UUID="ab76cea8-509b-4c07-8e49-7704cecfe6e4"

In a terminal, execute this command to update your backup:
Code: [Select]
filetool.sh -b
Your  home  directory is now persistent. Firefox saves a lot of stuff under the  .mozilla  directory which will use up RAM if your
home  directory is not persistent.

Is your  onboot.lst  file really empty? There's nothing in the file you posted.


-----------------


I think I've screwed the boot, I think...  :(

I'm going to create a New Partition Table (with gparted) and install all again:

Please check if it's OK:

Code: [Select]
/dev/sda1 ||| ext4 ||| Size: 1GB ||| Flag: boot
/dev/sda2 ||| extended ||| Size: 2GB ||| Flag: --
-> /dev/sda5 ||| linux-swap ||| Size: 2GB ||| Flag: --

Anything else?
« Last Edit: September 24, 2019, 02:34:43 PM by reto0110 »

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6942
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #13 on: September 24, 2019, 05:19:56 PM »
Hi reto0110
... I'm going to create a New Partition Table (with gparted) and install all again:

Please check if it's OK:

Code: [Select]
/dev/sda1 ||| ext4 ||| Size: 1GB ||| Flag: boot
/dev/sda2 ||| extended ||| Size: 2GB ||| Flag: --
-> /dev/sda5 ||| linux-swap ||| Size: 2GB ||| Flag: --

Anything else?
That looks OK. Personally, I would switch the 1GB and 2GB values. It appears you are using a 3GB device and allocating all of it. If
that is the case, there's no need for an extended partition. Two primary partitions will work too.

Offline reto0110

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: Some help with IBM thinkpad T30
« Reply #14 on: September 24, 2019, 06:10:48 PM »
Ok, but Do I need to create partitions for /root and /home here too?