WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: fluxbox windowmenu not working  (Read 338 times)

Offline GNUser

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
fluxbox windowmenu not working
« on: August 22, 2019, 07:01:34 AM »
Sorry to bother you guys again. Any TC + fluxbox users out there?

I'm using fluxbox 1.3.5 (from official repository) in Corepure64. Everything works well except that no context menu appears when I right-click on a window's icon on the iconbar (the iconbar is the part of the toolbar that holds an icon for each existing window--some WMs call it the "window list"). Right-clicking on a window's titlebar does not bring up a context menu, either.

The file ~/.fluxbox/windowmenu exists and has correct permissions (ownership = bruno:staff, permissions = 664). I'm not sure what else to try. Any ideas?

-Bruno (gnuser)
« Last Edit: August 22, 2019, 07:21:51 AM by GNUser »

Offline GNUser

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
Re: fluxbox windowmenu not working
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2019, 07:15:29 AM »
Here's what the file looks like (I haven't changed it, so these are its default contents):

Code: [Select]
bruno@box:~$ cat ~/.fluxbox/windowmenu
[begin]
  [shade]
  [stick]
  [maximize]
  [iconify]
  [raise]
  [lower]
  [settitledialog]
  [sendto]
  [layer]
  [alpha]
  [extramenus]
  [separator]
  [close]
[end]

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6831
Re: fluxbox windowmenu not working
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2019, 12:31:32 PM »
Hi GNUser
I don't use fluxbox, but this looks like it might be helpful:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fluxbox

Offline GNUser

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
Re: fluxbox windowmenu not working
« Reply #3 on: August 22, 2019, 12:55:50 PM »
The Arch Linux wiki rocks, but my problem was too trivial for them to cover it.
I found that my ~/.fluxbox/init contained this:
Code: [Select]
session.screen0.windowMenu:  /home/tc/.fluxbox/windowmenu...which is obviously not going to work because no such file exists (I use user=bruno boot code). Changing to this did the trick:
Code: [Select]
session.screen0.windowMenu:  /home/bruno/.fluxbox/windowmenu
« Last Edit: August 22, 2019, 12:58:06 PM by GNUser »