WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Need Help  (Read 1555 times)

Offline althus

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • New Born to Linux But Old
Re: Need Help
« Reply #30 on: August 04, 2019, 11:02:08 AM »
Ok, it will be hard my TC work only in tc@box and I do not know how to have it in graphic.

for the answer of fdisk
/dev/sda1   size 100M  NTFS
/dev/sda2   size 685G  NTFS
/dev/sda3   size 450M  unknown
/dev/sda4   size 13.0G  Win95  fat32  (LBA)

Disk /dev/sda  699GB nb of bytes,nb of sectors, nb cylinders, and all the thing in a HD.

I supose sda4 is not supose to be there ?
70 Years Old but Linux borne  July 1 2019

Offline althus

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • New Born to Linux But Old
Re: Need Help
« Reply #31 on: August 04, 2019, 11:11:37 AM »
if I give the command  ( ls ..  ) the answer is tc/   so actualy  tc is on the  HD
because noting is connected on the computer.

thank you  for the help you give me so far
70 Years Old but Linux borne  July 1 2019

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6722
Re: Need Help
« Reply #32 on: August 04, 2019, 11:51:56 AM »
Hi althus
... I supose sda4 is not supose to be there ?
I'm not sure. Sometimes computer manufacturers have a nasty habit of using up all 4 partitions. I want to get a better picture of
what's going on:
Code: [Select]
df -h | head > info.txt
blkid /dev/sro >> info.txt
blkid /dev/sr1 >> info.txt
readlink /etc/sysconfig/tcedir >> info.txt

Offline PDP-8

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 469
Re: Need Help
« Reply #33 on: August 04, 2019, 01:34:46 PM »
Maybe we can cut down these variables:

My own Compaq Presario is one step up: a CQ60.  I haven't put TC on a stick to boot but when I get a chance I will.  Currently booting Devuan on hd with it.  Time for TC on a stick I suppose ....

The ops machine was originally installed with Windows Vista.  Seems like one or more Linux installations (and bootloader) have been applied to it.

Rufus will *NOT* install to any internal disk, just external usb only by design - precisely to not mess with any existing installation on internal drives.  You can't even fool it.

RFKILL - my '60Z presario is also afflicted.  But merely loading rfkill doesn't fix anything.  At some point, either manually, or in a script, it requires

Code: [Select]
sudo rfkill unblock all
Now, a wireless script (or network manager) will work.  The physical switch will still not work, but either a script or network manager will allow for the connection to be made, and the led in the switch will light up.  Just saying, that the use of rfkill to unblock all won't make the switch work physically - but it will when networking software tries to use it.

One will also want the synaptics touchpad driver.  Again, just loading it wont' fix it, but in a script, one should apply

Code: [Select]
synclient TapButton1=1
to get it functional with double-clicks at least.

I'll give my own '60z a shot when I get some more time.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2019, 01:37:55 PM by PDP-8 »
That's a UNIX book! - cool  -- Garth

Offline althus

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • New Born to Linux But Old
Re: Need Help
« Reply #34 on: August 04, 2019, 01:41:07 PM »
hi ,rich
I have done all the command you give me
and now I have an info.txt file in my directory
but how  do I put the file on a USB or how I open it

Actualy I am in the consol  tc@box and I am new to consol
and know little of the command.

For the command df -h  the answer is

filesystem               size         used       awailable     use %     mounted on
rootfs                       1.6 G       14.6 M        1.6G          1%            /
tempfs                      1.6 G          0              1.6G          0%         /dev/shm
/dev/sda4                 13.1 G     222.2M        12.9G        2%         /mnt/sda4

I wish that can help.
70 Years Old but Linux borne  July 1 2019

Offline althus

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • New Born to Linux But Old
Re: Need Help
« Reply #35 on: August 04, 2019, 01:45:39 PM »
hi PDP-8
tank you for your help,I will try your solution.
70 Years Old but Linux borne  July 1 2019

Offline PDP-8

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 469
Re: Need Help
« Reply #36 on: August 04, 2019, 02:31:49 PM »
Heh, hang tight - I'm working on it right now.

One thing we know for sure:  Rufus will easily burn a bootable usb.  For simplicity, I used the latest 32 bit tinycore.iso.  And just let Rufus do it's thing without having to specify anything special.

As usual, before taking the stick out of the Windows box, I went into the file manager and changed the name of the "cde" directory to "tce", and now we have instant persistence since this is no longer a cd type of install.   There's more, but this is no problem.

I noticed that out of the box the touchpad driver allows for double-taps so basic functionality is there without having to load the synaptics driver.  We can of course, to get two-finger slides and whatnot, but for now, let's leave the synaptics touchpad driver out of the equation.

working on more ...
That's a UNIX book! - cool  -- Garth

Online coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3018
Need Help
« Reply #37 on: August 04, 2019, 02:55:12 PM »
hi ,rich
I have done all the command you give me
and now I have an info.txt file in my directory
but how  do I put the file on a USB or how I open it

You missed the last three commands

Code: [Select]
df -h | head > info.txt
blkid /dev/sro >> info.txt
blkid /dev/sr1 >> info.txt
readlink /etc/sysconfig/tcedir >> info.txt
Each line is to be executed separately


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: August 04, 2019, 02:57:04 PM by coreplayer2 »

Online coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3018
Re: Need Help
« Reply #38 on: August 04, 2019, 03:16:51 PM »
RFKILL - my '60Z presario is also afflicted.  But merely loading rfkill doesn't fix anything.  At some point, either manually, or in a script, it requires

Code: [Select]
sudo rfkill unblock all
Hey PDP-8

Please let’s not get to far ahead of ourselves,  before running a script to fix the issue don’t you think it’s better to establish the problem first?

Code: [Select]
rfkill list all > rfkilllist.txtWill establish if there’s a switch problem to fix





Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline PDP-8

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 469
Re: Need Help
« Reply #39 on: August 04, 2019, 03:40:45 PM »
Got the 60z Presario up and running.  I've been wanting to do this, so thanks Althus for prodding me.

We only need to download three things and put them in our onboot.lst:

1) rfkill.tcz
2) firmware-atheros.tcz
3) wifi.tcz

NOTE: I'm assuming that one is using a wired ethernet and the APPS program to download and install these programs and all their automatically downloaded related dependencies, not just cherry-picking only these three from a download repository!

RFKILL fun:

On this machine(s), before we try to use rfkill, we press and hold the wifi button for 2 seconds.  Even though the led status color light does not change, rfkill will now work properly on it.

If you try to use rfkill *before* holding down the button for 2 seconds, partial unblocking may drive you insane.

At the terminal (after you have pressed the wifi button for 2 secs and released)

Code: [Select]
sudo rfkill unblock all
Now fire up the wifi icon, and it will scan and display access points.  And the wifi led will turn blue instead of orange.  Upon disconnect, it will turn orange again.

Sure enough, one might try to use rfkill without hitting the switch, and see only one softblock removed, and the rest still hardblocked.  'Gotta wake up the switch physically before to make it work all the way.

Code: [Select]
sudo rfkill list
But hitting the wifi button for 2 seconds, and not having the switch provide any feedback is un-intuitive.

Run sudo rfkill unblock all, and you will see them all unblocked now.  Sure enough, the Atheros wifi works fine.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2019, 04:02:12 PM by PDP-8 »
That's a UNIX book! - cool  -- Garth

Offline althus

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • New Born to Linux But Old
Re: Need Help
« Reply #40 on: August 04, 2019, 04:07:38 PM »
To  PDP-8
Tank you for your answer I will try your solution later on.
I should have open an other post actually I am working on my mane computer
where TC install itself.
Tank you for your help.

For Coreplayer2

like I said in the previous post I write the command on my consol and
execute them one at the time but even if I have a file "info.txt "

I do not know how to read it or to copy it on a USB to transfere it on my
laptop to send it to you. I copy my last post on the screen of the computer.

I takk you for your time and apologize for my missing formation.

P.S. Sory I forget the command "cat" . I will send you a copy tomorow.
 
« Last Edit: August 04, 2019, 04:28:44 PM by althus »
70 Years Old but Linux borne  July 1 2019

Offline althus

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • New Born to Linux But Old
Re: Need Help
« Reply #41 on: August 04, 2019, 04:47:50 PM »
Ok coreplayer2

I put the command  "cat" for file info.txt

filesystem               size         used       awailable     use %     mounted on
rootfs                       1.6 G       14.6 M        1.6G          1%            /
tempfs                      1.6 G          0              1.6G          0%         /dev/shm
/dev/sda4                 13.1 G     222.2M        12.9G        2%         /mnt/sda4
/mnt/sda4/tce

you are looking at a complete copy
have a nice evening.
70 Years Old but Linux borne  July 1 2019

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6722
Re: Need Help
« Reply #42 on: August 04, 2019, 05:15:39 PM »
Hi althus
... like I said in the previous post I write the command on my consol and
execute them one at the time but even if I have a file "info.txt "

I do not know how to read it or to copy it on a USB to transfere it on my
laptop to send it to you. ...
Plug in a USB drive. Then:
Code: [Select]
mount /mnt/sdb1
cp info.lst /mnt/sdb1
sync
sudo umount /mnt.sdb1
The file should now be on your USB drive.

... for the answer of fdisk
/dev/sda1   size 100M  NTFS
/dev/sda2   size 685G  NTFS
/dev/sda3   size 450M  unknown
/dev/sda4   size 13.0G  Win95  fat32  (LBA)
sda2 is probably your Windows partition.

filesystem               size         used       awailable     use %     mounted on
rootfs                       1.6 G       14.6 M        1.6G          1%            /
tempfs                      1.6 G          0              1.6G          0%         /dev/shm
/dev/sda4                 13.1 G     222.2M        12.9G        2%         /mnt/sda4
/mnt/sda4/tce
sda4 looks like where you installed Tinycore to.

It sounds like you might have clicked on and run  tcinstall:


Do these images in this link look familiar:
http://tinycorelinux.net/install.html#1_


At any rate, it sounds like you wiped out the MBR (Master Boot Record) and or the boot loader. The Windows repair disk should be
able to fix that. You do not need to reinstall Windows.

Offline althus

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • New Born to Linux But Old
Re: Need Help
« Reply #43 on: August 04, 2019, 05:56:07 PM »
Tank you a lot for all the time you spend to answer my questions
I appreciate a lot. I will use the repair disk window as soon as possible
and let you knoww the result.I just have to wait a couple of days.

Tanks again.
70 Years Old but Linux borne  July 1 2019

Online coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3018
Need Help
« Reply #44 on: August 04, 2019, 07:56:17 PM »
We only need to download three things and put them in our onboot.lst:

firmware-atheros.tcz
I think you’re looking at different hardware as there is no firmware blob for the ath5k wifi driver

At present I don’t see any firmware file that could be of benefit to ath5k adaptor,  but that’s why we want to test the wifi one time without loading firmware-atheros.tcz



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: August 04, 2019, 08:18:23 PM by coreplayer2 »