WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Need Help  (Read 7785 times)

Offline althus

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • New Born to Linux But Old
Need Help
« on: July 28, 2019, 03:24:10 PM »
Good day , I am new to linux but hold in age. My English writing is bad but I need some help.
I start using Linux 37 days ago and tried many distro. I like yours because it is only module
you want.On all the distro I tried Ubuntu Xfce,Lunbutu and Pupy are my best and yours is the best so far.
Now I talk about my problem,I do not have internet connection and it isthe set up I do not understand.
My internet card use the Wifi ATH5K But I do not know how to set it up with The Wifi.
I supose  on service I need to chose one of thu 3 options and on netwo I need Wlan0 and ip adress but I do not
Know where to put  the SSID and the VPA2 can you help.
Tank you
70 Years Old but Linux borne  July 1 2019

Offline core-user

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 173
  • Linux since 1999
Re: Need Help
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2019, 01:02:39 AM »
If you use the Core Plus version, it will likely work, all my wifi work with that version.
AMD, ARM, & Intel.

Offline althus

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • New Born to Linux But Old
Re: Need Help
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2019, 10:15:38 AM »
I tried with 3 version (core with FLWM topside , X|GUI + Wifi ext. , X|GUI +Wifi + Firmware )
none of them work.
When I set-up the net  in the window for network I write  ( interface: Wlan0 , DHCP: no , IP: 192.168.0.144
Mask,Broadcast and Gateway fill by themself .
Name Servers : VIDEOTRON6094 and the second space my password.
Save :yes Apply
On the services window I do not know what to chose crond,dhcp or tftpd , when I chose dhcp in the network windoww
I am not able to fill any informations.
Tank-you for your time and the info.
P.S. My Wifi and my computer are working good , I send this message whit it on pupy distro but I will prefere to use TinyCore.
70 Years Old but Linux borne  July 1 2019

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11018
Re: Need Help
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2019, 10:26:49 AM »
What WiFi hardware do you have?

Offline althus

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • New Born to Linux But Old
Re: Need Help
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2019, 12:38:36 PM »
Controler NVIDIA corporation MCP77 , Ethernet (rev A2)
Qualcomm Atheros AR242x Wireless Network Adapteur (PCI-Express) (Rev 01)
and the computer is a Compaq Presario  CQ50Z notebook PC

and it is working with ath5k

tank you for your time
70 Years Old but Linux borne  July 1 2019

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Need Help
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2019, 01:25:40 PM »
Hello althus

Is best to start with a basic GUI desktop without "Wifi" from coreplus.iso  then add your firmware and wifi extension

I understand the ATH5K linux driver doesn't require any firmware however this is the atheros firmware if needed.
Code: [Select]
tce-load -i firmware-atheros.tcz
tce-load -i wifi.tcz

In that order, then run wifi from the icon or from the command line
Code: [Select]
sudo wifi.sh

then check
Code: [Select]
dmesg for any errors

You can upload the important dmesg output here
Code: [Select]
dmesg | tail -20
Or
Code: [Select]
dmesg | tail -20 > dmesg.txt and look for the file in your home directory


Offline althus

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • New Born to Linux But Old
Re: Need Help
« Reply #6 on: July 30, 2019, 06:40:41 AM »
Ok,I am not a wis and actualy internet is not working on Wifi or cable.
I download a new Tiny core  and try all the combo I can think of.
Stil no go. I write the dmesg from the start up of the computer concerning  ATH5K

Can`t disale ASPM;OS doesn`t have ASPM control
Register as `phy0`
ATH5K:phy0:Atheros AR2425 chip found.
I wish this will give you some clue.

thank you for the help you give me
70 Years Old but Linux borne  July 1 2019

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Need Help
« Reply #7 on: July 30, 2019, 06:43:08 AM »
Ok,I am not a wis and actualy internet is not working on Wifi or cable.
I download a new Tiny core  and try all the combo I can think of.
Stil no go. I write the dmesg from the start up of the computer concerning  ATH5K

Can`t disale ASPM;OS doesn`t have ASPM control
Register as `phy0`
ATH5K:phy0:Atheros AR2425 chip found.
I wish this will give you some clue.

thank you for the help you give me
Hello
We need more info as previously mentioned,
load wifi extension

Code: [Select]
tce-load -i wifi.tcz
Then
Code: [Select]
sudo wifi.sh
Finally use the command
Code: [Select]
dmesg | tail -20
and post the results please
« Last Edit: July 30, 2019, 06:47:14 AM by coreplayer2 »

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6838
Re: Need Help
« Reply #8 on: July 30, 2019, 07:13:29 AM »
Hi coreplayer2
... Finally use the command
Code: [Select]
dmesg | tail -20
and post the results please
It looks like althus is copying messages by hand. I would suggest:
Code: [Select]
dmesg | tail -20 > dmesg.txtThis way althus has a file called  dmesg.txt  that he can copy to a thumb drive and attach to his next post.

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Need Help
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2019, 07:21:00 AM »
Thanks rich. This is exactly my earlier suggestion too

But he’s new to linux and just finding his way around



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline althus

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • New Born to Linux But Old
Re: Need Help
« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2019, 01:29:41 PM »
Finaly I get what you want, it took me a lot of time to find out the pipe charactere.
after that I had to find where my file was written but now i have all the information.

Code: [Select]
psmouse serio2: synaptics: Touchpad model: 1, fw: 7.0, id: 0x1a0b1, caps: 0xd04711/0xa00000/0x20000/0x0, board id: 0, fw id: 502777
sd 4:0:0:0: [sdb] Attached SCSI removable disk
input: SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad as /devices/platform/i8042/serio2/input/input10
EXT4-fs (sda1): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
EXT4-fs (sda1): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
random: crng init done
platform regulatory.0: Direct firmware load for regulatory.db failed with error -2
platform regulatory.0: Falling back to syfs fallback for: regulatory.db

ath5k 0000:07:00.0: can't disable ASPM; OS doesn't have ASPM control
ath5k 0000:07:00.0: registered as 'phy0'
cfg80211: failed to load regulatory.db
ath: EEPROM regdomain: 0x64
ath: EEPROM indicates we should expect a direct regpair map
ath: Country alpha2 being used: 00
ath: Regpair used: 0x64
ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'minstrel_ht'
ath5k: phy0: Atheros AR2425 chip found (MAC: 0xe2, PHY: 0x70)
EXT4-fs (sda1): mounted filesystem with ordered data mode. Opts: (null)
forcedeth 0000:00:0a.0 eth0: MSI enabled
forcedeth 0000:00:0a.0 eth0: no link during initialization

I tink my problem is bad info to the system but I do not know how to give it the info.
Thank you all of you for your help.
Do you have a book explaining the system and how to use it.

    [EDIT]: Added code tags.  Rich
« Last Edit: July 30, 2019, 01:37:41 PM by Rich »
70 Years Old but Linux borne  July 1 2019

Offline althus

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • New Born to Linux But Old
Re: Need Help
« Reply #11 on: July 30, 2019, 02:03:46 PM »
I find the Book ,I will reading it  :-[
70 Years Old but Linux borne  July 1 2019

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3020
Re: Need Help
« Reply #12 on: July 31, 2019, 12:47:36 AM »
hello althus

I don't see anything wrong here,  did you try running wifi from it's icon or from the command line first?

first run
Code: [Select]
sudo wifi.sh
then
Code: [Select]
dmesg > dmesg.txt
next run
Code: [Select]
lsmod > lsmod.txt
also this
Code: [Select]
rfkill list all > rfkill.txt
You're looking for this
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ rfkill list all
0: phy0: Wireless LAN
        Soft blocked: no
        Hard blocked: no
tc@box:~$


and attach all to next post please

« Last Edit: July 31, 2019, 01:01:10 AM by coreplayer2 »

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6838
Re: Need Help
« Reply #13 on: July 31, 2019, 07:47:40 AM »
Hi coreplayer2
This guys dmesg looks almost identical to the OPs:
https://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2351377
Right down to the  forcedeth  driver for the  nVidia  Ethernet hardware. Search (Ctrl-F) the page for  ar2425.

Offline althus

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 26
  • New Born to Linux But Old
Re: Need Help
« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2019, 08:22:03 AM »
Good day ,I think  The problem  is not so deep in the system.
Normaly with other distro for the Wifi to be operational I write in a Windoww
 
SSID__VIDEOTRON6094  and WPA2 security key XXXXXXX (X are number and leters )

On tiny-core the windoww for network configuration did not ask for those questions
and I am sory but did not know where to put those two information nessary for
the system to operate. Please accept my excuses if I put you on the wrong track.

Tank you for your time ,Have a good day
70 Years Old but Linux borne  July 1 2019