WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: TinyCorePure64 with AppImage  (Read 4288 times)

Offline LonnieTC

TinyCorePure64 with AppImage
« on: June 27, 2019, 01:04:42 PM »
Hi All,

I am very new to Tiny Core Linux but think that it could be very useful for a project that I am working on and for which I am build from on Ubuntu 18.04 (64 bit).

To that end and for some initial testing, I loaded up the TinyCorePure64 on my VirtualBox and booted things up just fine. I figure out how to add apps and libraries. Let me just say that I absolutely love the minimalist approach that TC takes, so I loaded in Firefox with no problems at all.

I wanted to try a test on Linux Portable Apps from "AppImage" (https://appimage.org/) for which I went to "Try Subsurface Appimage (64-bit)" (https://subsurface-divelog.org/downloads/) and grabbed the "Subsurface-4.8.4-x86_64.AppImage" (https://subsurface-divelog.org/downloads/Subsurface-4.8.4-x86_64.AppImage)

All went well at this point for the download into TC so then, as the site says, I open a TC terminal and went into "Downloads" where I changed the Subsurface to executable with "chmod a+x Subsurface-4.8.4-x86_64.AppImage" and then tried to run it

./Subsurface-4.8.4-x86_64.AppImage

This is where I needed more libraries.  First I need to add fuse.tcz, then libusb.tcz, followed by libgpg-error.tcz without any problems by loading one and trying to run after which TC would say that is needed another library.

All was going well until TC said that it needed "libp11-kit" but it turns out that there is no such library in the TC application loader.

My goal in all of this is to see if I can get Linux Portable Applications to run in TC.

Any ideas on how to fix this?

Thanks in advance

Offline Juanito

• Administrator
Re: TinyCorePure64 with AppImage
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2019, 01:21:21 PM »
Did you try the p11-kit extension?

Offline LonnieTC

« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2019, 07:22:56 AM »