WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: Can't remaster Core 10.0  (Read 494 times)

Offline oovy

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • oovy.dev
Can't remaster Core 10.0
« on: June 03, 2019, 04:50:19 AM »
Hi there!
I'm currently trying to remaster my TinyCore version.

But I get some weird error.



I already tried reinstalling tinycore and trying it again, I also used different hardware.

I just can't get it to work. Can somebody help me?
someone once said to me: "if your code works, just dont touch it. If it does not, just dont touch it either. Otherwise your life will become hell."

Offline oovy

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • oovy.dev
Re: Can't remaster Core 10.0
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2019, 04:52:22 AM »
Wow.., That picture has really bad quality, here's a HQ version:

someone once said to me: "if your code works, just dont touch it. If it does not, just dont touch it either. Otherwise your life will become hell."

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10877
Re: Can't remaster Core 10.0
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2019, 05:12:54 AM »
What does it say in the ezremaster log?

Offline oovy

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • oovy.dev
Re: Can't remaster Core 10.0
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2019, 07:56:44 AM »
What does it say in the ezremaster log?

Here's the log file
Had to attach it as zip because too large...
someone once said to me: "if your code works, just dont touch it. If it does not, just dont touch it either. Otherwise your life will become hell."

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10877
Re: Can't remaster Core 10.0
« Reply #4 on: June 03, 2019, 08:16:42 AM »
The error seems to be at the end of the log:
Code: [Select]
+ sudo advdef -z4 /tmp/ezremaster/image/boot/core.gz
Error writing on /tmp/ezremaster/image/boot/core.gz [at void convert_gz(adv_fz*, adv_fz*):redef.cc:455]
+ exit 23

Did you run out of ram perhaps? Do you have the latest advcomp extension?

Offline oovy

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • oovy.dev
Re: Can't remaster Core 10.0
« Reply #5 on: June 03, 2019, 08:20:35 AM »
The error seems to be at the end of the log:
Code: [Select]
+ sudo advdef -z4 /tmp/ezremaster/image/boot/core.gz
Error writing on /tmp/ezremaster/image/boot/core.gz [at void convert_gz(adv_fz*, adv_fz*):redef.cc:455]
+ exit 23

Did you run out of ram perhaps? Do you have the latest advcomp extension?

I don't think that RAM is the problem... This VM has 8GB of RAM... I'll check. And try again afterwards. I'll get back to you.
someone once said to me: "if your code works, just dont touch it. If it does not, just dont touch it either. Otherwise your life will become hell."

Offline oovy

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • oovy.dev
Re: Can't remaster Core 10.0
« Reply #6 on: June 03, 2019, 09:12:27 AM »
So I just checked. It seems like RAM really isn't the problem. I recorded the whole process and there was always enough RAM available.

The newest version of advcomp is installed.

Any other ideas?  :(
someone once said to me: "if your code works, just dont touch it. If it does not, just dont touch it either. Otherwise your life will become hell."

Online Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6593
Re: Can't remaster Core 10.0
« Reply #7 on: June 03, 2019, 09:59:48 AM »
Hi oovy
Two thoughts. What does this return:
Code: [Select]
ls -l /tmp/ezremaster/image/boot/core.gzIs it read only?

What does this return:
Code: [Select]
df /tmp/Maybe  /tmp  is running out of room?

From the  advdef  man page:
Quote
Limitations

The advdef program cannot be used to recompress huge files because it needs to allocate memory for both the complete compressed and uncompressed data.

Offline oovy

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • oovy.dev
Re: Can't remaster Core 10.0
« Reply #8 on: June 03, 2019, 10:14:42 AM »
Hi oovy
Two thoughts. What does this return:
Code: [Select]
ls -l /tmp/ezremaster/image/boot/core.gzIs it read only?

What does this return:
Code: [Select]
df /tmp/Maybe  /tmp  is running out of room?

From the  advdef  man page:
Quote
Limitations

The advdef program cannot be used to recompress huge files because it needs to allocate memory for both the complete compressed and uncompressed data.

ls -l returns -r--r--r-- which is read only i guess?

/tmp is 81% used (1.2 out of 1.5GB used) eventhough it's on a 2 tb hdd...

what shall I do now?
someone once said to me: "if your code works, just dont touch it. If it does not, just dont touch it either. Otherwise your life will become hell."

Online Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6593
Re: Can't remaster Core 10.0
« Reply #9 on: June 03, 2019, 10:32:15 AM »
Hi oovy
ls -l returns -r--r--r-- which is read only i guess? ...
Yes.

Quote
... /tmp is 81% used (1.2 out of 1.5GB used) eventhough it's on a 2 tb hdd...
Actually  /tmp  is part of the  RAM  filesystem, just like /usr, /var, /bin, /etc ....

Offline oovy

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • oovy.dev
Re: Can't remaster Core 10.0
« Reply #10 on: June 03, 2019, 10:49:39 AM »
Hi oovy
ls -l returns -r--r--r-- which is read only i guess? ...
Yes.

Quote
... /tmp is 81% used (1.2 out of 1.5GB used) eventhough it's on a 2 tb hdd...
Actually  /tmp  is part of the  RAM  filesystem, just like /usr, /var, /bin, /etc ....

So, what do I have to do now? How do I give more space to /tmp? And am I just able to change the permissions of core.gz?
someone once said to me: "if your code works, just dont touch it. If it does not, just dont touch it either. Otherwise your life will become hell."

Offline xor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
Re: Can't remaster Core 10.0
« Reply #11 on: June 03, 2019, 09:38:40 PM »
Hi oovy
ls -l returns -r--r--r-- which is read only i guess? ...
Yes.

Quote
... /tmp is 81% used (1.2 out of 1.5GB used) eventhough it's on a 2 tb hdd...
Actually  /tmp  is part of the  RAM  filesystem, just like /usr, /var, /bin, /etc ....

So, what do I have to do now? How do I give more space to /tmp? And am I just able to change the permissions of core.gz?

http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,22751.msg143145.html#msg143145

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10877
Re: Can't remaster Core 10.0
« Reply #12 on: June 03, 2019, 10:07:41 PM »
Please don’t hijack another users thread

Offline xor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 190
Re: Can't remaster Core 10.0
« Reply #13 on: June 03, 2019, 11:05:09 PM »
Please don’t hijack another users thread

I'm having the same problem!

because everything runs on iSO (RAM).
the system resets itself,
and log files are deleted with PC shutdown.
so I can't send error report.

Offline neonix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 163
Re: Can't remaster Core 10.0
« Reply #14 on: June 04, 2019, 01:27:18 AM »
If you have no free space in /tmp you can move some directories to harddisk or USB stick and symlink them to /tmp (fat32 filesystem in your harddrive may not work with this). BTW is it possible to use isomaster.tcz to remaster Tinycorelinux iso?
« Last Edit: June 04, 2019, 01:29:21 AM by neonix »