WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: quake2demo - Couldn't load conchars.pcx  (Read 538 times)

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11027
quake2demo - Couldn't load conchars.pcx
« on: May 24, 2019, 06:12:14 AM »
Trying to use the quake2demo extension in the tc-10.x x86 repo:
Code: [Select]
$ quake2
using /home/tc/.quake2/baseq2/ for writing
couldn't exec default.cfg
couldn't exec aprconfig.cfg
Console initialized.

------- sound initialization -------
Starting SDL audio callback...
SDL audio initialized.
sound sampling rate: 22050
------------------------------------
--------- [Loading Renderer] ---------
Using libGL.so for OpenGL...setting mode -1: 0 0
Error: Couldn't load conchars.pcx

Online Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6843
Re: quake2demo - Couldn't load conchars.pcx
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2019, 07:44:56 AM »
Hi Juanito
I don't see  conchars.pcx  in the github repo neonix used, but it does show up here along with a lot of other stuff:
http://tastyspleen.net/~quake2/baseq2/pics/

Offline neonix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 198
Re: quake2demo - Couldn't load conchars.pcx
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2019, 11:56:32 AM »
Trying to use the quake2demo extension in the tc-10.x x86 repo:
Code: [Select]
$ quake2
using /home/tc/.quake2/baseq2/ for writing
couldn't exec default.cfg
couldn't exec aprconfig.cfg
Console initialized.

------- sound initialization -------
Starting SDL audio callback...
SDL audio initialized.
sound sampling rate: 22050
------------------------------------
--------- [Loading Renderer] ---------
Using libGL.so for OpenGL...setting mode -1: 0 0
Error: Couldn't load conchars.pcx
This file is in pak0.pak file. Maybe the game doesn't know where to find pak0.pak.
Try this:
Code: [Select]
cd /usr/local/quake2/
quake2

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11027
Re: quake2demo - Couldn't load conchars.pcx
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2019, 10:49:31 PM »
That makes it work - comment added to info file.

You might want to mention how to start a game or demo?

Offline neonix

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 198
Re: quake2demo - Couldn't load conchars.pcx
« Reply #4 on: May 25, 2019, 12:17:03 AM »
That makes it work - comment added to info file.
It would be better If I send a new version of extension with the correct launch script. Some people don't read info files.
[/quote]
You might want to mention how to start a game or demo?
I don't understand this question. Unfortunately I'm not able to test this extension for myself because my computer doesn't support OpenGL in TC10. I tried to test it in TC7, but it won't compile.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11027
Re: quake2demo - Couldn't load conchars.pcx
« Reply #5 on: May 25, 2019, 12:19:53 AM »
What I mean is that starting the app brings you to a command prompt where it is not obvious what to type to start a game or to start a demo.