WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: :( no sound ): "Realtek ALC887-VD" what should I do !?  (Read 210 times)

Offline xor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
:( no sound ): "Realtek ALC887-VD" what should I do !?
« on: May 03, 2019, 01:34:34 AM »
:( no sound ): "Realtek ALC887-VD" what should I do !?

Quote
input: HDA ATI HDMI HDMI/DP,pcm=3 as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:01.1/sound/card0/input8
snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC1D0: autoconfig for ALC887-VD: line_outs=1 (0x14/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0) type:line
snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC1D0:    speaker_outs=0 (0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC1D0:    hp_outs=1 (0x1b/0x0/0x0/0x0/0x0)
snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC1D0:    mono: mono_out=0x0
snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC1D0:    dig-out=0x11/0x0
snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC1D0:    inputs:
snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC1D0:      Rear Mic=0x18
snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC1D0:      Front Mic=0x19
snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC1D0:      Line=0x1a
snd_hda_codec_realtek hdaudioC1D0:      CD=0x1c
input: HD-Audio Generic Rear Mic as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.2/sound/card1/input9
input: HD-Audio Generic Front Mic as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.2/sound/card1/input10
input: HD-Audio Generic Line as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.2/sound/card1/input11
input: HD-Audio Generic Line Out as /devices/pci0000:00/0000:00:14.2/sound/card1/input12
« Last Edit: May 03, 2019, 01:36:14 AM by xor »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10713
Re: :( no sound ): "Realtek ALC887-VD" what should I do !?
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2019, 02:01:32 AM »
assuming you are trying to use alsa sound, what does the following give:
Code: [Select]
$ aplay -l

Offline xor

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 125
Re: :( no sound ): "Realtek ALC887-VD" what should I do !?
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2019, 05:38:57 AM »
assuming you are trying to use alsa sound, what does the following give:
Code: [Select]
$ aplay -l

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: HDMI [HDA ATI HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 0: ALC887-VD Analog [ALC887-VD Analog    ]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: Generic [HD-Audio Generic], device 1: ALC887-VD Digital [ALC887-VD Digit    al]
  Subdevices: 1/1
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
tc@box:~$

    [EDIT]: Added code tags.  Rich
« Last Edit: May 09, 2019, 05:45:54 AM by Rich »

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6427
Re: :( no sound ): "Realtek ALC887-VD" what should I do !?
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2019, 05:47:33 AM »
Hi xor
Please use  code tags  when posting terminal commands and responses.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10713
Re: :( no sound ): "Realtek ALC887-VD" what should I do !?
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2019, 05:50:08 AM »
It looks like you have the same problem as I do - i.e. you'd like to use analogue sound, but hdmi comes up as the default.

There is a further problem that if the alsa extension is loaded before hdmi is enabled, then sound will not work.

To make things work, load the following extensions in the order they appear below:
Code: [Select]
$ tce-load -i graphics-KERNEL Xorg-7.7 alsa-config alsa
$ speaker-test -Ddefault:1 -c2 -t wav -l1 [to test]