WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!  (Read 2914 times)

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6850
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #15 on: June 13, 2019, 04:58:16 AM »
Hi xor
nothing happens !?
Where am I making a mistake !?
You did not exit the GUI like Juanito told you to:
Exit the gui to the console prompt using the exit icon ...

Click on the leftmost icon. Select "Exit to Prompt". Click the OK button.


Stop posting the same question to multiple threads. Duplicate questions will be deleted.
Stop posting links to your posts in other peoples threads. Those too will be deleted.

« Last Edit: June 13, 2019, 05:06:11 AM by Rich »

Offline xor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #16 on: June 13, 2019, 07:56:45 AM »
Are you using the 32-bit version of tinycorelinux or the 64-bit version?

Which extension are you using for the graphical user interface - Xvesa, Xfbdev or Xorg-7.7?

You can find the above information with the following commands:
Code: [Select]
$ uname -m
$ ps aux | grep X

AMD A4-5300 APU with AMD Radeon HD 7480D graphics

TinyCorePure64-10.1.iso

What do I need to do to upgrade the resolution !? 1360x768 ???

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ uname -m
x86_64
tc@box:~$ ps aux | grep X
 3144 root     /usr/local/lib/xorg/Xorg -nolisten tcp
 3203 tc       grep X
tc@box:~$ xrandr -q
xrandr: Failed to get size of gamma for output default
Screen 0: minimum 720 x 400, current 720 x 400, maximum 720 x 400
default connected 720x400+0+0 0mm x 0mm
   720x400        0.00*
tc@box:~$ 
« Last Edit: June 13, 2019, 08:18:45 AM by xor »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11029
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #17 on: June 13, 2019, 10:15:17 AM »
You need to look in /var/log/Xorg.0.log to see what drivers have been chosen for your hardware and what resolution is being used.

Offline xor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #18 on: June 13, 2019, 01:10:22 PM »
You need to look in /var/log/Xorg.0.log to see what drivers have been chosen for your hardware and what resolution is being used.

Attachments ;
Xorg.0.log (105.37 kB)

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6850
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #19 on: June 13, 2019, 01:33:24 PM »
Hi xor
It appears to be looking for an  ATI  driver. Try adding  xf86-video-ati.tcz.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11029
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #20 on: June 14, 2019, 12:36:18 AM »
..and also, looking at this:
Code: [Select]
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): Manufacturer: GSM  Model: 4bad  Serial#: 200023
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): Year: 2009  Week: 11
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): EDID Version: 1.3
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): Analog Display Input,  Input Voltage Level: 0.700/0.700 V
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): Sync:  Separate  SyncOnGreen
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): Max Image Size [cm]: horiz.: 41  vert.: 23
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): Gamma: 2.20
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): DPMS capabilities: StandBy Suspend Off; RGB/Color Display
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): First detailed timing is preferred mode
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): redX: 0.641 redY: 0.334   greenX: 0.301 greenY: 0.608
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): blueX: 0.145 blueY: 0.073   whiteX: 0.313 whiteY: 0.329
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): Supported established timings:
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): 720x400@70Hz
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): 640x480@60Hz
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): 640x480@75Hz
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): 800x600@60Hz
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): 800x600@75Hz
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): 832x624@75Hz
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): 1024x768@60Hz
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): 1024x768@75Hz
..it looks like the maximum resolution your display supports is 1024x768?

Offline xor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #21 on: June 14, 2019, 01:03:48 AM »
..and also, looking at this:
Code: [Select]
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): Manufacturer: GSM  Model: 4bad  Serial#: 200023
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): Year: 2009  Week: 11
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): EDID Version: 1.3
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): Analog Display Input,  Input Voltage Level: 0.700/0.700 V
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): Sync:  Separate  SyncOnGreen
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): Max Image Size [cm]: horiz.: 41  vert.: 23
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): Gamma: 2.20
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): DPMS capabilities: StandBy Suspend Off; RGB/Color Display
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): First detailed timing is preferred mode
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): redX: 0.641 redY: 0.334   greenX: 0.301 greenY: 0.608
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): blueX: 0.145 blueY: 0.073   whiteX: 0.313 whiteY: 0.329
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): Supported established timings:
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): 720x400@70Hz
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): 640x480@60Hz
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): 640x480@75Hz
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): 800x600@60Hz
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): 800x600@75Hz
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): 832x624@75Hz
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): 1024x768@60Hz
[    17.911] (II) VESA(0): 1024x768@75Hz
..it looks like the maximum resolution your display supports is 1024x768?

LG W1943SS
Resolution 1366*768 (Max)
https://www.lg.com/hk_en/monitor/lg-W1943SS-PF-office

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11029
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #22 on: June 14, 2019, 01:26:07 AM »
As @Rich says, load the xf86-video-ati extension, exit to the console prompt, "startx" and look at /var/log/Xorg.0.log again.

Offline xor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #23 on: June 15, 2019, 12:56:06 AM »
As @Rich says, load the xf86-video-ati extension, exit to the console prompt, "startx" and look at /var/log/Xorg.0.log again.

AMD A4-5300 APU with AMD Radeon HD 7480D graphics

TinyCorePure64-10.1.iso



Attachments ;
Xorg.0.log

Code: [Select]
[    18.318] (II) VESA(0): Printing DDC gathered Modelines:
[    18.319] (II) VESA(0): Modeline "1360x768"x0.0   85.50  1360 1424 1536 1792  768 771 777 795 +hsync +vsync (47.7 kHz eP)

can't change resolution :(
« Last Edit: June 15, 2019, 01:01:40 AM by xor »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11029
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #24 on: June 15, 2019, 01:28:15 AM »
xf86-video-ati is the correct driver, but it is unloaded for some reason - perhaps you need the graphics-4.19.10-tinycore64 extension to be loaded or, if that doesn't help, Xorg-7.7-3d.

Note that using the amd drivers and firmware is not going to work and using the TinyCorePure64 iso instead of the CorePure64 iso does not help either.

Try CorePure64-10.1 + graphics-4.19.10-tinycore64 + Xorg-7.7 + xf86-video-ati + flwm + wbar + aterm

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6850
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #25 on: June 15, 2019, 07:14:32 AM »
Hi Juanito
... Try CorePure64-10.1 + graphics-4.19.10-tinycore64 + Xorg-7.7 + xf86-video-ati + flwm + wbar + aterm
I think  firmware-radeon.tcz  should also be on that list.


Quote
Chipset name                                                        Product name
ARUBA, BARTS, TURKS, CAICOS, CAYMAN        HD6450, HD6570, HD6670, HD6790-HD6990, HD64xxM, HD67xxM, HD69xxM, HD7450-HD7670, HD8450, R5 230
Found here:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Radeon#Hardware_detection

ARUBA, BARTS, TURKS, CAICOS, and CAYMAN are all listed in  firmware-radeon.tcz.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11029
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #26 on: June 15, 2019, 09:11:46 AM »
well spotted  :)

Offline xor

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #27 on: June 15, 2019, 11:08:56 AM »
Hi Juanito
... Try CorePure64-10.1 + graphics-4.19.10-tinycore64 + Xorg-7.7 + xf86-video-ati + flwm + wbar + aterm
I think  firmware-radeon.tcz  should also be on that list.


Quote
Chipset name                                                        Product name
ARUBA, BARTS, TURKS, CAICOS, CAYMAN        HD6450, HD6570, HD6670, HD6790-HD6990, HD64xxM, HD67xxM, HD69xxM, HD7450-HD7670, HD8450, R5 230
Found here:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Radeon#Hardware_detection

ARUBA, BARTS, TURKS, CAICOS, and CAYMAN are all listed in  firmware-radeon.tcz.

Attachments ;
Xorg.0.log

:(

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11029
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #28 on: June 15, 2019, 11:51:59 AM »
Xorg is still unloading both the ati and modesetting drivers - maybe because you have the boot code "vga=791", which probably means you are still using TinyCorePure64 instead of CorePure64.

Do you have the firmware-radeon extension installed?

Edit: did you try Xorg-7.7-3d?
« Last Edit: June 15, 2019, 11:54:59 PM by Juanito »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11029
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #29 on: June 16, 2019, 01:38:05 AM »
With my hardware, Xorg-7.7 tries to load drivers in the following order:
Code: [Select]
[    15.024] (==) Matched intel as autoconfigured driver 0
[    15.024] (==) Matched modesetting as autoconfigured driver 1
[    15.024] (==) Matched fbdev as autoconfigured driver 2
[    15.024] (==) Matched vesa as autoconfigured driver 3

If I do not use the xf86-video-intel extension, then I see the following:

* Xorg-7.7 - uses vesa driver
* graphics-4.19.10-tinycore64 + Xorg-7.7 - uses modesetting driver

From your results it looks like you are not using graphics-4.19.10-tinycore64 + Xorg-7.7?

[  ]  TinyCorePure64-10.1.iso + Xorg-7.7.tcz + flwm.tcz + wbar.tcz + aterm.tcz
[OK]  CorePure64-10.1.iso + graphics-4.19.10-tinycore64.tcz + Xorg-7.7.tcz + xf86-video-ati.tcz + firmware-radeon.tcz + flwm.tcz + wbar.tcz + aterm.tcz