WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!  (Read 30136 times)

Online Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11213
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #60 on: July 31, 2020, 10:18:05 AM »
Hi xor
Thx :)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
to make it easier to understand ; fixed command , variable
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ...
Your color coding only made the terminal commands and responses difficult to read.
Adding  Bold  and  Underline  tags was not helpful either.

Please use  code  tags for displaying this type of information.
They look like this:
Code: [Select]
[code]Then add one of these at the end:
[/code]

Offline xor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1262
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #61 on: July 31, 2020, 11:13:43 AM »
that message was not for you!

English is not a universal language,

I wrote to guide those who experienced the same problem.

it was a good narrative reference.

we are; We are different cultures that perceive English with logic matching

please restore the message you deleted.

and don't look at the whole world from a single angle.

respect differences

Hi xor
Thx :)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
to make it easier to understand ; fixed command , variable
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ...
Your color coding only made the terminal commands and responses difficult to read.
Adding  Bold  and  Underline  tags was not helpful either.

Please use  code  tags for displaying this type of information.
They look like this:
Code: [Select]
[code]Then add one of these at the end:
[/code]
« Last Edit: July 31, 2020, 11:21:11 AM by xor »

Offline xor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1262
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #62 on: August 17, 2020, 10:25:58 AM »
tc@box:~$ sudo cvt 1360 768

There is 1 inch horizontal shift on the screen!
"cvt 1360 768" command generates incorrect frequency values!
How can I add the real frequency values to the system!?



Thx :)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
to make it easier to understand ; fixed command , variable
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ startx
tc@box:~$ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1024 x 768, maximum 16384 x 16384
HDMI-0 disconnected primary (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VGA-0 connected 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768      60.00*
   800x600       60.32    56.25 
   848x480       60.00 
   640x480       59.94
DVI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 
tc@box:~$ sudo cvt 1360 768
# 1360x768 59.80 Hz (CVT) hsync: 47.72 kHz; pclk: 84.75 MHz
Modeline "1360x768_60.00"   84.75  1360 1432 1568 1776  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
tc@box:~$ sudo xrandr --newmode "1360x768_60.00"   84.75  1360 1432 1568 1776  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
tc@box:~$ sudo xrandr --addmode VGA-0 1360x768_60.00
tc@box:~$ sudo xrandr --output VGA-0 --mode 1360x768_60.00
tc@box:~$

Online Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11213
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #63 on: August 17, 2020, 11:25:31 AM »
Hi xor
Code: [Select]
tc@E310:~$ cvt --help

usage: cvt [-v|--verbose] [-r|--reduced] X Y [refresh]

 -v|--verbose : Warn about CVT standard adherance.
 -r|--reduced : Create a mode with reduced blanking (default: normal blanking).
            X : Desired horizontal resolution (multiple of 8, required).
            Y : Desired vertical resolution (required).
      refresh : Desired refresh rate (default: 60.0Hz).

Calculates VESA CVT (Coordinated Video Timing) modelines for use with X.
tc@E310:~$

Is this what you are looking for:
Code: [Select]
tc@E310:~$ cvt -r 1360 768
# 1360x768 59.96 Hz (CVT) hsync: 47.37 kHz; pclk: 72.00 MHz
Modeline "1360x768R"   72.00  1360 1408 1440 1520  768 771 781 790 +hsync -vsync
tc@E310:~$

Offline xor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1262
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #64 on: August 20, 2020, 10:01:40 PM »
screen border overflow occurred!

Code: [Select]
$ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1024 x 768, maximum 16384 x 16384
HDMI-0 disconnected primary (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VGA-0 connected 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0m               m
   1024x768      60.00*
   800x600       60.32    56.25 
   848x480       60.00 
   640x480       59.94 
DVI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
$ cvt 1360 768
# 1360x768 59.80 Hz (CVT) hsync: 47.72 kHz; pclk: 84.75 MHz
Modeline "1360x768_60.00"   84.75  1360 1432 1568 1776  768 771 781 798 -hsync +               vsync
$ cvt -r 1360 768
# 1360x768 59.96 Hz (CVT) hsync: 47.37 kHz; pclk: 72.00 MHz
Modeline "1360x768R"   72.00  1360 1408 1440 1520  768 771 781 790 +hsync -vsync
$ sudo xrandr --newmode "1360x768R"   72.00  1360 1408 1440 1520  768 77
1 781 790 +hsync -vsync
$ sudo xrandr --addmode VGA-0 1360x768R
$ sudo xrandr --output VGA-0 --mode 1360x768R
$ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1360 x 768, maximum 16384 x 16384
HDMI-0 disconnected primary (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VGA-0 connected 1360x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0m               m
   1024x768      60.00 
   800x600       60.32    56.25 
   848x480       60.00 
   640x480       59.94 
   1360x768R     59.96*
DVI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
« Last Edit: August 20, 2020, 10:22:51 PM by Juanito »

Offline xor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1262
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #65 on: August 20, 2020, 11:54:09 PM »
everyone should contribute to this database!

https://edid.tv/edid/upload/text/

Linux users, run xrandr --props and paste its output.

---
Submit your EDID

Help us grow our database by submitting your monitors EDIDs, every EDID count!
« Last Edit: August 21, 2020, 12:01:56 AM by xor »

Offline xor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1262
« Last Edit: August 21, 2020, 10:41:19 AM by xor »

Offline xor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1262
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #67 on: January 05, 2022, 07:56:53 PM »
existing problem is renewing itself!
dual-boot ; on every OS migration
monitor's auto-align button is no longer fully aligned !
but shear coordinates are fixed !

same problem here too!
https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?t=340480

(By the way, my monitor is pretty old and I can't access the "EDID" data)

what do you suggest i do?

same problem here too!
https://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?t=340480
(By the way, my monitor is pretty old and I can't access the "EDID" data)
what do you suggest i do?

tc@box:~$ sudo cvt 1360 768

There is 1 inch horizontal shift on the screen!
"cvt 1360 768" command generates incorrect frequency values!
How can I add the real frequency values to the system!?



Thx :)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
to make it easier to understand ; fixed command , variable
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ startx
tc@box:~$ xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1024 x 768, maximum 16384 x 16384
HDMI-0 disconnected primary (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
VGA-0 connected 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
   1024x768      60.00*
   800x600       60.32    56.25 
   848x480       60.00 
   640x480       59.94
DVI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 
tc@box:~$ sudo cvt 1360 768
# 1360x768 59.80 Hz (CVT) hsync: 47.72 kHz; pclk: 84.75 MHz
Modeline "1360x768_60.00"   84.75  1360 1432 1568 1776  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
tc@box:~$ sudo xrandr --newmode "1360x768_60.00"   84.75  1360 1432 1568 1776  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
tc@box:~$ sudo xrandr --addmode VGA-0 1360x768_60.00
tc@box:~$ sudo xrandr --output VGA-0 --mode 1360x768_60.00
tc@box:~$

Offline polikuo

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 714
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #68 on: January 06, 2022, 05:28:09 AM »
existing problem is renewing itself!
dual-boot ; on every OS migration
monitor's auto-align button is no longer fully aligned !
but shear coordinates are fixed !

There should be an option in the setting of your physical monitor.
Perhaps you can align it manually instead of pressing the auto-align button
« Last Edit: January 06, 2022, 05:39:20 AM by polikuo »

Offline xor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1262
When you select the full screen 1360x768 option in the game, the game stays half screen. (1024x768)

TCL11.1-x86_64-bit

The standard screen resolution command I use is:
Code: [Select]
xrandr --newmode "1360x768_60.00"   84.75  1360 1432 1568 1776  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode VGA-0 1360x768_60.00
xrandr --output VGA-0 --mode 1360x768_60.00
startx


Offline xor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1262
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?! 1024/271x768/203+0+0
« Reply #70 on: January 17, 2022, 07:12:18 AM »
what does it mean !?

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ xrandr --listmonitors
Monitors: 1
 0: +VGA-0 1024/271x768/203+0+0  VGA-0

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ sudo cvt 1360 768
There is 1 inch horizontal shift on the screen!
"cvt 1360 768" command generates incorrect frequency values!
How can I add the real frequency values to the system!?



Offline xor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1262
fullscreen games open at 1024x768 on the left of the screen!? :(
« Reply #71 on: January 19, 2022, 05:11:26 AM »
I got some comments that I can fix the problem with this.
https://github.com/badsectoracula/gamescope/

fullscreen games open at 1024x768 on the left of the screen!? :(
screen resolution 1360x768 ; full screen games open as 1024x768 on the left of the screen ! ? how can i overcome this problem

When you select the full screen 1360x768 option in the game, the game stays half screen. (1024x768)

TCL11.1-x86_64-bit

The standard screen resolution command I use is:
Code: [Select]
xrandr --newmode "1360x768_60.00"   84.75  1360 1432 1568 1776  768 771 781 798 -hsync +vsync
xrandr --addmode VGA-0 1360x768_60.00
xrandr --output VGA-0 --mode 1360x768_60.00
startx


« Last Edit: January 19, 2022, 05:42:56 AM by xor »

Online Rich

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11213
Re: [ HOW TO ] Resolution Changing ?!
« Reply #72 on: January 19, 2022, 07:23:57 AM »
Hi xor
You can stop posting those  xrandr  commands.
Your screenshot shows  xrandr  is working, your screen is 1360 x 768.
The problem is either steam or your games, not  xrandr.

Offline xor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1262
!? physical monitor EDID data corrupted ; association with backup EDID data !?
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php/topic,25639.0.html