WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: How to instal picore on RPi 3B+ from Windows  (Read 1174 times)

Offline pirated

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
How to instal picore on RPi 3B+ from Windows
« on: March 10, 2019, 09:45:14 PM »
Hi,

I am newbie in Linux.
I have used Raspbian, dietpi on RPI, They are fairly easy to install.

For Picore I am kind of stuck as most of guides focus on installation from linux OS. I have followed this guide ( https://iotbytes.wordpress.com/picore-tiny-core-linux-on-raspberry-pi/ )  but after 4th step the card won't boot up on RPi. It shows rainbow and the RPi power light blinks in some pattern. It would be really helpful if some one can point me in the right direction.

Thanks

Offline Greg Erskine

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
Re: How to instal picore on RPi 3B+ from Windows
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2019, 09:50:49 PM »
What version of piCore are you using?

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6426
Re: How to instal picore on RPi 3B+ from Windows
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2019, 09:52:45 PM »
Hi pirated
I think I read on this forum that  3B+  requires using the  ARMv7  version. I'm guessing you used  ARMv6. See if this works
any better:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/tinycorelinux/9.x/armv7/releases/RPi/

Offline pirated

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How to instal picore on RPi 3B+ from Windows
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2019, 09:56:11 PM »
What version of piCore are you using?

I tried piCore-9.0.3 image and etched it to sd card with etcher.io

It didn't boot up, there was a rainbow screen and the power LED of RPi was blinking.

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6426
Re: How to instal picore on RPi 3B+ from Windows
« Reply #4 on: March 10, 2019, 09:56:43 PM »
Hi pirated
Hi pirated
I think I read on this forum that  3B+  requires using the  ARMv7  version. I'm guessing you used  ARMv6. See if this works
any better:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/tinycorelinux/9.x/armv7/releases/RPi/
Or maybe it required TC10:
http://tinycorelinux.net/10.x/armv7/test_relases/RPi/

Offline pirated

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How to instal picore on RPi 3B+ from Windows
« Reply #5 on: March 10, 2019, 09:58:17 PM »
Hi pirated
I think I read on this forum that  3B+  requires using the  ARMv7  version. I'm guessing you used  ARMv6. See if this works
any better:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/tinycorelinux/9.x/armv7/releases/RPi/

Hi Rich, I tried this one only 9.0.3 image 

Offline pirated

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How to instal picore on RPi 3B+ from Windows
« Reply #6 on: March 10, 2019, 09:59:59 PM »
Hi pirated
Hi pirated
I think I read on this forum that  3B+  requires using the  ARMv7  version. I'm guessing you used  ARMv6. See if this works
any better:
http://distro.ibiblio.org/tinycorelinux/9.x/armv7/releases/RPi/
Or maybe it required TC10:
http://tinycorelinux.net/10.x/armv7/test_relases/RPi/

I will try this as well

Offline Greg Erskine

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
Re: How to instal picore on RPi 3B+ from Windows
« Reply #7 on: March 11, 2019, 01:56:26 AM »
I believe the RPi3B+ needs piCore 10 beta, it won't work with piCore 9.

Remember, as piCore 10 is beta, it is not a complete repository yet.

Offline mocore

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
Re: How to instal picore on RPi 3B+ from Windows
« Reply #8 on: March 11, 2019, 04:24:59 AM »
I believe the RPi3B+ needs piCore 10 beta, it won't work with piCore 9.

IMHO i think it is more correct to say that

 RPi3B+ *needs* updated firmware in /boot ,...
 ..then it will *try* to boot any linux ( kernel: vmlinuz , and initrd image )

and

 piCore 9  is missing *some*  kernel modules aka drivers for the RPi3B+ HW.

*AFAIK







Offline Greg Erskine

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
Re: How to instal picore on RPi 3B+ from Windows
« Reply #9 on: March 11, 2019, 01:39:53 PM »
I am not sure piCore has /boot  ;)

Offline pirated

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: How to instal picore on RPi 3B+ from Windows
« Reply #10 on: March 11, 2019, 08:55:38 PM »
I did try picore 10.

It booted and there was some tutorial to delete partition 2 and create and create one again. I was not able to do that because there was only one partition showing on my screen.

Its completely new thing for a windows user  ???

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6426
Re: How to instal picore on RPi 3B+ from Windows
« Reply #11 on: March 11, 2019, 09:04:52 PM »
Hi pirated
Did you read the  SD card partitioning  section found here:
http://tinycorelinux.net/10.x/armv7/test_relases/RPi/README

Offline Greg Erskine

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
Re: How to instal picore on RPi 3B+ from Windows
« Reply #12 on: March 11, 2019, 11:47:58 PM »
hi pirated,

Congratulations!! on getting piCore running on your RPi3B+.

You are not giving many details of what you are doing so we have to guess what step your are up to.

Usually on a Windows PC you will only see the first partition on the SD card.

On piCore, only the second partition is mounted. The first partition is used during booting but unmounted to make it more secure.

Follow the instructions in the link Rich posted. You don't need to worry about mounting or unmounting partitions.

m gives you fdisk help.

The greatest thing about doing this, is you can always burn a new piCore image in a minute and start again! It's a good opportunity to learn fdisk without a lot of pain.

second partition = /dev/mmcblk0p2

start sector = StartLBA

regards
Greg







Offline mocore

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 213
Re: How to instal picore on RPi 3B+ from Windows
« Reply #13 on: March 14, 2019, 12:36:58 AM »
I am not sure piCore has /boot  ;)

/boot being the fatFS / first partition  , holding the firmware files required to "boot" the pi HW  :P


Offline Greg Erskine

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
Re: How to instal picore on RPi 3B+ from Windows
« Reply #14 on: March 14, 2019, 02:46:16 AM »
/boot being the fatFS / first partition  , holding the firmware files required to "boot" the pi HW  :P

Sorry mocore,  :-[

I wasn't aware piCore mounted the first partition as /boot like Raspbian, I always thought it was mounted as /mnt/mmcblk0p1 by default. I don't have a RPi running Raspbian or standard piCore handy so I was working from memory. :o

regards
Greg