WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: firefox 64.0.2 error in tc10  (Read 874 times)

Offline AlejandroPadrino

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 100
firefox 64.0.2 error in tc10
« on: February 11, 2019, 12:06:11 PM »
hello, I found an error using firefox 64.0.2 in tc10.  Configuring firefox to choose where saving files manually, firefox crash before selecting folder to save the file.  :-(

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3016
Re: firefox 64.0.2 error in tc10
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2019, 04:21:01 PM »
Hello AlejandroPadrino

I think your file manager might be the culprit, having said that you're also using an older version of Firefox. 

I'm using latest Firefox, SpaceFM and GTK3 and am not experiencing this problem

Try also updating all your extensions
Code: [Select]
tce-update
« Last Edit: February 11, 2019, 04:24:54 PM by coreplayer2 »

Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10012
Re: firefox 64.0.2 error in tc10
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2019, 12:08:26 AM »
That could also be the gtk theme gradient tinyX incompatibility. Try Xorg.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline gwalther

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
Re: firefox 64.0.2 error in tc10
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2019, 10:27:04 AM »
I had a similar problem with the latest firefox and tc10.  When I tried to add an attachment to gmail, firefox crashed when I hit the browse button.  Switched to xorg....PROBLEM SOLVED.  Thanks ..curaga

Offline gwalther

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
Re: firefox 64.0.2 error in tc10
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2019, 03:06:18 PM »
Responded a little to quickly.  Switching to Xorg solved my attachment problem when clicking on browse button, but did not solve the crash when clicking on the ..browse..button when trying to set folder for saving downloads.

Online Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6703
Re: firefox 64.0.2 error in tc10
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2019, 05:15:47 PM »
Hi gwalther
If you start  firefox  from the command line maybe it will provide some error messages when it crashes.

Offline gwalther

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
Re: firefox 64.0.2 error in tc10
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2019, 07:05:39 AM »
Tried from terminal, but crashes out to prompt...no messages when I click on browse button to set download location.  Same behavior with flwm_topside and JWM.

Online Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6703
Re: firefox 64.0.2 error in tc10
« Reply #7 on: February 13, 2019, 08:53:34 AM »
Hi gwalther
Do any error messages show in  dmesg  after the crash:
Code: [Select]
dmesg | tail -n 25

Offline coreplayer2

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3016
Re: firefox 64.0.2 error in tc10
« Reply #8 on: February 14, 2019, 03:43:14 AM »
While i cannot remember any details, this error does seem to be vaguely familiar..   So I installed firefox v64.0.2 running Xvesa on TC-10

starting firefox from the terminal I receive this error when attempting to navigate the filesystem.

Code: [Select]
tc@box:~$ firefox
Xlib:  extension "XInputExtension" missing on display ":0.0".
...

(firefox:11815): Gdk-ERROR **: The program 'firefox' received an X Window System error.
This probably reflects a bug in the program.
The error was 'BadValue (integer parameter out of range for operation)'.
  (Details: serial 113768 error_code 2 request_code 139 (RENDER) minor_code 34)
  (Note to programmers: normally, X errors are reported asynchronously;
   that is, you will receive the error a while after causing it.
   To debug your program, run it with the GDK_SYNCHRONIZE environment
   variable to change this behavior. You can then get a meaningful
   backtrace from your debugger if you break on the gdk_x_error() function.)
ExceptionHandler::GenerateDump cloned child 12314
ExceptionHandler::SendContinueSignalToChild sent continue signal to child
ExceptionHandler::WaitForContinueSignal waiting for continue signal...
Exiting due to channel error.
Exiting due to channel error.
Exiting due to channel error.
Exiting due to channel error.
Trace/breakpoint trap
tc@box:~$
(crashreporter:12315): Gtk-WARNING **: Could not load a pixbuf from /org/gtk/libgtk/theme/Adwaita/assets/check-symbolic.svg.
This may indicate that pixbuf loaders or the mime database could not be found.
Xlib:  extension "XInputExtension" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib:  extension "XInputExtension" missing on display ":0.0".
Xlib:  extension "XInputExtension" missing on display ":0.0".

Maybe I've not seen this "GDK" error recently as I've been using Xorg for so long,  I've reported the error to Mozilla though it looks like the known issue reported earlier in this thread. 

Meanwhile navigating with intent to upload might be an issue with Xvesa.  Here's a workaround for downloading
Open Firefox and enter " about:preferences " in address bar
then specify your desired location to receive downloads at "Save files to"


Ok, back to firefox v65.0.1
good luck
« Last Edit: February 14, 2019, 03:51:03 AM by coreplayer2 »

Offline udo

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: firefox 64.0.2 error in tc10
« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2019, 01:28:46 AM »
Is there any progress on this issue?  I've had this problem since about firefox v52 on tc 7.2 if I recall well (now at v60esr on tc 9, working on update to tc 10). Same observations: no error on cmd line (vanished magically with a firefox update), no hint from dmesg, tried Xorg without success.  Download workaround works around, but occasionally it would be helpful to be able to upload a file.

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10935
Re: firefox 64.0.2 error in tc10
« Reply #10 on: June 10, 2019, 01:51:18 AM »
The "XInputExtension" missing on display ":0.0" error indicates a problem with Xvesa that should be solved by moving to Xorg-7.7

Offline udo

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: firefox 64.0.2 error in tc10
« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2019, 03:15:45 AM »
Hi Juanito, wow, thanks for the swift reaction!

The "XInputExtension" missing on display ":0.0" error indicates a problem with Xvesa that should be solved by moving to Xorg-7.7

Unfortunately, Xorg-7.7 didn't resolve the problem for me - however, I was also not able to reproduce this error message.
I think the problem occurred with the move to gtk3 (as many posts on the web also suggest).

Ok, sorry, my wrapper swallowed the error messages:

Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
Xlib:  extension "XInputExtension" missing on display ":0.0".

(firefox:11629): Gtk-WARNING **: Could not find the icon 'user-home-symbolic-ltr'. The 'hicolor' theme
was not found either, perhaps you need to install it.
You can get a copy from:
        http://icon-theme.freedesktop.org/releases

(firefox:11629): GLib-GIO-ERROR **: No GSettings schemas are installed on the system
ExceptionHandler::GenerateDump cloned child 11783
ExceptionHandler::WaitForContinueSignal waiting for continue signal...
ExceptionHandler::SendContinueSignalToChild sent continue signal to child

(crashreporter:11784): Gtk-WARNING **: Could not load a pixbuf from /org/gtk/libgtk/theme/Adwaita/assets/check-symbolic.svg.
This may indicate that pixbuf loaders or the mime database could not be found.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2019, 03:21:46 AM by udo »

Offline Juanito

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10935
Re: firefox 64.0.2 error in tc10
« Reply #12 on: June 10, 2019, 03:24:33 AM »
You could try loading the adwaita-icon-theme and gsettings-desktop-schemas extensions.

Edit: Did you exit to the console prompt and "startx" after loading Xorg-7.7?
« Last Edit: June 10, 2019, 03:26:10 AM by Juanito »

Offline udo

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: firefox 64.0.2 error in tc10
« Reply #13 on: June 10, 2019, 03:33:06 AM »
Fab, thanks a lot - these suggestions did the trick.

You could try loading the adwaita-icon-theme and gsettings-desktop-schemas extensions.

Edit: Did you exit to the console prompt and "startx" after loading Xorg-7.7?

Loaded the following combination (and restarted X, of course ;-)
Code: newbielink:javascript:void(0); [nonactive]
Xorg-7.7
gsettings-desktop-schemas