WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: I can't connect to internet, eth0 not showing up in ifconfig output  (Read 743 times)

Offline Santos

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Hi!

I have troubles with dCore Xenial and Stretch. I will focus on Xenial.

When i use dCore-Xenial i can't connect to internet with the NIC of my laptop. The ethernet nic it's:

e1000 0000:02:01.0 eth0: (PCI:33MHz:32-bit) 00:11:25:d1:34:b6
e1000 0000:02:01.0 eth0: Intel(R) PRO/1000 Network Connection

I don't know if it is because you guys compile the kernel without the driver of this particular NIC, or if this has something to do with systemd.     

It's odd, because i can use internet with dCore-Trusty, and with TinyCore (even microcore). When i look at the dmesg output the only thing relevant about the NIC is the previous output.

Any advice?           
Thank you

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9618
Re: I can't connect to internet, eth0 not showing up in ifconfig output
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2019, 07:01:05 PM »
dCore-stretch, dCore-xenial, and dCore-trusty all have the e1000 and e1000e kernel modules.  What is the output of "lsmod" on dCore-trusty or Tinycore, and also the output of the same on dCore-xenial?

Perhaps the kernel module needs to be modprobed for some reason on dCore-xenial.

Thanks. 


Offline Santos

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: I can't connect to internet, eth0 not showing up in ifconfig output
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2019, 08:38:41 PM »
Trusty


Code: [Select]
Module                  Size  Used by    Not tainted
ppdev                  12288  0
pcspkr                 12288  0
e1000                  77824  0
cpufreq_stats          12288  0
cpufreq_conservative    12288  0
cpufreq_powersave      12288  0
cpufreq_userspace      12288  0
battery                16384  0
ac                     12288  0
floppy                 45056  0
parport_pc             24576  0
parport                24576  2 ppdev,parport_pc
video                  16384  0
backlight              12288  1 video
squashfs               24576  0
lpc_ich                16384  0
mfd_core               12288  1 lpc_ich
loop                   20480  0
acpi_cpufreq           12288  1





Xenial


Code: [Select]
Module                  Size  Used by    Not tainted
ppdev                  12288  0
pcspkr                 12288  0
e1000                  77824  0
lpc_ich                16384  0
cpufreq_stats          12288  0
cpufreq_conservative    12288  0
cpufreq_userspace      12288  0
cpufreq_powersave      12288  0
video                  20480  0
backlight              12288  1 video
battery                16384  0
ac                     12288  0
floppy                 45056  2
parport_pc             24576  0
parport                28672  2 ppdev,parport_pc
8250_fintek            12288  0
squashfs               24576  0
lz4_decompress         12288  1 squashfs
loop                   16384  0
acpi_cpufreq           12288  1


Those are the outputs.

Thank you.

    [EDIT]: Added code tags.  Rich
« Last Edit: January 27, 2019, 08:51:45 PM by Rich »

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6352
Re: I can't connect to internet, eth0 not showing up in ifconfig output
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2019, 08:53:14 PM »
Hi Santos
Please use  code tags  when posting the output of commands.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9618
Re: I can't connect to internet, eth0 not showing up in ifconfig output
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2019, 12:24:31 AM »
Also, the output of the command "ifconfig" for both dCore-trusty and dCore-xenial.  thanks. 

Offline Santos

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: I can't connect to internet, eth0 not showing up in ifconfig output
« Reply #5 on: January 28, 2019, 05:13:50 PM »
Hi Santos
Please use  code tags  when posting the output of commands.

Ok, i'm sorry.

Also, the output of the command "ifconfig" for both dCore-trusty and dCore-xenial.  thanks. 


Trusty

Code: [Select]
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:11:25:D1:34:B6 
          inet addr:***.***.*.**  Bcast:***.***.0.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:3 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:744 (744.0 B)  TX bytes:684 (684.0 B)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)





Xenial

Code: [Select]
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)



Thank you.
« Last Edit: January 28, 2019, 05:20:01 PM by Santos »

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9618
Re: I can't connect to internet, eth0 not showing up in ifconfig output
« Reply #6 on: January 28, 2019, 07:33:05 PM »
Ok, does anything happen in dCore-xenial if you issue with a root command line:

udhcpc -i eth0

Also, does following the below succession of commands help:

udevadm trigger
ifconfig eth0 up
udhcpc -i eth0


I am assuming you are using dhcp and not manually assigning address and gateway?

Also, post the contents of your /opt/bootlocal.sh if you have added to it, at least in relation to networking.

Also, if the above does not help, add to your bootcodes if it does not exist:

net.ifnames=0

This enables old network card names like eth0 to be used, otherwise they are named things like enp2s0.  The dCore .iso images contain this boot code as well as resulting USB installs done by dCore-usbinstall. 

Offline Santos

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: I can't connect to internet, eth0 not showing up in ifconfig output
« Reply #7 on: January 29, 2019, 03:19:01 PM »
Ok, does anything happen in dCore-xenial if you issue with a root command line:

udhcpc -i eth0

Also, does following the below succession of commands help:

udevadm trigger
ifconfig eth0 up
udhcpc -i eth0


I am assuming you are using dhcp and not manually assigning address and gateway?

Also, post the contents of your /opt/bootlocal.sh if you have added to it, at least in relation to networking.

Also, if the above does not help, add to your bootcodes if it does not exist:

net.ifnames=0

This enables old network card names like eth0 to be used, otherwise they are named things like enp2s0.  The dCore .iso images contain this boot code as well as resulting USB installs done by dCore-usbinstall.

Thank you so much.

This works with Xenial:

$ sudo udhcpc -i eth0

If i don't edit this post it will mean that the previous command work for Stretch too.
I enter the list of command just to make sure everything it's ok. bootlocal.sh file doesn't have contents inside of it.
And, the kernel line net.ifnames=0 it is present in Xenial and Trusty dCore.

Again, thank you so much for the help.

Offline Jason W

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9618
Re: I can't connect to internet, eth0 not showing up in ifconfig output
« Reply #8 on: January 29, 2019, 06:05:00 PM »
Also, another thing for anyone seeing the network card not being recognized is make sure the "nodhcp" boot code is not being used as it would cause this or similar.