WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: TinyCore64 on VirtualBox 6.1.30 always has "failed on waitforX"  (Read 3246 times)

Offline oliverhbailey324

TinyCore64 on VirtualBox 6.1.30 always has "failed on waitforX"
« on: December 30, 2021, 08:01:11 AM »
Hello,
I'm a 48 year veteran of OS development and have been developing custom embedded Linux systems for over twenty years. I routinely use Yocto and Buildroot in addition to also doing hardware design.

I recently downloaded TinyCore 12 and found it more than acceptable for a non-embedded project coming up but want a little more performance so downloaded Tinycore64, the complete version. I setup Tinycore64 12, the same as Tinycore 12, and have not been able to get the system to boot properly yet.

I am using VirtualBox 6.1.30 on Windows 10.0.19044 and there are three issues that are shown with the attached screen captures. The first issue throws a "Wrong EFI Loader Signature". The problem here is that I have not checked the UEFI box, so it appears there may be something wrong with the boot signature created by Tinycore64. The second issue is a mouse menu that is shown in screen capture 2. I have tried every mouse type available in VirtualBox, and this menu comes up no matter what. And finally, as shown in Screen capture three, it ends after a long delay with "failed on waitforX' error before dumping me out to the standard Linux user prompt.

I also have QEMU installed on this Windows machine and plan on giving it a try next.

Regards and Happy New Year

Offline Juanito

• Administrator
Re: TinyCore64 on VirtualBox 6.1.30 always has "failed on waitforX"
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2021, 08:27:24 AM »
You could try downloading/loading the Xorg-7.7 extension from the prompt and then startx.

Offline curaga

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: December 30, 2021, 08:49:12 AM »
The first message is expected. It's just the kernel saying you booted using MBR, not EFI.