WelcomeWelcome | FAQFAQ | DownloadsDownloads | WikiWiki

Author Topic: just a Thin Client  (Read 275 times)

Offline gioX

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 4
just a Thin Client
« on: October 30, 2018, 05:18:01 AM »
I'm trying to customize TC in order to have a thin client for (xfree)rdp connection in a school lab. Each PCs will be wired and used by many different students to connect a windows server.
I found very flexible and nice TinyCore and I'm quite satisfied with actual setup, but now I would like to freeze it: users have just to connect thru the provided script for rdp connection nothing else.
I remasterd it with norestore boot code, but I would like to block every activity except the rdp conncection.
Which is the recommended way to get it?
Thank you a lot for your work! and I apologize for my english.

Offline Rich

  • TinyCore Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5964
Re: just a Thin Client
« Reply #1 on: October 30, 2018, 05:43:14 AM »
Hi gioX
Go to the search page:
http://forum.tinycorelinux.net/index.php?action=search
and search for  kiosk.  That should provide some information on what others have done to prevent users from making
changes to the computer.

Offline gioX

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: just a Thin Client
« Reply #2 on: October 30, 2018, 01:02:11 PM »
thank you, I will look for kiosk.

Offline gioX

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: just a Thin Client
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2018, 08:52:05 AM »
So i've prepared my thin client by looking for a kiosk mode and my custom tiny core is now a frugal installation on a virtual-box. 
How can I deploy this custom installation on several computers of a lab? 
Computers  already have a windows installation on hard disk and  I would like to add this tinycore image for a dual boot machine.
I look thru the forum but I'm still quite confused.



Offline curaga

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9874
Re: just a Thin Client
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2018, 08:59:03 AM »
You'd have to write an installer script. But resizing Windows partitions is risky, that's best done from Windows itself, meaning you need to do that for every computer, by hand. Once there's a partition, sda2 or similar, you can then run your install script from usb or via network boot.
The only barriers that can stop you are the ones you create yourself.

Offline gioX

  • WikiUser
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: just a Thin Client
« Reply #5 on: November 04, 2018, 09:18:42 AM »
Ok for windows resize, but how can I write an installer script? can you address me?